New FAH software stopped on core download

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: FAH stopped on core download

Postby RAF_Moz_work » Thu Jun 07, 2018 11:19 am

bollix47 wrote:This appears to be occurring with all non-standard installations.

Basically what is needed is a new core tree in your Work Directory.

A possible workaround until the automatic process is fixed:

There should be a tree in your work folder's sub directory called cores that looks like:

\fahwebx.stanford.edu\cores\Win32\AMD64\AVX\Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe

The new structure looks like:

\cores.foldingathome.org\Win32\AMD64\AVX\Core_a7.fah\FahCore_a7.exe

The new structure may already be in your working directory but without FahCore_a7.exe. Otherwise you would have to create the new structure.


The directory structure wasn't there. After executing the above steps, all is well..

Thanks, bollix!

/ RAF
RAF_Moz_work
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:23 am

Re: FAH stopped on core download

Postby Kuno » Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:22 pm

All of my machines have stopped downloading with no error messages, and they all use google as their DNS. They refused to grab new WU until they were rebooted. I would like to add that only 1 computer uses the new 7.5.1 client. Another computer is on linux and using 7.44 and the other is 7 and using 7.44 as well.
Kuno
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 4:59 pm

Re: FAH stopped on core download

Postby Biffa » Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:15 pm

My windows machine is working now, but my Linux machine is still having the same issue.
Image
User avatar
Biffa
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:40 pm
Location: UK

Re: FAH stopped on core download

Postby bruce » Thu Jun 07, 2018 6:26 pm

Ok. So I think you're saying that the download errors are NOT related to the 7.5 client, but rather to the migration of the download location from standford.edu to foldingathome.org.
bruce
 
Posts: 22006
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FAH stopped on core download

Postby Kuno » Fri Jun 08, 2018 4:52 am

The only system that did not have issues is a computer I have doing nothing but CPU work units. So it's obviously something to do with GPU WU servers or something. One of my machines is still not working properly, and is not grabbing WU, even after uninstalling and re-installing FAH. I have also changed the DNS on it and still no love :(. It's at a remote location that I won't have access to again until Monday so it will be down until then at least haha.
Kuno
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 4:59 pm

Re: FAH stopped on core download

Postby bruce » Fri Jun 08, 2018 6:06 am

Post the log file per the instructions in my previous post.

A "normal" install should configure a CPU slot plus a slot for each supported GPU. Did you download the drivers from NVidia/ATI?
bruce
 
Posts: 22006
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FAH stopped on core download

Postby OntosChalmer » Sat Jun 09, 2018 1:47 pm

An update. I had to download another core (If I recall correctly, the a4 core). Even with a changed DNS server, I couldn't download it on my normal connection, but tethering my phone's 4G connection worked.

As previously mentioned, both 4G and internet are using the same ISP. Although I think they use different 'intermediate' servers (for a lack of a better word), I'm not sure how to test for the presence of a proxy server.
Image
OntosChalmer
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 11:13 am

Re: FAH stopped on core download

Postby bruce » Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:08 pm

At the present time, there are three supported FAHCores: A4 or A7 for the CPU and 21 for the GPU. (FAHCore updates are rare but they do happen.)

Where is your log file?

To test the connection to the server that provides FAHCore downloads, open a command prompt (text window) and do a
tracert cores.foldingathome.org
bruce
 
Posts: 22006
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

V7.5.1 "Failed to read stream"

Postby Calibrator » Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:15 pm

I've been folding for over 10 years. v7.5.1 won't run.

Under the System Section "OS Arch: AMD64"??? I have an Intel processor.
I keep getting "Failed to read stream"
Any help would be really appreciated. Thanks.

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2018-06-10T18:02:27Z ***********************
18:02:27:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
18:02:27:        Website: https://foldingathome.org/
18:02:27:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
18:02:27:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
18:02:27:           Args:
18:02:27:         Config: D:\FAHClient\config.xml
18:02:27:******************************** Build ********************************
18:02:27:        Version: 7.5.1
18:02:27:           Date: May 11 2018
18:02:27:           Time: 13:06:32
18:02:27:     Repository: Git
18:02:27:       Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
18:02:27:         Branch: master
18:02:27:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
18:02:27:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
18:02:27:       Platform: win32 10
18:02:27:           Bits: 32
18:02:27:           Mode: Release
18:02:27:******************************* System ********************************
18:02:27:            CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7820X CPU @ 3.60GHz
18:02:27:         CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 85 Stepping 4
18:02:27:           CPUs: 16
18:02:27:         Memory: 63.68GiB
18:02:27:    Free Memory: 60.00GiB
18:02:27:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
18:02:27:     OS Version: 6.2
18:02:27:    Has Battery: false
18:02:27:     On Battery: false
18:02:27:     UTC Offset: -5
18:02:27:            PID: 3680
18:02:27:            CWD: D:\FAHClient
18:02:27:             OS: Windows 10 Home
18:02:27:        OS Arch: AMD64
18:02:27:           GPUs: 2
18:02:27:          GPU 0: Bus:101 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti]
18:02:27:                 11380
18:02:27:          GPU 1: Bus:23 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
18:02:27:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:23 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:9.2
18:02:27:  CUDA Device 1: Platform:0 Device:1 Bus:101 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:9.2
18:02:27:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:23 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:398.11
18:02:27:OpenCL Device 1: Platform:0 Device:1 Bus:101 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:398.11
18:02:27:  Win32 Service: false
18:02:27:***********************************************************************
18:02:27:<config>
18:02:27:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
18:02:27:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
18:02:27:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
18:02:27:  <slot id='2' type='GPU'/>
18:02:27:</config>
18:02:28:Trying to access database...
18:02:28:Successfully acquired database lock
18:02:28:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:13
18:02:28:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:0:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
18:02:28:Enabled folding slot 02: READY gpu:1:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
18:02:28:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah
18:02:28:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
18:02:28:WU01:FS01:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah
18:02:28:WU01:FS01:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
18:03:28:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream
18:03:28:WU02:FS02:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah
18:03:28:WU02:FS02:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
18:03:28:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to read stream
18:03:28:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah
18:03:28:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
18:04:28:ERROR:WU02:FS02:Exception: Failed to read stream
18:04:28:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream
18:05:05:WU01:FS01:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah
18:05:05:WU01:FS01:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
18:05:25:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to read stream
18:05:25:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah
18:05:25:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80


Mod edit: added Code tags to log listing
Calibrator
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: V7.5.1 "Failed to read stream"

Postby bruce » Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:28 pm

Calibrator wrote:Under the System Section "OS Arch: AMD64"??? I have an Intel processor.


Yes, both are correct.

For a long time, the 32-bit instruction set for most common processors was known as x86 (and temporarily by a few other names). When 64-bit instructions were introduced, Intel created an incompatible processor while AMD created one that could effectively still run programs written for the standard 32-bit instructions. Eventually, Intel gave up and licensed the instruction set created by AMD -- thus your Intel processor is designed to run tha AMD64 instruction set. See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X86-64 for a more detailed history lesson.
bruce
 
Posts: 22006
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: V7.5.1 "Failed to read stream"

Postby bruce » Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:37 pm

Calibrator wrote:I've been folding for over 10 years. v7.5.1 won't run.

18:02:28:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AM ... ore_a7.fah
18:02:28:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
18:02:28:WU01:FS01:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AM ... ore_21.fah
18:02:28:WU01:FS01:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
18:03:28:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream
18:03:28:WU02:FS02:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AM ... ore_21.fah
18:03:28:WU02:FS02:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
18:03:28:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to read stream
18:03:28:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AM ... ore_a7.fah
18:03:28:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
18:04:28:ERROR:WU02:FS02:Exception: Failed to read stream
18:04:28:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream
18:05:05:WU01:FS01:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AM ... ore_21.fah
18:05:05:WU01:FS01:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
18:05:25:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to read stream
18:05:25:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AM ... ore_a7.fah
18:05:25:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80


The FAHCores _a7 and __21 (and maybe _a4, too) are trying to download. The FAHCore download server has migrated to a new location and you need to download new cores. Unfortunately, the old client can't download more than one at a time and apparently this hasn't been fixed in the new client. Starting 6 slots at the same time often has temporary difficulties. (I'm not sure how the new has changed anything.)

The workaround is Pause FAH. Then unpause ONE slot (either GPU or CPU) and let it install a FAHCore. Once that's resolved, start a second slot, and a 3rd, and ...)
bruce
 
Posts: 22006
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

V7.5.1 FAHClient won't update core

Postby Calibrator » Mon Jun 11, 2018 2:46 am

The folding at home client won't update the core. I only have one GPU slot activated because I'm trying to eliminate the possibilities.
I haven't changed anything on my end other than downloading the new version. I did a complete uninstall of the previous version and a clean install of this version.

It keeps saying "Failed to read stream"
Any ideas?
Thanks!

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2018-06-11T02:20:59Z ***********************
02:20:59:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
02:20:59:        Website: https://foldingathome.org/
02:20:59:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
02:20:59:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
02:20:59:           Args:
02:20:59:         Config: D:\FAHClient\config.xml
02:20:59:******************************** Build ********************************
02:20:59:        Version: 7.5.1
02:20:59:           Date: May 11 2018
02:20:59:           Time: 13:06:32
02:20:59:     Repository: Git
02:20:59:       Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
02:20:59:         Branch: master
02:20:59:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
02:20:59:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
02:20:59:       Platform: win32 10
02:20:59:           Bits: 32
02:20:59:           Mode: Release
02:20:59:******************************* System ********************************
02:20:59:            CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7820X CPU @ 3.60GHz
02:20:59:         CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 85 Stepping 4
02:20:59:           CPUs: 16
02:20:59:         Memory: 63.68GiB
02:20:59:    Free Memory: 59.74GiB
02:20:59:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
02:20:59:     OS Version: 6.2
02:20:59:    Has Battery: false
02:20:59:     On Battery: false
02:20:59:     UTC Offset: -5
02:20:59:            PID: 4488
02:20:59:            CWD: D:\FAHClient
02:20:59:             OS: Windows 10 Home
02:20:59:        OS Arch: AMD64
02:20:59:           GPUs: 2
02:20:59:          GPU 0: Bus:101 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti]
02:20:59:                 11380
02:20:59:          GPU 1: Bus:23 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
02:20:59:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:23 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:9.2
02:20:59:  CUDA Device 1: Platform:0 Device:1 Bus:101 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:9.2
02:20:59:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:23 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:398.11
02:20:59:OpenCL Device 1: Platform:0 Device:1 Bus:101 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:398.11
02:20:59:  Win32 Service: false
02:20:59:***********************************************************************
02:21:00:<config>
02:21:00:  <!-- Folding Core -->
02:21:00:  <checkpoint v='30'/>
02:21:00:
02:21:00:  <!-- Network -->
02:21:00:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
02:21:00:
02:21:00:  <!-- Slot Control -->
02:21:00:  <pause-on-battery v='false'/>
02:21:00:  <power v='full'/>
02:21:00:
02:21:00:  <!-- User Information -->
02:21:00:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
02:21:00:  <team v='*****'/>
02:21:00:  <user v='********'/>
02:21:00:
02:21:00:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
02:21:00:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
02:21:00:</config>
02:21:00:Trying to access database...
02:21:00:Successfully acquired database lock
02:21:00:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:0:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
02:21:00:WU01:FS01:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah
02:21:00:WU01:FS01:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
02:22:00:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to read stream
02:22:00:WU02:FS01:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah
02:22:00:WU02:FS01:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
02:23:00:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Failed to read stream
02:23:37:WU01:FS01:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah
02:23:37:WU01:FS01:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
02:24:37:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to read stream


(image) https://1drv.ms/f/s!Anm2gYA-8AAVgaYcItO4eUz3IJvTgQ

Mod edit: added Code tags to log listing
Calibrator
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Indiana, USA

Windows 10 blocks FahCore_21.exe

Postby Calibrator » Mon Jun 11, 2018 5:30 pm

I finally got V7.5.1 to run albeit for only a few moments... The cores finally downloaded after I disabled my firewall. Now, when V7.5.1 is running Windows 10 pops up a notification on the right margin "Application has been blocked from accessing Graphics hardware. Application FahCore_21.exe has been blocked from accessing Graphics hardware." It continually keeps popping up and then crashes my computer! I have Window 10 Home, Version 1803, OS Build 17134.48. Arg!
Calibrator
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: Windows 10 blocks FahCore_21.exe

Postby Calibrator » Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:28 pm

I allowed FAHClient.exe, FAHControl.exe, FahCore_a4.exe, and FahCore_21.exe in Windows firewall and my Norton AV. On my second GPU I had to change the opencl-index to '1' to get the 2nd GPU to fold. There were many hoops to get this client to run! She's humming along now though. I'm relieved.
Calibrator
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: FAH stopped on core download

Postby bruce » Mon Jun 11, 2018 7:44 pm

Unfortunately, FoldingAtHome doesn't have any control over your security software. We can complain to Microsoft/Norton/etc. just like you can. We can also help spread the word to donors that they need to add exceptions to their security software. (If you look back over the two pages of this topic, you'll find that I mentioned your firewall as one possibility.)

Once you determine it's your firewall, the exception(s) need to be made permanent because revised or new FahCores can be delivered at any time, though that's not a common event.
bruce
 
Posts: 22006
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

PreviousNext

Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron