FAH on mobile devices [Android 4.4+ Only for now]

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only]

Postby fangfufu » Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:40 pm

Why is this Sony only anyway? I have a Nexus 5, I want to fold on my phone as well.
Image
Folder 1: Intel Core i5-4900MQ (Dual thread)
Folder 2: Intel Atom CPU N2800 (Dual thread)

I first started folding back in the Google Compute days!
fangfufu
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 3:26 am
Location: London, United Kingdom

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only]

Postby Joe_H » Tue Feb 17, 2015 6:19 pm

Because it was a collaboration with Sony to create the client to run on the version of Android on some models of their phones. See the blog post - https://folding.stanford.edu/home/new-i ... n-android/. As stated by Dr. Pande on the F@H reddit, it should come to other Android devices - https://www.reddit.com/r/foldingathome/ ... r_android/.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby VeixES » Fri Feb 27, 2015 11:17 am

VeixES
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:38 am

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby fangfufu » Fri Feb 27, 2015 11:30 am

You can't set your user name / passkey, and team name. :(
fangfufu
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 3:26 am
Location: London, United Kingdom

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby ChristianVirtual » Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:11 pm

not working for my Nexus 7 (2013) tablet ... ;-(
ImageImage
Please contribute your logs to http://ppd.fahmm.net
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1447
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: 日本 東京

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby Rel25917 » Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:39 pm

Needs better time management options, start and end times. Also needs a fold when i open the app and tell it to fold button. And username for points would be nice.
Rel25917
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 2:31 am

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby Breach » Fri Feb 27, 2015 5:54 pm

Just saw that it's now available for non-Sony devices. Works fine on my S4. Not sure that the ARM "points" can translate into FAH points so that mapping to a user/team can be done, but being able to start/stop manually is a must IMHO.
Windows 10 x64 / i6700k @4.6Ghz / ASUS Sabertooth Z170 / 16GB DDR4 2400 CL10 / MSI 1070 @2000MHz / Creative Titanium HD / Tube amp, Sennheiser 650 / PSU Corsair AX1200i / Samsung 840 Pro, OCZ Vertex 3 SSD, HDDs in RAID
Breach
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby 7im » Fri Feb 27, 2015 6:00 pm

Breach wrote:Just saw that it's now available for non-Sony devices.


Link?
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15231
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby Breach » Fri Feb 27, 2015 6:06 pm

7im wrote:
Breach wrote:Just saw that it's now available for non-Sony devices.


Link?


Google Play Store?
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... dcomputing

Previously it wasn't available to non-Sony devices, now I could get it.
Breach
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby 7im » Fri Feb 27, 2015 6:37 pm

Oh, okay. Saw this on the Play site... very recent.

Updated: February 26, 2015

I was hoping PG had announced it somewhere instead of letting it slide by unnoticed.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15231
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby Breach » Fri Feb 27, 2015 8:36 pm

Well, not sure I'll use that client during the night myself. Constant 100% CPU usage, LiIon battery at 100% charge and at 1900mA input charge is really stress testing the phone and sounds like a fire hazard to me. Maybe I'm paranoid after reading all these exploding battery stories though ;-)
Breach
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby bruce » Fri Feb 27, 2015 8:45 pm

Breach wrote:Well, not sure I'll use that client during the night myself. Constant 100% CPU usage, LiIon battery at 100% charge and at 1900mA input charge is really stress testing the phone and sounds like a fire hazard to me. Maybe I'm paranoid after reading all these exploding battery stories though ;-)


Maybe it's only "safe" on Sony phones.

Cooling of the home PC has gone through various stages. Well-designed PCs provide adequate cooling for 100% CPU + GPU. White-box computers and home-built don't necessarily consider the thermal design process essential. Phones probably have the same considerations.

I'll bet Sony learned that lesson with the PS3.
bruce
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20857
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby Breach » Fri Feb 27, 2015 8:52 pm

bruce wrote:
Breach wrote:Well, not sure I'll use that client during the night myself. Constant 100% CPU usage, LiIon battery at 100% charge and at 1900mA input charge is really stress testing the phone and sounds like a fire hazard to me. Maybe I'm paranoid after reading all these exploding battery stories though ;-)


Maybe it's only "safe" on Sony phones.

Cooling of the home PC has gone through various stages. Well-designed PCs provide adequate cooling for 100% CPU + GPU. White-box computers and home-built don't necessarily consider the thermal design process essential. Phones probably have the same considerations.

I'll bet Sony learned that lesson with the PS3.


I am not worried about the heat and the long-term effects to my phone's hardware - I am concerned that fully charged Li-Ion batteries and heat don't mix well (and heat is what you get from a 100% running CPU and a phone on a constant charge). Funny thing that you mentioned Sony though as I was about to refer to this article which is actually referring to them ;-) http://www.economist.com/blogs/economis ... xplains-19
Breach
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby 7im » Fri Feb 27, 2015 9:17 pm

Folding wasn't the first to harness phones for processing (unlike previous fah's leading advances in to SMP, GPU, PS3, etc.) so any meltdowns from previous programs using phones would have been all over the internet by now.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15231
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: FAH on mobile devices [Sony Only for now]

Postby BIG_RED » Sun Mar 08, 2015 4:47 am

Does the app work on lollipop I know my phone is cold to the touch?

Since I was posting I figured I would add that I have been running for a while and some things I would like to be looked at

1)I wish there was a way to tell if the program was actually working. My Note 4 is cold to the touch ccleaner says the battery temp is only 20 C. (user points maybe would fix the Q:how much work is my phone doing?)
2)I would like to set the temp my phone would get before pausing to cool down. (for those that want to make sure their phone won't get hurt and those that want their phone to work and trust android battery protection to kick in. where it will pause charging until it's cool enough)
3)I would like to set my own time range 6 hours is way to low.(7 day schedule would be nice)
4)I would like to set the battery percentage 100% can be default (you can use high usage of cpu/gpu and for an hour+ but if you just want to move your phone for just a minute it now just stops working)
5)Be able to work off WIFI either small WU and save to upload until connected to WIFI or just use cell data. (I am averaging 50 MB/computed day or what looks like it will be 1.5GB/ Month if working 24 hour/day.)
6)I would like to see the Android Client on the OSstats page with 55,000+ phones it should be(my phone gets 4.4 GFLOPS CPU only with RGBenchmm) ~200 GFlops(around windows) or if sonys 30 GFLOPS(has to use GPU to get this) per phone is to believed ~1650 GFLOPS(close to GPU level)
BIG_RED
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 11:30 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Android client from Sony

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron