FAHControl and Fedora31

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
drpaneas
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 2:26 pm

FAHControl and Fedora31

Post by drpaneas »

First error is that by default the shebang at /usr/bin/FAHControl is using python which is by defaut pointing (to Fedora 31 system and most other systems) to python3. As a result I am getting:

$ FAHControl
File "/usr/bin/FAHControl", line 57
if sock.recv(1024).strip() == 'OK': print 'Ok'
^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax



Manually editing the file and changing:

Code: Select all

- #!/usr/bin/python
+ #!/usr/bin/python2
seems to be starting although I am getting this error from the command-line:

Code: Select all

$ FAHControl 
Loading theme Default
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/fah/Client.py", line 352, in update
    self.process_message(app, type, data)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/fah/Client.py", line 336, in process_message
    elif type == 'units': self.process_units(app, data)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/fah/Client.py", line 287, in process_units
    if self.selected: self.config.update_status_ui(app)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/fah/ClientConfig.py", line 534, in update_status_ui
    self.update_status_slots(app)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/fah/ClientConfig.py", line 435, in update_status_slots
    app.slot_status_tree.get_selection().select_iter(selected_row)
TypeError: iter should be a GtkTreeIter
^CTraceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/FAHControl", line 79, in <module>
    app.run()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/fah/FAHControl.py", line 542, in run
    gtk.main()
KeyboardInterrupt

Another problem I have is that the GUI opens, when I go to the System Info tab, at the System Section I see:

Code: Select all

GPUs:1
GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 GPI104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463
CUDA Device 0 Platform: 0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:10.2
OpenCL: Not detected: clGetDeviceIDs() return -1
From the Logs tab I see:

Code: Select all

13:39:11:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 0 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
I have installed:

Code: Select all

sudo dnf install mesa-libOpenCL clinfo ocl-icd-devel
Please help :)
foldy
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm
Hardware configuration: Folding@Home Client 7.6.13 (1 GPU slots)
Windows 7 64bit
Intel Core i5 2500k@4Ghz
Nvidia gtx 1080ti driver 441

Re: FAHControl and Fedora31

Post by foldy »

To get OpenCL ready for FAH try:
sudo apt-get install ocl-icd-libopencl1
sudo apt-get install ocl-icd-opencl-dev
coredump4
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:59 pm

Re: FAHControl and Fedora31

Post by coredump4 »

Hi,
I just setup a GTX 1070 system on Fedora 31 with NVIDIA driver 440.64 and it's working fine.

Your 2nd error looks to simply be that the client selected the wrong GPU. Your log shows that GPU 0 is the GTX 1070, so edit /etc/fahclient/config.xml and look for the GPU slot and change the index to 0. Should look something like:

Code: Select all

  <slot id='0' type='GPU'>
    <client-type v='advanced'/>
    <gpu-index v='0'/>
    <verbosity v='5'/>
  </slot>
Then, restart the client.

good luck!
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7868
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2
Location: W. MA

Re: FAHControl and Fedora31

Post by Joe_H »

Just leave the verbosity at the default value of 3, higher values do not currently provide any useful information in the log file.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Post Reply