My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't Ok?

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't Ok?

Postby JohnnyB » Wed Mar 18, 2020 5:24 pm

My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is it Ok?

EDIT:
CPU - 3900x
GPU - 1080ti
Last edited by JohnnyB on Wed Mar 18, 2020 5:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JohnnyB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 12:22 pm

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby davidcoton » Wed Mar 18, 2020 5:28 pm

Probably. Try a Pause/Fold cycle in Advanced Control.

Parts of the F@H system are under heavy load because of the unprecedented (but welcome) increase in donors. The team are working on it. Please be patient.
Image
davidcoton
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby Akaanc » Wed Mar 18, 2020 6:28 pm

server stats shows 300.000 work units but I cant get work units too. I think there are work units but servers cant assign properly due to the load. Hopefully they will fix it. Or they can send longer work units so server communication will reduce.
Akaanc
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:20 pm

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby Joe_H » Wed Mar 18, 2020 8:50 pm

300K WU's, the existing servers can assign about 55k per hour. As each WU comes back completed, the WS creates the next Gen WU for that simulation run, so the total available stays relatively stable.

More servers are in the works.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6608
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby gatox » Wed Mar 18, 2020 10:56 pm

Nothing processed today, my GPU sits idle besides have a bunch of Bad Gateway when asking for my and team stats.
gatox
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 5:26 am

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby quintix256 » Wed Mar 18, 2020 11:43 pm

I'm experiencing a similar issue. I got a work unit through last night, but not since. I'm getting stuff like this in my logs
Code: Select all
20:34:52:WARNING:WU02:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '18.218.241.186:80': Failed to connect to 18.218.241.186:80: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.
20:34:52:ERROR:WU02:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment

So long as its a work unit availability issue and not a connectivity issue or something weird like prime-number-of-threads not being allocated like I found in a forum post I cannot link to because I'm new, I will keep my client running and remain patient. But I did drop my thread count from 19 (automatic) to 18 just in case that is still a lingering bug.
quintix256
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2020 11:24 pm

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby gatox » Thu Mar 19, 2020 1:24 am

I got an assignment but stopped half way in the download...

22:34:38:WU01:FS01:Download 48.30%
22:34:45:WU01:FS01:Download 49.25%
00:19:12:894:127.0.0.1:New Web connection

Since then, nothing, nada, zilch, rien.
gatox
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 5:26 am

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby quintix256 » Thu Mar 19, 2020 3:00 am

Looks like patience proved fruitful for me. My AMD Vega 56 is now mildly busy (<2% usage according to my task manager) with PRGC 11751 (0, 8237, 5), whatever that means. 17% progress so far. ETA as of now 95 minutes.
quintix256
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2020 11:24 pm

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby Jesse_V » Thu Mar 19, 2020 3:46 am

quintix256 wrote:PRGC 11751 (0, 8237, 5), whatever that means.


That's the identifiers for the workunit. The format is Project (Run, Clone, Generation). I explained a bit more in viewtopic.php?f=61&t=32805&p=315028#p314895 and Joe_H followed up below that.
F@h is now the top computing platform on the planet and nothing unites people like a dedicated fight against a common enemy. This virus affects all of us. Lets end it together.
Jesse_V
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Western Washington

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby bruce » Thu Mar 19, 2020 4:03 am

gatox wrote:I got an assignment but stopped half way in the download...


The slow downloads and the downloads that drop the connection in the middle are both symptoms of too much traffic on that server. All these enthusiastic Donors are simply exceeding the bandwidth of the servers. Servers are being added on a regular basis and then given a fresh batch of WUs to distribute but those steps take a lot of time for the few people at FAH that can actually do them.

I see we are getting a new server in France.
bruce
 
Posts: 20009
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby abpuma » Thu Mar 19, 2020 6:38 am

I'm having the same problem here. My FAHControl hasn't got any new WUs in the last 4 days :(

I'm starting to wonder if there's some problem in my local client.
abpuma
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 9:35 am

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby bruce » Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:48 am

Go to the Advanced Control program (FAHControl). Pause the slot that's idle and then unpause. Did that fix the problem?
bruce
 
Posts: 20009
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby umbriel » Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:58 am

I have the same problem. No work to do (Update_core : 0.00 %).
Hope you'll update servers to resolve the problem. Best regards from France.
umbriel
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:52 am

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby TomJohnson » Thu Mar 19, 2020 8:05 am

For Mac's/PC's CPUs - from the "FAHControl - Folding@home Client Advanced Control / Status" -
Doing a Pause for one minute then go back to Fold now works for getting WU assignments for all of my Computers :)
(During the Pause look at the Log to see the Paused entry line - in about one minute the <config> entry line will show up - at that time go back to Status and select - Fold.)
iMac 15,1 27" 5K Retina Intel i7 4.0 GHz Dual Quad 24 GB RAM 1 TB Fusion OS 10.10
Mac Pro 5,1 3.06 GHz 12 Core 52 Gig RAM OS 10.9.5 -- Plus 20 more
Image
TomJohnson
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:29 am
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

Re: My PC didn't receive any work for around 10 hours. Is't

Postby TechSupportGuy » Thu Mar 19, 2020 1:45 pm

I think the client is backing away from trying to get a new WU too far. The maximum should be set at couple of hours, this is enough to stop ddosing the server?
TechSupportGuy
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2020 1:57 pm

Next

Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron