nothing works

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

nothing works

Postby commissar0617 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:47 pm

just installed FAH on win 10.... and neither web control, nor advanced control work. web control won't connect, advanced won't even open. i double checked that it's allowed through the firewall, and my network is fine,a s i have another pc folding as well.

edit: got f@H control to work in compatibility mode...
commissar0617
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 6:33 am

Re: nothing works

Postby tabularasa » Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:51 pm

Having the same issue on Windows 10.0.17134.320 using the 7.5.1 installer. The application doesn't start at boot, the tray icon is missing, the desktop icon does nothing and manually going to the control panel via a browser times out.
tabularasa
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:48 pm

Re: nothing works

Postby bruce » Fri Oct 05, 2018 4:37 am

There are several potential issues.

You must install FAH when logged on as the same user that's going to run FAH --- and FAH will only run while that user iis logged on to the active keyboard/screen. If you installed it as administrator and are now logging on as somebody else, start over. It will ask you for permission to complete the installation.

FAHClient should start itself AS A HIDDEN (aka BACKGROUND) PROGRAM ... aka as a Daemon. It is not designed to show in an open Window on you desktop ... You should NOT see it start and if you try to start it by finding in in the programs file that will only disrupt things.

If you choose to start FAHControl or WebControl it should connect to the background client and allow you to manage it or to observe what WorkUnit is being processed. FAHControl should be started with the shortcut that was created at install-time. WebControl should be started in your browser: https://foldingathome.org/client

If FAHControl did not start at boot time ... or you stopped it ... you can restart it with the shortcut provided.

Microsoft has repeatedly changed how icons can be placed on the desktop and it's hard to keep up with the recent changes.

Please open %APPDATA%\FAHClient and tell me what files you find there.

If you attempted to install it somewhere other than the default location, you may also have introduced unnecessary problems.
bruce
 
Posts: 22338
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: nothing works

Postby tabularasa » Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:28 am

Got it working by right clicking the desktop icon and selecting Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode but it still doesn't start at boot. However in compatibility mode it seems the majority of the UI buttons in the advanced control panel don't respond to input and have to be selected by guessing and tabbing to them since they don't get a box when selected. The AppData\FAHClient directory contains the directories configs, cores, logs, themes, work and the files config.xml, FAHControl.db, GPUs.txt, log.txt & sample-config.xml. Now I'm having an issue getting either of my 1080 Ti GPUs to fold with the error "No WUs available for this configuration." will probably make a separate post for that.
tabularasa
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:48 pm

Re: nothing works

Postby bruce » Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:57 am

Post the first few pages of log.txt.

Have you installed the drivers from NVidia.com or are you using the ones that MS supplies?

I've never needed to run in compatibility mode. but then I'm not running an identical Win10 install.
bruce
 
Posts: 22338
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: nothing works

Postby tabularasa » Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:36 am

Using driver version 416.16 from the website. Posted log snippet to PasteBin: https://pastebin.com/VTBaMaVV
tabularasa
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:48 pm

Re: nothing works

Postby bollix47 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 11:21 am

Have a look at the requirements for XP and make sure you have .net & c++ installed.
https://foldingathome.org/support/faq/i ... uirements/

When using any windows version change the default theme in FAHControl using the Preferences ... the default theme has been known to cause problems for some.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: nothing works

Postby bruce » Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:16 pm

I seem to remember that NVidia has dropped driver support for WinXP but I can't find it on their website. When I try to download drivers for the 1080Ti, WINXP is not an option. Can anybody find a difinitive statement from NV that 416.16 is supported or not.

My general recommendation is that anybody trying to run WinXP should upgrade to >=Win7 -- but that's not the same as saying it's difficult or maybe impossible, since I don't know that to be true.
bruce
 
Posts: 22338
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: nothing works

Postby tabularasa » Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:14 pm

But I'm running Windows 10.0.17134.320 Pro it only says Windows XP SP3 in the log because the only way I can get the FAH client to launch at all is by selecting Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode on the desktop shortcut. However compatibility mode makes practically none of the UI elements on the advanced control panel respond to input. I have always had .NET installed but after installing the Visual C++ 2008 x32 Redistributable the FAH client won't launch at all with or without compatibility mode so that was a bit of a regression. By uninstalling the Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable and launching in WinXP SP3 compatibility mode I can get back to the issue I was having in the pastebin log above with the error "No WUs available for this configuration".

I didn't have any of these issues on this same machine several months ago. Microsoft must have made changes to Windows 10 that are no longer compatible with the client. Regardless using the 32 bit 2008 VS compiler means newer machines are missing out on some serious optimizations provided by VS2017.
tabularasa
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:48 pm

Re: nothing works

Postby foldy » Sat Oct 06, 2018 11:32 am

There was a Windows 10 update Version 1809 rolled out currently. Maybe that can help you by magic?
foldy
 
Posts: 1446
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: nothing works

Postby SteveWillis » Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:41 pm

Have you reinstalled the nvidia driver since the last windows update? Windows updates are known for breaking folding. That's one thing I don't have to deal with on Linux.
Image

1080 and 1080TI GPUs on Linux Mint
SteveWillis
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:42 am

Re: nothing works

Postby bruce » Wed Oct 10, 2018 5:31 pm

Until now, when your report was published, FAHControl has always worked fine using 32-bit code on either 32- or 64-bit Windows.
(It sounds like WDDM may be introducing bugs. It has certainly not helped screen performance.)

Does Win7 or Win8 compatibility help?

At the time V7.5.x was being beta tested, it was noted that the default Windows theme had problems. That's possibly still true. Have you selected a different theme? Does that help?
bruce
 
Posts: 22338
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: nothing works

Postby toprea » Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:53 pm

Help! Looks like this is the only post where the user is experiencing something similar to what I'm seeing. I can't fold anymore, for whatever reason. Everything worked fine until about a week ago (no changes that I am aware of) when all of a sudden clicking on the "Folding@home" link in the Start menu would no longer open the browser and the web control page. It does start the FAHClient.exe (32 bit) process, but neither the "FAHControl" or "Web Control" work, in the sense that they don't seem to be able to connect to the client. FAHControl is forever stuck in Connecting, while Web Control times out every time. I've tried to disable my AVG antivirus, the Windows firewall, I've uninstalled and installed the latest FAH, I've installed the latest nvidia drivers, I've looked in the logs, it won't work and I can't figure it out. I'm running Windows 10 Home, Version 1803 (OS Build 17134.345) on a 7700K and a GTX1080. FAH default install options and location. What is going on? Very frustrating. The logs just end with:

21:17:57:<config>
21:17:57: <!-- Folding Slots -->
21:17:57:</config>
21:17:57:Trying to access database...
21:17:57:Successfully acquired database lock
21:17:57:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:6 (not configured)
toprea
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:26 pm

Re: nothing works

Postby bruce » Mon Nov 12, 2018 5:19 pm

Did you choose the default install -- which would put FAH's working files in a pre-defined location that would be accessible to FAHControl/WebControl or did you attempt to relocate it? In the past, have you installed "just for me" or "for anybody"?

The "not configured" message suggests that you've got FAHClient running in some other directory than the one that's being displayed above. It's also possible that your security software is blocking the connections but you said you tried that.

In addition to the segment of the log that shows the problem, you need to post the first 100 lines of the log. See the signature block of my FIRST post on this page.
bruce
 
Posts: 22338
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: nothing works

Postby toprea » Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:12 am

Hi, thank you for your reply. Yes, definitely default location, express install, I didn't change or customize anything during the install. And I installed it using my system user, the one I always log in with (so the same user that installed FAH is attempting to run it). Before posting this reply, I attempted an install again: uninstalled everything with Revo uninstaller, restarted the computer, installed using fah-installer_7.5.1_x86.exe downloaded from the website. No luck, same symptoms. C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient shows the following files and folders: themes, work, FAHControl.db, GPUs.txt, log.txt and sample-config.xml. The files client.db and client.db-journal are under /work. I'll paste the full log below, I hope that's ok, are there better ways to share things like this?

*********************** Log Started 2018-11-13T05:57:35Z ***********************
05:57:35:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
05:57:35: Website: https://foldingathome.org/
05:57:35: Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
05:57:35: Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
05:57:35: Args: --open-web-control
05:57:35: Config: <none>
05:57:35:******************************** Build ********************************
05:57:35: Version: 7.5.1
05:57:35: Date: May 11 2018
05:57:35: Time: 13:06:32
05:57:35: Repository: Git
05:57:35: Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
05:57:35: Branch: master
05:57:35: Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
05:57:35: Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
05:57:35: Platform: win32 10
05:57:35: Bits: 32
05:57:35: Mode: Release
05:57:35:******************************* System ********************************
05:57:35: CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
05:57:35: CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 9
05:57:35: CPUs: 8
05:57:35: Memory: 31.93GiB
05:57:35: Free Memory: 28.05GiB
05:57:35: Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
05:57:35: OS Version: 6.2
05:57:35: Has Battery: false
05:57:35: On Battery: false
05:57:35: UTC Offset: -6
05:57:35: PID: 16916
05:57:35: CWD: C:\Users\oprea\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
05:57:35: OS: Windows 10 Home
05:57:35: OS Arch: AMD64
05:57:35: GPUs: 0
05:57:35:CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:10.0
05:57:35: OpenCL: Not detected
05:57:35:Win32 Service: false
05:57:35:***********************************************************************
05:57:35:<config>
05:57:35: <!-- Folding Slots -->
05:57:35:</config>
05:57:35:Connecting to assign1.foldingathome.org:8080
05:57:35:Updated GPUs.txt
05:57:35:Read GPUs.txt
05:57:35:Trying to access database...
05:57:35:Successfully acquired database lock
05:57:35:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:6 (not configured)
toprea
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:26 pm

Next

Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron