No WUs again??

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

No WUs again??

Postby gatox » Fri Mar 20, 2020 2:45 pm

11:45:25:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
11:45:26:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '65.254.110.245:8080': No WUs available for this configuration
11:45:26:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 18.218.241.186:80
11:45:26:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '18.218.241.186:80': No WUs available for this configuration
11:45:26:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:49:40:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
11:49:40:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '65.254.110.245:8080': No WUs available for this configuration
11:49:40:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 18.218.241.186:80
11:49:40:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '18.218.241.186:80': No WUs available for this configuration
11:49:40:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:56:31:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
11:56:31:WU02:FS01:Assigned to work server 40.114.52.201
11:56:31:WU02:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1080] 8873 from 40.114.52.201
11:56:31:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 40.114.52.201:8080
11:56:52:WARNING:WU02:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
11:56:52:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 40.114.52.201:80
11:57:13:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Failed to connect to 40.114.52.201:80: Une tentative de connexion a échoué car le parti connecté n’a pas répondu convenablement au-delà d’une certaine durée ou une connexion établie a échoué car l’hôte de connexion n’a pas répondu.
12:07:37:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
12:07:37:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '65.254.110.245:8080': No WUs available for this configuration
12:07:37:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 18.218.241.186:80
12:07:37:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '18.218.241.186:80': No WUs available for this configuration
12:07:37:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
12:25:33:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
12:25:33:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '65.254.110.245:8080': No WUs available for this configuration
12:25:33:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 18.218.241.186:80
12:25:34:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '18.218.241.186:80': No WUs available for this configuration
12:25:34:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
12:54:36:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
12:54:36:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '65.254.110.245:8080': No WUs available for this configuration
12:54:36:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 18.218.241.186:80
12:54:36:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '18.218.241.186:80': No WUs available for this configuration
12:54:36:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
13:41:34:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
13:41:34:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '65.254.110.245:8080': No WUs available for this configuration
13:41:34:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 18.218.241.186:80
13:41:34:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '18.218.241.186:80': No WUs available for this configuration
13:41:34:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
gatox
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 5:26 am

Re: No WUs again??

Postby Jesse_V » Fri Mar 20, 2020 3:50 pm

Yes, this is due to the overwhelming flood of new users to Folding@home. We are all consuming workunits faster than they can be regenerated. The research teams are currently setting up new servers and adding more projects into the queue. I'd recommend keeping everything running as the software should pick up workunits when they are available. Hopefully the situation resolves over the next day or two.
F@h is now the top computing platform on the planet and nothing unites people like a dedicated fight against a common enemy. This virus affects all of us. Lets end it together.
Jesse_V
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Western Washington

Re: No WUs again??

Postby anolting » Fri Mar 20, 2020 5:49 pm

Hi all,
as per documentation (I have somewhere read, I cant remember where) the client should pickup new workload from any project if for the prefered one (I my case the setting is set to Any which should preferably load Corvid related WUs) doesn´t has any WU. I noticed now several times that restarting the client will make it able to download WUs and start crunching on it. I noticed also that the rate with which the timer is increased when no WU cant be downloaded is very high. This causes the client (and also the system) to run several hours before it picks up a new WU (if there are Workloads).
This look extremly inefficient to me, specifically if you look onto the consumed energy running a PC without any load.
If there now way to actively notificate the client for workloads?

Alex
anolting
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 5:33 pm

Re: No WUs again??

Postby LeonXjm » Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:27 am

anolting wrote:Hi all,
as per documentation (I have somewhere read, I can't remember where) the client should pick up a new workload from any project if for the preferred one (I my case the setting is set to Any which should preferably load Corvid related WUs) doesn´t have any WU. I noticed now several times that restarting the client will make it able to download WUs and start crunching on it. I noticed also that the rate with which the timer is increased when no WU cant is downloaded is very high. This causes the client (and also the system) to run several hours before it picks up a new WU (if there are Workloads).
This looks extremely inefficient to me, specifically if you look onto the consumed energy running a PC without any load.
If there no way to actively notification the client for workloads?

Alex



It seems they assign COVID-19 WUs to GPU for priority, other disease WUs to CPU. And I believe with everybody's hard-working, all of the COVID-19 WUs worked out. Let's wait patiently to continue our contributions to fight against COVID-19. Be well. God bless the human race.
LeonXjm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2020 4:03 am

Re: No WUs again??

Postby bruce » Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:35 am

Almost all active projects (both GPU and CPU) are associated with COVAID.

When the bandwidth of the servers reaches saturation, new connections are intentionally blocked and that limits your ability to get new assignments. (Yes, the servers can also run out of available work assignments that could be distributed. I don't know how to tell which is currently limiting downloads.) Let it keep trying. You may be lucky enough to find a window. The server load is dynamic.

Every hour or so, come back and click PAUSE ... wait ... then click FOLD.

EDIT: Just posted elsewhere
I and others are getting work.. Keep trying? Seems pretty solid now.
bruce
 
Posts: 20010
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: No WUs again??

Postby wingrider » Mon Mar 23, 2020 3:34 am

I am not getting any WU's either. I used to fold about 6 years ago and started over with 20 machines after reading about this via Reddit.

I got one batch through and logged (91WUs) and now they are all idle. They are all set to "Any" and that should catch Covid or anything else, but I see it's a focus there and that work is getting added, but it's been almost a day for these machines idled.

I guess I can sit and pause / fold across 20 machines a few times but feel like them being idle and having waits of up to 5 hours is disappointing.

Thx.
wingrider
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2020 3:29 am

Re: No WUs again??

Postby Jesse_V » Mon Mar 23, 2020 6:10 am

wingrider wrote:I am not getting any WU's either. I used to fold about 6 years ago and started over with 20 machines after reading about this via Reddit.

I got one batch through and logged (91WUs) and now they are all idle. They are all set to "Any" and that should catch Covid or anything else, but I see it's a focus there and that work is getting added, but it's been almost a day for these machines idled.

I guess I can sit and pause / fold across 20 machines a few times but feel like them being idle and having waits of up to 5 hours is disappointing.

Thx.


Welcome to the forum!

This isn't related to the issue getting workunits, but I do want to mention that you can connect to all 20 machines from a single FAHControl instance. For each machine, go to FAHControl -> Configure -> Remote Access, set a password, and add the IP address subnet to the Allow field in the IP Address Restriction section. Restart F@h on each machine, then from the master FAHControl instance, click "add" in the bottom-left corner and connect to all the remote machines. That way you can manage the 20 computers from one machine.
Jesse_V
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Western Washington

Re: No WUs again??

Postby psjrg » Mon Mar 23, 2020 8:29 am

Is this still an active issue? I'm getting the same problem and trying to decide if its my settings or not.

EDIT: Nevermind. Started working after a few hours.
psjrg
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2020 8:26 am

Re: No WUs again??

Postby Penfold » Mon Mar 23, 2020 12:36 pm

Jesse_V wrote:Yes, this is due to the overwhelming flood of new users to Folding@home. We are all consuming workunits faster than they can be regenerated. The research teams are currently setting up new servers and adding more projects into the queue.

Wow! This 'flood' is good news.

What has prompted the surge? The covid-19 threat?
Ubuntu 18.04.4
F@H v 7.5.1
Penfold
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:09 am
Location: Scotland

Re: No WUs again??

Postby MarkyMark7 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 4:40 pm

Penfold wrote:...
Wow! This 'flood' is good news.

What has prompted the surge? The covid-19 threat?


Yes, I've been contributing to FAH for over 10 years; I have been able to complete 10 to 20 work units every 3 hours the last few days, for 2 PCs with cheap video cards; last night through this morning, I had to wait several hours for a work unit. Take a look at a new user's stats https://folding.extremeoverclocking.com ... =&u=928671 -- they just joined, and they have been crunching through around 400 to almost 3,000 work units per Hour! When Nvidia asked all the PC gamers with $500 video cards to start helping FAH, they answered!
-- Mark
https://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?u=514381&t=1003
Or maybe https://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php/u=514381/t=1003/signimage.png
MarkyMark7
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:09 am


Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron