CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby donkom » Wed Sep 23, 2015 6:53 pm

Back in May on the official FAH blog, it was mentioned that a new CPU Gromacs core was in the works and should take advantage of the AVX instructions. Many processors now support AVX and AVX2 is also becoming commonplace.

Any word on when we will see folding@home CPU work units take advantage of these new capabailities?
donkom
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 2:25 pm

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby 7im » Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:21 pm

Any additional news on the topic would appear on that same blog. Sorry.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby _r2w_ben » Thu Sep 24, 2015 2:42 am

AVX support was added to GROMACS in 4.6. As far as I can tell, Core A4 version 2.27 uses code from GROMACS 4.5.3.

Based on the timing of the blog post and GROMACS release dates, the core that includes AVX/AVX2 will probably include code from GROMACS 5.0.
_r2w_ben
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:11 pm

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby _r2w_ben » Wed Jun 15, 2016 2:40 am

AVX test project 11900 spotted!

This project is for testing purposes only and therefore has no scientific value. It is a simple simulation of Lysozyme in Water that was derived by following this tutorial. The main purpose of this project is to test the functionality of our new Gromacs cores 0xa7 and 0xa8. These cores use a more modern version of Gromacs (5.0.4), and in the case of 0xa8, take advantage of AVX vector instructions available on newer CPUs.
_r2w_ben
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:11 pm

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby calkapokole » Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:56 pm

Wonderful news! :-)
Image
User avatar
calkapokole
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Poland

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby _r2w_ben » Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:21 am

No new from FAH yet but the latest Gromacs 5.1.3 release contains an improvement to AVX detection on some AMD CPUs.
_r2w_ben
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:11 pm

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby bruce » Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:30 am

Gromacs has changed how they designate their version numbers.

The official release of GROMACS 2016 is now available {...containing...] all the content of GROMACS 5.1.3 (and subsequent bug fixes)
bruce
 
Posts: 21583
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby _r2w_ben » Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:10 pm

Another test project has surfaced: p11920

This is a copy project 9752 running on our new Gromacs 0xa7 for testing purposes.
_r2w_ben
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:11 pm

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby bruce » Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:03 pm

Yes, that's what the project description says.

Development has a backlog of things they want to fix before it's rolled out for a public beta.
bruce
 
Posts: 21583
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby artoar_11 » Tue Aug 30, 2016 6:55 pm

bruce wrote:FAH does not currently support AVX, including on Chrome.

It's on a long list of desirable enhancements but would require some significant changes to FAH's infrastructure, making it a more expensive enhancement that many others. (i.e. - probably not soon™)

viewtopic.php?f=95&t=28277&p=280707&hilit=AVX+support#p280707
User avatar
artoar_11
 
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:42 pm
Location: Bulgaria/Team #224497/artoar11_ALL_....

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby _r2w_ben » Tue Aug 30, 2016 10:17 pm

jcoffland wrote:CPU counts
Previous clients may not get assigned when they have CPU counts that our simulation software does not like. This client negotiates a lower CPU count with the AS so that it can continue folding with the most possible CPUs. This also helps with systems that have more CPUs than we are able to currently handle. In the near future, we will be releasing a new simulation core which will fully utilize higher CPU counts.

viewtopic.php?f=104&t=29067&p=288018&hilit=new+simulation+core#p288018
_r2w_ben
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:11 pm

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby bruce » Tue Aug 30, 2016 10:24 pm

The infrastructure shortcomings have been overcome.

Moreover a version of GROMACS -- later than the one used in the a4 cor -- comes with AVX support, meaning that it has become an easier task to port GROMACS to a FAHCore. (I suppose that later version also brings a number of scientific enhancements).
bruce
 
Posts: 21583
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby Duce H_K_ » Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:37 pm

How client/slot should be configured to catch FahCore 0xa7 WUs?
Let's make FLDC alive again! viewtopic.php?p=302793#p302793
User avatar
Duce H_K_
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 3:52 pm
Location: Russia

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby bruce » Mon Oct 17, 2016 5:15 pm

Currently AVX is supported on one project. It's in general release; no special configuration is required or expected.

As new CPU projects are started, we'll certainly see more use of this feature.
bruce
 
Posts: 21583
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: CPU FAH core with AVX support? Mentioned a while back?

Postby Duce H_K_ » Mon Nov 07, 2016 8:32 am

Image
Code: Select all
 Project ID: 11920
 Core: GRO_A7
 Credit: 1000
 Frames: 100


 Name: AMD A8 5600k 4.622GHz | 3.75Gb DDR3-1600 9.0-9-9-23-36 CR1| NB 2.3GHz |
 Number of Frames Observed: 90

 Min. Time / Frame : 00:02:37 - 11 180,3 PPD
 Avg. Time / Frame : 00:02:42 - 10 666,7 PPD

Image
User avatar
Duce H_K_
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 3:52 pm
Location: Russia

Next

Return to CPU Projects - beta FAHCores (Currently _a7)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron