7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby barebear » Sun Jul 22, 2018 4:11 am

In the work queue is shown Update_Core; the progress stays at 0.00

I'd attach a screenshot but don't know how to
GIGABYTE GA-P55A-UD3 LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel MB
Intel Core i7-860 Lynnfield 2.8GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Proc.BX80605I7860
16Gb ram
barebear
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:11 pm

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby bruce » Sun Jul 22, 2018 4:39 am

There is a long topic on this issue: New FAH software stopped on core download

While there are several possible causes for this problem, it is almost certainly a problem caused by your security software. If my guess is correct, you'll need to grant an exception to allow FAHClient.exe to connect to the Internet just like your browser does and download the required file(s).
bruce
 
Posts: 22021
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby barebear » Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:03 am

Actually it's a bit weirder than that --I installed w/ all my security software disabled --keep getting a message about enabling Javascript (which I never disabled) --checked all my Javascript settings in Firefox about:config and they are all set to default.
I'm a devout believer and user of FAH since 2006 --hope you can figure this out !
I notice that I have to enter my name, team number, and passkey because they didn't show after running the install
barebear
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:11 pm

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby bruce » Sun Jul 22, 2018 3:31 pm

You provided a detailed hardware description but I don't see the configuration as described by the top couple pages of your log. (see the sig of my previous post)

I'm going to ASSUME that you are running Windows and that your new installation was made while logged on as the same user as your previous installation. What does your log say after CWD: about 30 lines from the top? I'll need more than that, but posting the first couple of pages of the log should supply it. Even though you can't post a screenshot, you can Copy/Paste from the text file.
bruce
 
Posts: 22021
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby barebear » Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:42 pm

Hi Bruce,

Here is the log file
Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2018-07-22T05:53:46Z ***********************
05:53:46:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
05:53:46:        Website: https://foldingathome.org/
05:53:46:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
05:53:46:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
05:53:46:           Args: --open-web-control
05:53:46:         Config: <none>
05:53:46:******************************** Build ********************************
05:53:46:        Version: 7.5.1
05:53:46:           Date: May 11 2018
05:53:46:           Time: 13:06:32
05:53:46:     Repository: Git
05:53:46:       Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
05:53:46:         Branch: master
05:53:46:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
05:53:46:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
05:53:46:       Platform: win32 10
05:53:46:           Bits: 32
05:53:46:           Mode: Release
05:53:46:******************************* System ********************************
05:53:46:            CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz
05:53:46:         CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 30 Stepping 5
05:53:46:           CPUs: 8
05:53:46:         Memory: 16.00GiB
05:53:46:    Free Memory: 11.27GiB
05:53:46:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
05:53:46:     OS Version: 6.1
05:53:46:    Has Battery: false
05:53:46:     On Battery: false
05:53:46:     UTC Offset: -7
05:53:46:            PID: 7144
05:53:46:            CWD: C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
05:53:46:             OS: Windows 7 Professional
05:53:46:        OS Arch: AMD64
05:53:46:           GPUs: 1
05:53:46:          GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:1 G92 [GeForce GTS 250]
05:53:46:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.1 Driver:6.5
05:53:46:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.0 Driver:342.1
05:53:46:  Win32 Service: false
05:53:46:***********************************************************************
05:53:46:<config>
05:53:46:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
05:53:46:</config>
05:53:46:Connecting to assign1.foldingathome.org:8080
05:53:47:Updated GPUs.txt
05:53:47:Read GPUs.txt
05:53:47:Trying to access database...
05:53:47:Successfully acquired database lock
05:53:47:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:7 (not configured)
05:54:48:Saving configuration to config.xml
05:54:48:<config>
05:54:48:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
05:54:48:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
05:54:48:</config>
05:54:48:Set client configured
05:54:48:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
05:54:48:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
05:54:48:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.158
05:54:48:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY cpu:7 from 171.67.108.158
05:54:48:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.158:8080
05:54:50:WU00:FS00:Downloading 806.57KiB
05:54:51:WU00:FS00:Download complete
05:54:51:WU00:FS00:Received Unit: id:00 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:9033 run:701 clone:1 gen:1268 core:0xa4 unit:0x00000570ab436c9e56983100724a7760
05:54:51:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
05:54:51:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
05:54:52:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed reading core package header.
05:55:52:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
05:55:52:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
05:55:52:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed reading core package header.
05:57:29:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
05:57:29:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
05:57:29:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed reading core package header.
06:00:06:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
06:00:06:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
06:00:06:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed reading core package header.
06:01:16:Saving configuration to config.xml
06:01:16:<config>
06:01:16:  <!-- Network -->
06:01:16:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
06:01:16:
06:01:16:  <!-- User Information -->
06:01:16:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
06:01:16:  <team v='39340'/>
06:01:16:  <user v='Peer_Baerwald'/>
06:01:16:
06:01:16:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
06:01:16:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
06:01:16:</config>
06:01:44:Saving configuration to config.xml
06:01:44:<config>
06:01:44:  <!-- Network -->
06:01:44:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
06:01:44:
06:01:44:  <!-- User Information -->
06:01:44:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
06:01:44:  <team v='39340'/>
06:01:44:  <user v='Peter_Baerwald'/>
06:01:44:
06:01:44:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
06:01:44:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
06:01:44:</config>
06:01:55:Saving configuration to config.xml
06:01:55:<config>
06:01:55:  <!-- Network -->
06:01:55:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
06:01:55:
06:01:55:  <!-- User Information -->
06:01:55:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
06:01:55:  <team v='39340'/>
06:01:55:  <user v='Peter_Baerwald'/>
06:01:55:
06:01:55:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
06:01:55:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
06:01:55:</config>
06:04:20:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
06:04:20:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
06:04:21:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed reading core package header.
06:11:12:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
06:11:12:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
06:41:12:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream
06:41:12:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
06:41:12:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
07:11:14:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream
07:11:14:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
07:11:14:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
07:12:02:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed reading core package header.
07:40:16:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
07:40:16:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
08:10:33:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream
08:27:15:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
08:27:15:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
08:57:15:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream
09:43:16:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
09:43:16:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
10:13:16:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream
11:46:16:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
11:46:16:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
******************************* Date: 2018-07-22 *******************************
12:12:20:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed reading core package header.
15:05:16:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
15:05:16:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
15:35:16:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to read stream


And thanks for your help !

Best, Peter
barebear
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:11 pm

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby bollix47 » Sun Jul 22, 2018 7:26 pm

Peter,
Have you tried temporarily disabling whatever security software you're running and re-starting Folding@home?
Also, which security software are you running?
Why are you checking javascipt in Firefox when it's the IE setting that controls whether or not javascipt is working in the o/s?
https://www.google.ca/search?q=javascri ... e&ie=UTF-8
bollix47
 
Posts: 3462
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby barebear » Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:02 am

Hi Mike,


I run Malwarebytes Premium, SuperAntispyware, MBR Filter and Cyberason Ransomfree.
All of them were disabled after I found 7.5.1 not completeing updating --I did an uninstall (except for Data ) and reinstall with no luck.
I run IE 11, never use it except very rarely, and have never changed any settings in it.
I took a screenshot of the IE settings but when I tried to put it in IMG for this, it wouldn't work.
All of my FF Javascript settings were set to default when I checked.
I also run Hotspotshield VPN and turned it off when I tried the uninstall/reinstall, but that didn't help either.

Best, Peter
barebear
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:11 pm

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby bruce » Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:35 am

What happens when you open http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AM ... ore_a7.fah?

It should try to download a file without any error messages. (The file won't do you any good, so it can be moved to the trash.) If you get an error message, it may give us an important clue.
bruce
 
Posts: 22021
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby barebear » Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:08 pm

The file downloaded instantly with no problem.
barebear
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:11 pm

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby bruce » Tue Jul 24, 2018 9:44 pm

If the browser can download it and FAHClient cannot, it's because your firewall allows known browsers to penetrate the firewall but FAHClient isn't on their list. YOU have to add the permissions for it to download the core.
bruce
 
Posts: 22021
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby barebear » Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:21 am

I don't run theWindows 7 or any other firewall --just the security software that I mentioned previously.
Code: Select all
I run Malwarebytes Premium, SuperAntispyware, MBR Filter and Cyberason Ransomfree.
All of them were disabled after I found 7.5.1 not completeing updating --I did an uninstall (except for Data ) and reinstall with no luck.
I run IE 11, never use it except very rarely, and have never changed any settings in it.
I took a screenshot of the IE settings but when I tried to put it in IMG for this, it wouldn't work.
All of my FF Javascript settings were set to default when I checked.
I also run Hotspotshield VPN and turned it off when I tried the uninstall/reinstall, but that didn't help either.


When I'm done with my computer chores in an hr or so I'll again try another install with the VPN and my 4 security items disabled.
barebear
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:11 pm

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby barebear » Wed Jul 25, 2018 6:17 am

So I tried again with no luck --and something very strange --I decided to go back to 7.4.4 and got a message that I also got when attempting to do 7.5.1 --the message is that I need to have a Javascript enabled browser. I have checked (again ) and all my FF Javascript settings are default --I have NEVER messed w/ Javascript settings in either IE or FF, and don't get any message like that when I go to the many websites that I know require a Javascript enabled browser.

OMG !!! --I just checked my 7.4.4 install and it's running ok ?! I right click on the tray icon, then open Advanced Control, see it updating, and running ?!!

Is there maybe a bug of some sort in 7.5.1 ? I also notice that when I go to https://foldingathome.org/start-folding/ , I don't see a list of available downloads, but do see a comment " Don’t see the correct software for your device? Try our list of alternative downloads ".
This is all very confusing and for now I'm just glad to be running again !
I'd like to run the newest 7.5.1 to be able to help you more, but until you guys can figure out what's going on, I'll stay with what is working.
barebear
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:11 pm

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby barebear » Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:11 pm

I got up this morning and FAH isn't working again --I give up as to the cause --will try another uninstall/reinstall
barebear
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:11 pm

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby bruce » Wed Jul 25, 2018 6:48 pm

Antispyware is specifically designed to prohibit some "unknown" program like FAH from downloading stuff from the internet. Please contact Malwarebytes support and have them help you figure out why your FAHClient cannot download the applicable file. They have configured their software to allow known browsers allowing only those programs to download the file. They do not identify FAHClient as a known browser ... you have to manually give it permission.

In defense of all anti-spyware suppliers, they're doing the job they should be doing -- blocking unknown programs -- but you have to inform their software that you trust FAHClient to do the same things that a browser can do.
bruce
 
Posts: 22021
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: 7.5.1 shows updating but never completes

Postby JimboPalmer » Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:13 pm

"I just checked my 7.4.4 install and it's running ok ?! I right click on the tray icon, then open Advanced Control, see it updating, and running ?!!"
"I got up this morning and FAH isn't working again --I give up as to the cause --will try another uninstall/reinstall"

This sounds to me that you disabled enough that it worked briefly, then re-enabled the A/V programs and it is back to not communicating.

Bruce's Idea of disabling one A/V at a time to see which is blocking F@H sounds good.
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Next

Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron