Linux/Windows - how to only work on COVID-19?

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Linux/Windows - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby dbr » Sun Mar 08, 2020 7:51 pm

Howdy,

Is there something I can add to the config.xml file so that F@H will only work on the COVID-19 tasks?


Thanks
dbr
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 7:50 pm

Re: Linux - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby bollix47 » Sun Mar 08, 2020 8:41 pm

Welcome to the folding@home support forum.

The short answer to your question is "Not at this time".

When the coronavirus projects are released to the public (soon) they will be given a higher than normal prority so that, in itself, should ensure you working on those projects. Other possibilities incude a new Cause category such as Infectious Diseases, for example, may be added when possible and that will give folders more choice as to which type of project they would rather support but that could involve a new client and development is fairly busy lately making sure there's enough resources for the new folders.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3533
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Linux - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby JimboPalmer » Sun Mar 08, 2020 9:25 pm

Also, consider if you really do not wish to fold for any other cause. Would helping to treat cancer really be that bad an idea rather than going idle when there are no move COVID-19 WUs?
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Linux - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby dbr » Sun Mar 08, 2020 9:39 pm

No. Would be fine to work on other jobs, if corona is prioritized
dbr
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 7:50 pm

Re: Linux - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby toTOW » Mon Mar 09, 2020 12:50 am

The only thing you can do on your side at the moment is to make sure that you selected "Any" for the Cause parameter.
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 9177
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Linux - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby OlivierN » Tue Mar 10, 2020 2:02 am

Hello - same question on Windows.

As for other diseases, the health effects of covid-19 are awful particularly to a percentage of elders / grandparents.
It is believed that +70% of the population will get it; for the moment here in France the local health agencies are doing a great job tracking the contamination chains and organizing clusters.
But the # of contamined people gets multiplied by 10 every week.
It's thus important and urgent to organize a citizens movement and convert computers to fight coronavirus with your Folding @ Home.
Also use our various social networks to advertise.

I'd like to provide my humble computing resources during the night, in priority against this virus.

There is no coronavirus category in the user interface, could you please add it also on Windows?

We'll followup with other diseases later.
Many thanks
Olivier
OlivierN
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 1:47 am

Re: Linux - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby bruce » Tue Mar 10, 2020 3:53 am

Unfortunately there is currently no specific option to select only a specific virus. Adding such an option requires the construction of a new FAHClient and changes to the assignment logic on the servers, neither of which can be accomplished quickly.

Specific FAH projects and their priority are established by the scientists at FAH, not by donor demand. Nevertheless, considering the importance of this research, I have little doubt that they'll make COVID19 a high priority. Other active projects will continue to be intermixed at some (unknown to me) priority. Further information may be available at any time.

Specific projects are distributed to both Windows and Linux using the same logic.
bruce
 
Posts: 23736
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Linux/Windows - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby toTOW » Wed Mar 11, 2020 12:28 am

I'll summarize in one sentence : if you want to run COVID-19 projects in priority, you need an AMD or NV GPU with up to date drivers downloaded from AMD or NV website, and a FAH client set up to "Any" setting for Cause Preference.
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 9177
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Linux/Windows - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby JimboPalmer » Wed Mar 11, 2020 1:39 am

At this time all the projects for combatting COVID-19 are GPU projects, your CPU will work on other diseases if you let it.
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Linux/Windows - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby dbr » Wed Mar 11, 2020 1:44 am

Is there any info on what diseases are CPU vs GPU? It's really not helpful to just list "any disease" and have no idea what you're actually contributing to. theres a blog post saying that COVID has been added but doesnt say you HAVE to be running a GPU to be any value, etc.


Folks should be able to select, or at least KNOW what they are working on in a rational manner
dbr
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 7:50 pm

Re: Linux/Windows - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby bruce » Wed Mar 11, 2020 1:57 am

Assuming you have your prefernece seto to ANY:
If you fold with your GPU, you're most likely to get COVID19 assignments based on the priorirty set at the server.
If you fold with your CPU you will certainly get a non-COVID19 project.
If you fold with both, you'll get both types of projects.

If you choose to run both, will use more power and generate more heat. You'll also complete more science but they shouldn't interfere with each other unless you exceed the capably of your power supply and/or your computer's heat dissipation characteristics.
bruce
 
Posts: 23736
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Linux/Windows - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby dbr » Wed Mar 11, 2020 2:26 am

I understand that, I mean from a UI/UX perspective, people should know what the app is doing :-)

And with the recent pandemic, people should be able to opt in to COVID exclusively. All my opinion ofc
dbr
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 7:50 pm

Re: Linux/Windows - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby JimboPalmer » Wed Mar 11, 2020 4:07 am

dbr wrote:I understand that, I mean from a UI/UX perspective, people should know what the app is doing

And with the recent pandemic, people should be able to opt in to COVID exclusively. All my opinion ofc

We could wait until Joseph Coffland re-writes the user interface to show COVID-19 as a choice, but we will waste a lot of time waiting for that. He writes the Client, the Control and the CPU Cores on the PC, (Win, Linux, and Mac) plus the Assignment server code the Collection server code and the Stats server code. He is also the web master at Folding@Home, so if you are waiting for any one thing, he seems slow. He would need to co-ordinate 6 client user interfaces with at least 2 server code bases.

Or today, you can run GPU WUs and look at the Project number, This afternoon when I checked, I was running a 11742 and a 11743 on my PCs with GPUs. (Plus 8 unrelated CPU projects because I am in several high risk groups for COVID-19 and I want to do the most good while I am here)

https://apps.foldingathome.org/project?p=11742
https://apps.foldingathome.org/project?p=11743
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Linux/Windows - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby rafwiewiora » Wed Mar 11, 2020 4:21 am

We're simply going to do it this way: for as long as needed, pretty much all GPU jobs that will be served, will be coronavirus. So just run with 'Any', you will always contribute to that. Update on that for the CPU coming.

Also to clarify on choosing diseases to work on: you can do that in F@h, unfortunately at some point someone decided to hard code those options, which wasn't a problem until this emergency came along -- it was fine because we have a known variety of research groups in the Consortium that work always on their diseases, no one unfortunately predicted that we'll suddenly be running a virus because of an epidemic, rather than a research group interest. We should, for the future, add a 'outbreaks' or 'urgent' categories, but there's no time now, sorry about that.
rafwiewiora
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:23 pm
Location: New York

Re: Linux/Windows - how to only work on COVID-19?

Postby jonfen801 » Sat Mar 14, 2020 6:05 pm

I am using the following config file, however only one of my GPUs works on Corona Project 11742, what am I doing wrong?

Code: Select all
<config>

  <!-- User Information -->
  <user v='jonfen801'/>
  <passkey v='12345...'/>
  <gpu v='true'/>

  <!-- Folding Slots -->
  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
    <project-key v='11742'/>
  </slot>
  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
    <project-key v='11742'/>
  </slot>
  <slot id='2' type='GPU'>
    <project-key v='11742'/>
  </slot>
  <slot id='3' type='GPU'>
    <project-key v='11742'/>
  </slot>
  <slot id='4' type='GPU'>
    <project-key v='11742'/>
  </slot>

  <power v='full'/>

</config>
jonfen801
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 5:55 pm

Next

Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: keithy and 2 guests

cron