Volunteering to fix F@H Viewer

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: Volunteering to fix F@H Viewer

Postby rplate » Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:46 am

Quantize wrote:Thing is: given the nature of software debugging, releasing a core update risks destabilizing the machinery.
And if such were to happen while we're all folding at 1.5 exaflops then everyone's gonna regret that decision.

100% agree. While the visualizer/screensaver is a nice touch, the science is the point so especially now we shouldn't "poke the bear."
Windows 10 || CPU: Intel i5-6500 3.20 GHz || GPU: AMD Radeon R9 290
rplate
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 5:22 am

Re: Volunteering to fix F@H Viewer

Postby Quantize » Sun Apr 05, 2020 3:58 pm

Here's the (draft) Pull Request: https://github.com/FoldingAtHome/fah-viewer/pull/21
Pre-compiled binary here: https://meertronix.com/FAHViewer.exe

Please inform of any bug or instability so that it can be fixed before requesting a release.
Quantize
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 2:15 pm

Re: Volunteering to fix F@H Viewer

Postby McMelloW » Sun Apr 05, 2020 6:27 pm

Using Windows 10 Home Edition,

Just downloaded the binairy FAHViewer.exe. This gives me the following results:
Double click on it shows a fullscreen viewer, with my Current Work Unit information. This is briljant.
However, when it starts on the windows time-out, it does NOt show my Current Work Unit information

Double click on the FAHScreensaver.scr file does show the screensaver, but my Current Work Unit information is NOT shown
In the Windows screensaver settings, I can only choose for fahscreensaver and NOT for fahviewer.

I hope this information is useful for you.

Greetings McMelloW
McMelloW
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 5:20 pm

Re: Volunteering to fix F@H Viewer

Postby tgillis06 » Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:34 pm

did this ever happen? I'm running windows, a CPU and a nvidia 2080.. would love to see this protein!
tgillis06
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:04 am

Re: Volunteering to fix F@H Viewer

Postby Quantize » Sat Apr 11, 2020 6:03 pm

McMelloW wrote:I hope this information is useful for you.

Greetings McMelloW

Hello,
Thank you so much for your report, McMellow.

What you're talking about here is a similar looking but separate system: the screensaver.
The screensaver has it's own code repository and will only be updated IF this FAHViewer.exe proves stable and functional.

In other words: what we've been testing here is solely what happens when you double-click FAHViewer.exe.
Preferably while running a CPU work-unit, so that you can see the actual protein.

tgillis06 wrote:did this ever happen? I'm running windows, a CPU and a nvidia 2080.. would love to see this protein!

Working on it.

You can try out the new viewer with the binary provided here: https://meertronix.com/FAHViewer.exe.
For now it supports only CPU work units. GPU is a bit more work still.
Quantize
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 2:15 pm

Re: Volunteering to fix F@H Viewer

Postby iceman1992 » Sat Apr 11, 2020 6:50 pm

tgillis06 wrote:did this ever happen? I'm running windows, a CPU and a nvidia 2080.. would love to see this protein!

You mean did the viewer ever work? Yes it did. Here's a very old screenshot I have of a large protein. Core A4 Project 7808, from 2012!
Image
iceman1992
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 6:16 pm

Re: Volunteering to fix F@H Viewer

Postby Hou5e » Tue Apr 21, 2020 12:04 pm

@Quantize: Your viewer improvements are great. Being able to disable the Wiggling and using Turbo Mode are nice enhancements.
Hou5e
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 11:29 am

Re: Volunteering to fix F@H Viewer

Postby darkfield117 » Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:22 pm

Hi,

Just wondering if this has been resolved yet, and if so, what I need to do on my end to get it working?
darkfield117
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2020 4:45 am

Re: Volunteering to fix F@H Viewer

Postby PantherX » Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:21 pm

Welcome to the F@H Forum darkfield117,

The latest stable client V7.6.9 seems to have fixed the FAHViewer issue for many Donors: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=34466

Doing an upgrade from an older version of the newer version is fine. If you're doing an fresh installation, you will need to reboot your system/client before you add a GPU Slot.

If you need additional help, please create a new topic with your log file. Guidance is provided here: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=26036 :)
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Volunteering to fix F@H Viewer

Postby darkfield117 » Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:25 pm

@PantherX, Thank you for the info and thanks for the warm welcome!
darkfield117
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2020 4:45 am

Previous

Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron