Exception: Failed to register systray icon

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Exception: Failed to register systray icon

Postby toTOW » Sun Oct 07, 2018 10:39 am

On one of my machines (Windows 10 Pro), after upgrading to 7.5.1 client (yes, it was a while ago), I don't see the tray icon anymore and the log is showing the following error at every client start up :

09:37:31:ERROR:Exception: Failed to register systray icon: Erreur non spécifiée


The translation of the error is "Unspecified error".

The client is doing fine and Advanced control is able to connect (launched for start menu, or remotely). It's only a problem when I'd like to exit the client nicely.

Any idea what is causing this error ?
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8689
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Exception: Failed to register systray icon

Postby foldy » Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:19 am

Maybe 2 instances of FahClient are running?
foldy
 
Posts: 1446
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Exception: Failed to register systray icon

Postby toTOW » Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:23 pm

It would be too easy ;)
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8689
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Exception: Failed to register systray icon

Postby gannett » Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:22 am

I see this as well just after the client starts two threads, one for CPU one for GPU. And the systray folding icon is missing.

Code: Select all
08:25:13:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:11
08:25:13:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:0:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463
08:25:13:ERROR:Exception: Failed to register systray icon: Unspecified error


Also having trouble connecting the web client that just looops on waiting for local host 127.0.0.1
gannett
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: UK

Re: Exception: Failed to register systray icon

Postby bruce » Sat Oct 27, 2018 3:43 pm

FAHClient requires a loop-back connection on 127.0.0.1. That's how it communicates with another task (like WebControl) on the same system.

I'm not sure about the Web Client. It may be using that connection to tell Windows to open the systray icon.
bruce
 
Posts: 22337
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Exception: Failed to register systray icon

Postby toTOW » Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:08 pm

That's two separate issues. Even if the icon is missing, I can still talk with the client using local or remote FAHControl ...
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8689
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France


Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron