Failed reinstall....It will notstart at all

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: Failed reinstall....It will notstart at all

Postby rfharbin » Sun Nov 08, 2020 10:45 pm

Yes Bruce, I have been folding CPU WU's for months and years now and it may be happenstance but close to the time I did the Windows 10 20H2 Fall update I started having problems and after fiddling a bit I noticed there was a new Client available so I uninstalled and installed the new 7.6 client into my computer. Since doing this I cannot get the new client to start. Using the hideconsole shortcut I cannot even get to the page where I would put my name, team number and passcode in. BUT I have been surfing with no problem and the firewall is not the problem. As far as folding, I can put names of people that are and were close to us into the folding. Comes easy when one as the decades flow by. I almost has to be inside my machine but I have stalled and milked ideas of the good people here but I do not what to quit so I will mellow a few days and start from scratch even tho I have passed Einstein's definition of idiocy. I used to do G@H before this so I will keep at it.

Perchance does the Folding website have more than one address in the signup procedure That I need to add to my Firewall?
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:33 pm

Re: Failed reinstall....It will notstart at all

Postby bruce » Mon Nov 09, 2020 4:22 am

Many Firewalls are very selective. When a revised executable is installed on my system, the characteristics of that executable may change and I may need to recreate the same exception that I had before -- perhaps enabling a different revision (checksum?) of FAHClient. It's worth a try.
bruce
 
Posts: 20152
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Failed reinstall....It will notstart at all

Postby rfharbin » Mon Nov 09, 2020 5:41 pm

I spent most of the morning messing with F@H and the firewall this AM and did not accomplish much other than getting familiar with the firewall. Unless another idea comes up I may be done with F@H. I likely will try again in the future but I cannot make it a daily pursuit. I Have folded since FAH started and GAH before that and am disappointed.

Thanks to everyone that tried to help me.
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:33 pm

Re: Failed reinstall....It will notstart at all

Postby bruce » Mon Nov 09, 2020 8:16 pm

@rfharbin
Not everybody has accumulated points for G@H. 8-)
bruce
 
Posts: 20152
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Failed reinstall....It will notstart at all

Postby rfharbin » Tue Nov 10, 2020 11:35 am

I have a new idea...but it is going to wait a while; I have to catch up on some things that I set a side for this problem. DISM uses what is on ones computer to check if the system is OK. I need to do some searching but there is a way to have DISM check against a separate iso file one downloads from Microsoft. I hope that will fix things here.
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:33 pm

Re: Failed reinstall....It will notstart at all

Postby rfharbin » Thu Nov 12, 2020 7:04 pm

More info

Today I brought up a program called WinMTR. It does a tracert every X seconds and it gave a error that it was "Unable to resolve hostname" So I opened up my Router/Modem and changed the DNS back to my ISP. Changing the DNS did not make a difference.

Any ideas?
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:33 pm

Re: Failed reinstall....It will notstart at all

Postby rfharbin » Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:21 pm

I have been at this long enough now that I am getting confused (more than normal ;) ) so please bear with me.

What are and where are the Local and remote Clients?
Is the Local on my computer and the remote your server?
Passwords...Where are they?
Where are the allow/deny settings?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have been reading here;

Passwords on the local and remote system is the same. Please ensure that they are the same.
Remote system is using a different version of F@H Software than the local system. Please ensure that both systems are running the same version of F@H Software.
The allow/deny settings might be incorrect. Please ensure that the settings are correct.
Remote client wasn't restarted after configuring remote access. Please restart the client after configuring remote access.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Can I assume that it is OK to install the client into the standard user profile now? I only use my Admin profile to setup my computer. Yesterday I went to it and had to wait while it finished the last update and then set it up etc.
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:33 pm

Re: Failed reinstall....It will notstart at all

Postby Joe_H » Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:38 pm

Local client would be the one on the PC you are currently logged into. Remote client would be on another machine on your network, FAHControl can monitor more than just the local machine. The servers for F@h do not use passwords for connections.

Settings such as password and allow/deny are under the Connection and Remote Access tabs for the Configure window of FAHControl. They normally should only need modifying if you have more than one system that you you want to monitor and control from a single location.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6684
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Failed reinstall....It will notstart at all

Postby rfharbin » Sat Nov 21, 2020 6:41 pm

Thank you Joe
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:33 pm

Previous

Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron