New FAHClient

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: New FAHClient

Postby Penfold » Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:45 am

I used the command line previously to download Ubuntu-friendly versions of the FAH software. I had copied and used the commands from a page on the FAH site which no longer seems to be there.

Would this link be valid to download FAHClient?
Code: Select all
https://fah.stanford.edu/file-
releases/public/release/fahclient/debian-testing-64bit/v7.4/
fahclient_7.5.1_amd64.deb

Similarly for FAHControl?
Code: Select all
https://fah.stanford.edu/file-
releases/public/release/fahcontrol/debian-testing-64bit/v7.4/
fahcontrol_7.5.1-1_all.deb
Image

Ubuntu 18.04.1
F@H v 7.5.1
Penfold
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:09 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: New FAHClient

Postby bollix47 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:24 am

Try these links or go to
https://foldingathome.org/start-folding/

Client:
https://download.foldingathome.org/rele ... _amd64.deb
Code: Select all
https://download.foldingathome.org/releases/public/release/fahclient/debian-stable-64bit/v7.5/fahclient_7.5.1_amd64.deb

Control:
https://download.foldingathome.org/rele ... -1_all.deb
Code: Select all
https://download.foldingathome.org/releases/public/release/fahcontrol/debian-stable-64bit/v7.5/fahcontrol_7.5.1-1_all.deb
bollix47
 
Posts: 3462
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: New FAHClient

Postby bruce » Fri Jun 08, 2018 4:29 pm

The site *fah.stanford.edu* is migrating to *foldingathome.org*. Most of the URLs at stanford.edu will redirect to a corresponding URL at foldingathome.org but a few may have been missed. When in doubt, go to the new site.
bruce
 
Posts: 22006
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: New FAHClient

Postby Penfold » Fri Jun 08, 2018 4:56 pm

Thanks, bollix, that worked a treat. And thanks, Bruce regarding the new form of URL.

All running fine, except for FAHControl on my iMac, that I use to check in remotely on FAHClient on my Ubuntu machine.
Launching FAHControl on my iMac and clicking on my name, Penfold, in the 'Identity' section leads to a page ( https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/Penfold ) declaring - 'Bad Gateway'. Any suggestions about that? It was happening also the past few days with FAH version 7.4.4 before I upgraded to v 7.5.1. It was the reason I finally got myself organised and did the upgrade.

Edit: The same 'Bad Gateway' message appears when using FAHControl on the Ubuntu machine. However, clicking on the team number, 1971, works fine from FAHControl on both machines
Penfold
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:09 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: New FAHClient

Postby bruce » Fri Jun 08, 2018 6:52 pm

Thanks for the report.

I saw other recent reports with the stats subdirectories. Somebody will probably fix it soon.
bruce
 
Posts: 22006
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: New FAHClient

Postby bruce » Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:45 pm

Penfold wrote:All running fine, except for FAHControl on my iMac, that I use to check in remotely on FAHClient on my Ubuntu machine.
Launching FAHControl on my iMac and clicking on my name, Penfold, in the 'Identity' section leads to a page ( https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/Penfold ) declaring - 'Bad Gateway'. Any suggestions about that? It was happening also the past few days with FAH version 7.4.4 before I upgraded to v 7.5.1. It was the reason I finally got myself organised and did the upgrade.

Does the link work from FAHControl 7.5.1 on the iMac?
bruce
 
Posts: 22006
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: New FAHClient

Postby Penfold » Sat Jun 09, 2018 6:43 pm

Does the link work from FAHControl 7.5.1 on the iMac?

Yes, Bruce, it works properly now from FAHControl v7.5.1 on both my iMac ('remotely') and the Ubuntu machine.

I should maybe have said that I don't run FAHClient on my iMac at all. Only on the Ubuntu machine. I check in from my iMac now and then to see how many WUs have been completed, whether there is some sort of queueing hold up, what sort of projects are involved and so on.

Thanks again.
Penfold
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:09 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: New FAHClient

Postby chrstphrchvz » Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:26 pm

Does the 7.5.1 installer for Mac only work on macOS 10.11 or later, or does it still work on as early as 10.6?

I ask because the new installer for Mac only appears in the 10.11 downloads directory (download dot foldingathome dot org/releases/public/release/fah-installer/osx-10.11-64bit/), while the download pages (both foldingathome dot org/start-folding/ when opened from a Mac and foldingathome dot org/alternative-downloads/) still say "macOS (10.6+)".
chrstphrchvz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:32 am

Re: New FAHClient

Postby Joe_H » Thu Jun 21, 2018 12:41 am

My understanding is that the 7.5.1 installer is supposed to support OS X 10.6.8 and later. The 10.11 directory may be an artifact of which version of OS X it was built on, but the developer tools have the capability of compiling for prior versions. That said, I don't know if any installs were tested on the older versions of the OS, I don't know if any older Mac systems were available to test on during the beta tests.

Edit: One thing to add, I have it installed on a system running 10.10.5.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4344
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: New FAHClient

Postby Aurum » Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:48 pm

The 99.99% bug is getting more annoying every day. I used to able to reboot a computer and it would clean but that doesn't work every time.
BOINC is Better!!! Image
User avatar
Aurum
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: The Great Basin

Re: New FAHClient

Postby bruce » Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:50 pm

Aurum wrote:The 99.99% bug is getting more annoying every day. I used to able to reboot a computer and it would clean but that doesn't work every time.


What does the log look like when it doesn't work? Are specific projects involved?

Even if FAHCore_xx hangs, the progress messages will continue up to 99.99% which is certainly misleading. When you pause/resume that slot, work will continue from the last checkpoint that was successfully written. If it happens again and you pause/resume again, does it use the same checkpoint (as indicated by the next progress message).
bruce
 
Posts: 22006
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: New FAHClient

Postby Yavanius » Fri Jun 29, 2018 6:15 am

I can't get the advanced control to come up on Windows 10. It appears to load (looking at Task Mgr), but it never appears. Before, sometimes it would flake out and if I launched the web control and tried it again, it would load. I tried reinstalling it and that didn't cure it either. Might be coincidence but this seems to happened around this last big Windows Update.
User avatar
Yavanius
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 4:55 am
Location: 92408

Re: New FAHClient

Postby bruce » Fri Jun 29, 2018 5:03 pm

Yavanius wrote:I can't get the advanced control to come up on Windows 10. It appears to load (looking at Task Mgr), but it never appears. Before, sometimes it would flake out and if I launched the web control and tried it again, it would load. I tried reinstalling it and that didn't cure it either. Might be coincidence but this seems to happened around this last big Windows Update.


1) Reinstalling FAHClient won't help if your problem is the drivers. When WindowsUpdate modifies the GPU drivers, it REMOVES the OpenCL drivers so FAH can't run GPU assignments. I've seen no reports that this will previent FAHControl from starting -- but it might-- or it might be symptoms of another issue.

Yes, FAHControl should run, but that won't prevent you from posting your log. You need to find it on your disk using the instructions in the signature block of my first post on this page.
bruce
 
Posts: 22006
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: New FAHClient

Postby Teknogroovin » Sat Jun 30, 2018 2:08 am

Not sure if this is the correct spot for the issue I'm having, if not please direct me to the correct one. I just built a new PC windows 10 64 bit, GTX 1080ti, G4400 CPU, only folding with the GPU. Program down loads and acts like everything is OK, until the last box pops up. Stating that "FAH 7.5.1 in now installed on this PC" or something like that. "Click Finish to close setup" Then the box is checked marked next to "Start [link=mailto:Folding@home"]Folding@home"[/link] But it does NOT open the program to allow me to set up my identity aka Name, team number, etc. Any ideas? I've deleted the program and reinstalled in 6 or 7 times tried restarting the PC many times. Made sure the GPU drivers are installed and up to date. Even deleted and reinstalled GPU drivers. Any help would greatly be appreciated.
Last edited by Teknogroovin on Sat Jun 30, 2018 12:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Image
Teknogroovin
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:59 pm
Location: Central, Illinois

Re: New FAHClient

Postby momus_98 » Sat Jun 30, 2018 12:00 pm

I hope I'm doing this right. I've been folding for years and have not had need to visit the forums before. About a week ago, I noticed my computer stopped folding/stopped receiving work units. I surmised that this was because there was an update and, yes, there was. I updated and now the client freezes. By that I mean I see the icon in my system tray, but the client stops responding. If I right click on it, nothing happens. I have to end the task using Task Manager.

The Web Control interface starts fine, but comes back with an "unable to communicate with the client" error.

I've uninstalled/reinstalled; rebooted; even reinstalled Windows (which I was planning to do anyway).

My setup:

Signed into Windows 10 as a standard user, but running F@H in Admin mode. This is a new hardware build, so that's not the problem. I've run F@H just fine in this configuration for ages, but with the new software release it no longer works. Ideas?

Other info:

I've installed the latest drivers from Gigabyte (motherboard & GPU), but not directly from AMD. I have the latest Windows version.

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2018-06-29T13:56:40Z ***********************
13:56:40:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
13:56:40:        Website: https://foldingathome.org/
13:56:40:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
13:56:40:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
13:56:40:           Args: --open-web-control
13:56:40:         Config: <none>
13:56:40:******************************** Build ********************************
13:56:40:        Version: 7.5.1
13:56:40:           Date: May 11 2018
13:56:40:           Time: 13:06:32
13:56:40:     Repository: Git
13:56:40:       Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
13:56:40:         Branch: master
13:56:40:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
13:56:40:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
13:56:40:       Platform: win32 10
13:56:40:           Bits: 32
13:56:40:           Mode: Release
13:56:40:******************************* System ********************************
13:56:40:            CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor
13:56:40:         CPU ID: AuthenticAMD Family 23 Model 1 Stepping 1
13:56:40:           CPUs: 12
13:56:40:         Memory: 15.95GiB
13:56:40:    Free Memory: 12.19GiB
13:56:40:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
13:56:40:     OS Version: 6.2
13:56:40:    Has Battery: false
13:56:40:     On Battery: false
13:56:40:     UTC Offset: -5
13:56:40:            PID: 13172
13:56:40:            CWD: C:\Users\EPH_Admin\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
13:56:40:             OS: Windows 10 Enterprise
13:56:40:        OS Arch: AMD64
13:56:40:           GPUs: 0
13:56:40:           CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'nvcuda.dll': The
13:56:40:                 specified module could not be found.
13:56:40:
13:56:40:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:6 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:2580.6
13:56:40:  Win32 Service: false
13:56:40:***********************************************************************
13:56:40:<config>
13:56:40:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
13:56:40:</config>
13:56:40:Connecting to assign1.foldingathome.org:8080
13:56:40:Updated GPUs.txt
13:56:40:Read GPUs.txt
13:56:40:Trying to access database...
13:56:40:Successfully acquired database lock
13:56:40:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:10 (not configured)
13:56:40:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:Baffin [Polaris11] (not configured)
13:56:45:12:127.0.0.1:New Web connection
13:57:37:Set client configured
13:57:38:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
13:57:38:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
13:57:38:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
13:57:38:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.158
13:57:38:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY cpu:10 from 171.67.108.158
13:57:38:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.158:8080
13:57:38:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
13:57:39:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.231
13:57:39:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:Baffin [Polaris11] from 140.163.4.231
13:57:39:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.231:8080
13:57:39:WU01:FS01:Downloading 16.53MiB
13:57:40:WU00:FS00:Downloading 806.33KiB
13:57:40:WU00:FS00:Download complete
13:57:40:WU00:FS00:Received Unit: id:00 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:9031 run:836 clone:1 gen:1689 core:0xa4 unit:0x00000725ab436c9e569833dad1304716
13:57:40:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
13:57:40:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
13:57:42:WU01:FS01:Download complete
13:58:40:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream
13:58:40:Saving configuration to config.xml
13:58:40:<config>
13:58:40:  <!-- User Information -->
13:58:40:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
13:58:40:  <user v='harwelle'/>
13:58:40:
13:58:40:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
13:58:40:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
13:58:40:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
13:58:40:</config>
13:58:40:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
13:58:40:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
13:58:41:WU01:FS01:Received Unit: id:01 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:11713 run:9 clone:233 gen:67 core:0x21 unit:0x000000628ca304e75adf76112d0e3e91
13:58:41:WU01:FS01:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_21.fah
13:58:41:WU01:FS01:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
13:59:40:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream
13:59:41:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to read stream
13:59:41:WU01:FS01:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_21.fah
13:59:41:WU01:FS01:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
14:00:41:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to read stream
14:00:41:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
14:00:41:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
14:01:41:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream
14:01:41:WU01:FS01:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_21.fah
14:01:41:WU01:FS01:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
"The points don't matter. The points are like a $20 bill that Tiger Woods finds in a jacket he hasn't worn in awhile." - Drew Carey, Whose Line is it Anyway?
momus_98
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 3:47 pm
Location: Texas

PreviousNext

Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron