Configure F@H to start automatically

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Configure F@H to start automatically

Postby Yesorno » Mon Mar 23, 2020 5:31 am

I'm running F@H on Windows 10.

I just installed it on my laptop. During the install, I chose "Custom install (Advanced)" and set it to "Start manually (Expert)"

I'm trying to go back to the default option, which is that F@H starts automatically on boot up. I can't find anything in the Advanced Control settings to change this. How can I change that option without reinstalling F@H and doing an "Express install"?
Yesorno
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:07 pm

Re: Configure F@H to start automatically

Postby Yesorno » Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:12 am

Anyone?
Yesorno
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:07 pm

Re: Configure F@H to start automatically

Postby PantherX » Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:16 am

I can't remember the steps off the top of my head but my approach would be to uninstall F@H (you can leave the Data in place by not ticking the box to delete the data while uninstalling it). I would then re-install it with the correct settings.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6539
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Configure F@H to start automatically

Postby Stel2112 » Sat Apr 04, 2020 5:24 am

Assuming everything is in default locations, first create a shortcut to run FAH (Right click the desktop, click 'new', click 'shortcut', for the location of the item enter:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient\HideConsole.exe" C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient\FAHClient.exe

(with the quotes), click 'next', give it another name if you want, and click 'finish'). If you want FAH to startup automatically at windows logon for your account, just copy the shortcut to the startup folder at:

%userprofile%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup

while logged into the windows account you want it to run on.


If you want to run this on a 'standard', non-administrator account in Windows 10 and are having issues, check out this post:

viewtopic.php?f=106&t=33531
Stel2112
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:25 pm

Re: Configure F@H to start automatically

Postby Yesorno » Mon Apr 06, 2020 5:52 am

PantherX wrote:I can't remember the steps off the top of my head but my approach would be to uninstall F@H (you can leave the Data in place by not ticking the box to delete the data while uninstalling it). I would then re-install it with the correct settings.


Thanks, this worked. I didn't know you could "keep" information when uninstalling.
Yesorno
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:07 pm


Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron