FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (FIX)

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby susanreads » Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:40 pm

OK, let's see whether I can post all of this because I don't know which parts are important ... It started a new log this evening, after the reboot I guess.


Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2020-04-15T19:56:04Z ***********************
19:56:04:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
19:56:04:      Website: https://foldingathome.org/
19:56:04:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
19:56:04:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
19:56:04:         Args:
19:56:04:       Config: C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\config.xml
19:56:04:******************************** Build ********************************
19:56:04:      Version: 7.5.1
19:56:04:         Date: May 11 2018
19:56:04:         Time: 13:06:32
19:56:04:   Repository: Git
19:56:04:     Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
19:56:04:       Branch: master
19:56:04:     Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
19:56:04:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
19:56:04:     Platform: win32 10
19:56:04:         Bits: 32
19:56:04:         Mode: Release
19:56:04:******************************* System ********************************
19:56:04:          CPU: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU N2840 @ 2.16GHz
19:56:04:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 55 Stepping 8
19:56:04:         CPUs: 2
19:56:04:       Memory: 3.88GiB
19:56:04:  Free Memory: 2.91GiB
19:56:04:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
19:56:04:   OS Version: 6.2
19:56:04:  Has Battery: true
19:56:04:   On Battery: false
19:56:04:   UTC Offset: 1
19:56:04:          PID: 3420
19:56:04:          CWD: C:\WINDOWS\system32
19:56:04:           OS: Windows 10 Home
19:56:04:      OS Arch: AMD64
19:56:04:         GPUs: 0
19:56:04:         CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'nvcuda.dll': The
19:56:04:               specified module could not be found.
19:56:04:
19:56:04:Win32 Service: true
19:56:04:***********************************************************************
19:56:04:<config>
19:56:04:  <!-- Slot Control -->
19:56:04:  <power v='FULL'/>
19:56:04:
19:56:04:  <!-- User Information -->
19:56:04:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
19:56:04:  <user v='susanreads'/>
19:56:04:
19:56:04:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
19:56:04:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
19:56:04:    <paused v='true'/>
19:56:04:  </slot>
19:56:04:</config>
19:56:04:Trying to access database...
19:56:05:Successfully acquired database lock
19:56:05:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:2 (by user)
19:56:06:ERROR:Exception: Failed to register systray icon: Unspecified error
20:03:31:15:127.0.0.1:New Web connection
20:03:58:FS00:Unpaused
20:03:58:WU00:FS00:Starting
20:03:58:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 3420 -checkpoint 15 -np 2 -service
20:03:59:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 4860
20:03:59:WU00:FS00:Core PID:8604
20:03:59:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0xa7 started
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:*********************** Log Started 2020-04-15T20:04:01Z ***********************
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************** Gromacs Folding@home Core ***************************
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Type: 0xa7
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Core: Gromacs
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Args: -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 4860 -checkpoint 15 -np 2
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:             -service
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ CBang *************************************
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Oct 26 2019
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 01:38:35
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: c46a1a011a24143739ac7218c5a435f66777f62f
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ System ************************************
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CPU: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU N2840 @ 2.16GHz
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 55 Stepping 8
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       CPUs: 2
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Memory: 3.88GiB
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Free Memory: 1.05GiB
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7: OS Version: 6.2
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Has Battery: true
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7: On Battery: false
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7: UTC Offset: 1
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        PID: 8604
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CWD: C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\work
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:******************************** Build - libFAH ********************************
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Version: 0.0.18
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:  Copyright: 2019 foldingathome.org
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Oct 26 2019
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 01:52:44
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: c1e3513b1bc0c16013668f2173ee969e5995b38e
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ Build *************************************
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       SIMD: sse2
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:********************************************************************************
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Project: 13861 (Run 0, Clone 14414, Gen 62)
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Unit: 0x000000430d5a98395e730c4b63f3efad
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Digital signatures verified
20:04:02:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Calling: mdrun -s frame62.tpr -o frame62.trr -x frame62.xtc -e frame62.edr -cpi state.cpt -cpt 15 -nt 2
20:04:04:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Steps: first=7750000 total=125000
20:04:11:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 77371 out of 125000 steps (61%)
20:04:18:Saving configuration to config.xml
20:04:18:<config>
20:04:18:  <!-- Slot Control -->
20:04:18:  <power v='FULL'/>
20:04:18:
20:04:18:  <!-- User Information -->
20:04:18:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
20:04:18:  <user v='susanreads'/>
20:04:18:
20:04:18:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
20:04:18:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
20:04:18:</config>
20:05:30:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 77500 out of 125000 steps (62%)
20:16:24:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 78750 out of 125000 steps (63%)
20:25:39:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 80000 out of 125000 steps (64%)
20:35:04:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 81250 out of 125000 steps (65%)
20:44:32:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 82500 out of 125000 steps (66%)
20:56:05:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 83750 out of 125000 steps (67%)
21:08:48:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 85000 out of 125000 steps (68%)
21:21:15:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 86250 out of 125000 steps (69%)

Mod Edit: Added Code Tags - PantherX
susanreads
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:57 pm

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby Neil-B » Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:05 pm

Hi susanreads,

Just in passing … If you use the "full editor" next to the quick reply submit then click on the code button and paste logs between the two bracketed code statements that appear it will make it easier to read your logs by putting them in a scrollable window.

Hope someone manages to get this sorted for you :)
1: 2x Xeon E5-2697v3@2.60GHz, 512GB DDR4 LRDIMM, SSD Raid, Win10 Ent, Quadro K420 1GB, FAH 7.6.13
2: Xeon E3-1505Mv5@2.80GHz, 32GB DDR4, NVME, Win10 Pro, Quadro M1000M 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
3: i7-960@3.20GHz, 12GB DDR3, SSD, Win10 Pro, GTX 750Ti 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1410
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby PantherX » Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:54 pm

It seems that your folding using 2 CPUs on a portable device (which has a battery). When you restart the device, it will remember the last state of the CPU Slot. If you paused it before restarting it, it will be paused upon start. If your device changes from the main to battery it will also stop folding which is the default as folding is very CPU intensive which can lead to draining the battery very quickly.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby susanreads » Thu Apr 16, 2020 10:50 am

Thanks, PantherX (also for fixing the code above). Perhaps when I need to shut it down it would be better to let it think it crashed, that way it will restart automatically when I boot up rather than waiting till I get the Web Control loaded.

I didn't know I had 2 CPUs until I started running it as a service and CPU:2 appeared in the display!
susanreads
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:57 pm

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby Neil-B » Thu Apr 16, 2020 11:32 am

You may actually have a single CPU, with two cores or one core with "hyperthreading" … this would show as a CPU:2 count in the logs as this is the "thread/core" count for the CPU slot in question.

This may be more than you want but for example … I have 2x CPUs … Each has 14 cores … Each real core can run two threads … So I have 56 threads (or "virtual" cores) to use … I actually run two CPU folding slots - a 24 and a 32 - they show in my logs as CPU:24 and CPU:32 … I really wish I had 56 CPUs (not sure I could pay the electricity bill though) :D
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1410
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby susanreads » Thu Apr 16, 2020 11:50 am

Hi Neil-B. Thanks for telling me how to do the code (but PantherX got there first). How can I tell how many cores I've got, is it somewhere in system settings?
susanreads
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:57 pm

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby Neil-B » Thu Apr 16, 2020 11:56 am

You CPU is declared in the log (CPU: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU N2840 @ 2.16GHz) … Just checked and this is a single CPU with 2 real cores - it doesn't do hyperthreading … For the purpose of FAH it is simply a single "CPU slot" - the CPU:2 allows the FAH cores to schedule two channels of work at once and speeds up the process.
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1410
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby michelv » Sat Apr 18, 2020 2:00 pm

It is really happening to me as well. I have a limited user account, so install stuff as a privileged user. It appear H@H still uses the unsecure practise to download stuff in the program directory. Mind you, I have set a shared app data as the data dir, but still get permission issues. Also the error messages are incomplete "Failed to open 'cores/cores ... etc.' So is the install dir that the base, or the data directory?

Will this be updates with the new client I read things about?
michelv
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:22 am

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby PantherX » Sat Apr 18, 2020 2:12 pm

michelv wrote:... Also the error messages are incomplete "Failed to open 'cores/cores ... etc.' So is the install dir that the base, or the data directory?..

By default, the cores are downloaded to %AppData%\FAHClient

michelv wrote:...Will this be updates with the new client I read things about?

There were some changes done to the installation paths but I don't think it applies in this case. However, you can read about the details here: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=34466
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby dkmcf » Sat Apr 18, 2020 6:52 pm

PantherX directed me to this thread from another thread that I started, 'Cannot "Install for anyone using this computer" on Windows 7' ...

Wow. This is a very long & complex thread, starting with a set of complex & indefinite instructions, followed by attempts to dismiss this as a non-problem as well as offering maybe one or two other candidate solutions. What a mess. This just convinces me that it is not worth the bother for me to get F@H working for me.

This was my first experience with F@H or any volunteer distributed computing project, and it has been unpleasant enough to sour me on any such project going forward. Just as well. I always have a surplus of worthwhile projects clamoring for my talents & resources, and I need some way to choose among them, and you have just provided me an easy way to eliminate an entire class of projects from further consideration. And at this time F@H has a surplus of donors anyway. So I will just move on to other matters, and you all keep folding, and everyone is happy :).

Oh, I also sent Steve Gibson on Security Now! a message about problems with F@H and standard Windows accounts, in case he wants to inform his podcast listeners.
dkmcf
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 8:36 pm

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby Stel2112 » Sat Apr 18, 2020 11:59 pm

Yeah, it should really be a top priority to fix the installer. They don't seem to understand that the large majority of people do not have, and do not wish to have much technical ability. The large majority of windows users are just willing to:

1. Download installer
2. Run installer
3. Done (with no problems regardless of which account a user logs in on)

That's it. It is ALOT of potential workers that are being turned away. Very few percent of those having problems will even bother to setup an account and post here about their experience...they will just move on and forget about F@H.
Last edited by Stel2112 on Sun Apr 19, 2020 3:25 am, edited 2 times in total.
Stel2112
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:25 pm

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby Stel2112 » Sun Apr 19, 2020 2:47 am

I can verify that this problem still exists in FAH 7.6.9. Also, my GPU slot did not appear in this version. I uninstalled V7.5.1 and data before trying V7.6.9.

I did a default install on Windows 10 Pro from a standard user account (the installer asks for admin rights, which I gave it). This is the log when the client is run under the standard, non-admin account:

Code: Select all
PS C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient> .\fahclient
01:08:35:****************************** FAHClient ******************************
01:08:35:        Version: 7.6.9
01:08:35:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
01:08:35:      Copyright: 2020 foldingathome.org
01:08:35:       Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
01:08:35:           Date: Apr 17 2020
01:08:35:           Time: 11:13:06
01:08:35:       Revision: 398c2b17fa535e0cc6c9d10856b2154c32771646
01:08:35:         Branch: master
01:08:35:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
01:08:35:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
01:08:35:       Platform: win32 10
01:08:35:           Bits: 32
01:08:35:           Mode: Release
01:08:35:         Config: C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient\config.xml
01:08:35:******************************** CBang ********************************
01:08:35:           Date: Apr 17 2020
01:08:35:           Time: 11:10:09
01:08:35:       Revision: 2fb0be7809c5e45287a122ca5fbc15b5ae859a3b
01:08:35:         Branch: master
01:08:35:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
01:08:35:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
01:08:35:       Platform: win32 10
01:08:35:           Bits: 32
01:08:35:           Mode: Release
01:08:35:******************************* System ********************************
01:08:35:            CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600 Six-Core Processor
01:08:35:         CPU ID: AuthenticAMD Family 23 Model 8 Stepping 2
01:08:35:           CPUs: 12
01:08:35:         Memory: 15.96GiB
01:08:35:    Free Memory: 13.37GiB
01:08:35:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
01:08:35:     OS Version: 6.2
01:08:35:    Has Battery: false
01:08:35:     On Battery: false
01:08:35:     UTC Offset: -4
01:08:35:            PID: 3940
01:08:35:            CWD: C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient
01:08:35:             OS: Windows 10 Enterprise
01:08:35:        OS Arch: AMD64
01:08:35:           GPUs: 0
01:08:35:           CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'nvcuda.dll': The
01:08:35:                 specified module could not be found.
01:08:35:
01:08:35:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:41 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:2841.19
01:08:35:  Win32 Service: false
01:08:35:******************************* libFAH ********************************
01:08:35:           Date: Apr 15 2020
01:08:35:           Time: 14:53:14
01:08:35:       Revision: 216968bc7025029c841ed6e36e81a03a316890d3
01:08:35:         Branch: master
01:08:35:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
01:08:35:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
01:08:35:       Platform: win32 10
01:08:35:           Bits: 32
01:08:35:           Mode: Release
01:08:35:***********************************************************************
01:08:35:<config>
01:08:35:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
01:08:35:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
01:08:35:</config>
01:08:35:Trying to access database...
01:08:35:Successfully acquired database lock
01:08:35:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:11
01:08:35:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/avx/Core_a7.fah
01:08:35:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
01:08:36:WU00:FS00:FahCore a7: Downloading 6.71MiB
01:08:40:WU00:FS00:FahCore a7: Download complete
01:08:40:WU00:FS00:Valid core signature
01:08:40:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to open 'cores/cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/avx/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe': Failed to open 'cores/cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/avx/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe': Access is denied.
01:08:40:ERROR:WU00:FS00:: iostream stream error: Access is denied.
01:09:35:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/avx/Core_a7.fah
01:09:35:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
01:09:35:WU00:FS00:FahCore a7: Downloading 6.71MiB
01:09:38:WU00:FS00:FahCore a7: Download complete
01:09:39:WU00:FS00:Valid core signature
01:09:39:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to open 'cores/cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/avx/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe': Failed to open 'cores/cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/avx/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe': Access is denied.
01:09:39:ERROR:WU00:FS00:: iostream stream error: Access is denied.


Then I quit the client and changed permissions of the client folder 'C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient\' to give 'users' full control (and replaced permissions on sub folders/files), basically the same error occurs:

Code: Select all
PS C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient> .\fahclient
01:12:47:****************************** FAHClient ******************************
01:12:47:        Version: 7.6.9
01:12:47:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
01:12:47:      Copyright: 2020 foldingathome.org
01:12:47:       Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
01:12:47:           Date: Apr 17 2020
01:12:47:           Time: 11:13:06
01:12:47:       Revision: 398c2b17fa535e0cc6c9d10856b2154c32771646
01:12:47:         Branch: master
01:12:47:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
01:12:47:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
01:12:47:       Platform: win32 10
01:12:47:           Bits: 32
01:12:47:           Mode: Release
01:12:47:         Config: C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient\config.xml
01:12:47:******************************** CBang ********************************
01:12:47:           Date: Apr 17 2020
01:12:47:           Time: 11:10:09
01:12:47:       Revision: 2fb0be7809c5e45287a122ca5fbc15b5ae859a3b
01:12:47:         Branch: master
01:12:47:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
01:12:47:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
01:12:47:       Platform: win32 10
01:12:47:           Bits: 32
01:12:47:           Mode: Release
01:12:47:******************************* System ********************************
01:12:47:            CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600 Six-Core Processor
01:12:47:         CPU ID: AuthenticAMD Family 23 Model 8 Stepping 2
01:12:47:           CPUs: 12
01:12:47:         Memory: 15.96GiB
01:12:47:    Free Memory: 13.51GiB
01:12:47:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
01:12:47:     OS Version: 6.2
01:12:47:    Has Battery: false
01:12:47:     On Battery: false
01:12:47:     UTC Offset: -4
01:12:47:            PID: 11008
01:12:47:            CWD: C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient
01:12:47:             OS: Windows 10 Enterprise
01:12:47:        OS Arch: AMD64
01:12:47:           GPUs: 0
01:12:47:           CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'nvcuda.dll': The
01:12:47:                 specified module could not be found.
01:12:47:
01:12:47:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:41 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:2841.19
01:12:47:  Win32 Service: false
01:12:47:******************************* libFAH ********************************
01:12:47:           Date: Apr 15 2020
01:12:47:           Time: 14:53:14
01:12:47:       Revision: 216968bc7025029c841ed6e36e81a03a316890d3
01:12:47:         Branch: master
01:12:47:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
01:12:47:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
01:12:47:       Platform: win32 10
01:12:47:           Bits: 32
01:12:47:           Mode: Release
01:12:47:***********************************************************************
01:12:47:<config>
01:12:47:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
01:12:47:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
01:12:47:</config>
01:12:47:Trying to access database...
01:12:47:Successfully acquired database lock
01:12:47:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:11
01:12:47:ERROR:Exception: Failed to register systray icon: Unspecified error
01:12:47:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/avx/Core_a7.fah
01:12:47:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
01:12:48:WU00:FS00:FahCore a7: Downloading 6.71MiB
01:12:49:WU00:FS00:FahCore a7: Download complete
01:12:50:WU00:FS00:Valid core signature
01:12:50:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to open 'cores/cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/avx/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe': Failed to open 'cores/cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/avx/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe': Access is denied.
01:12:50:ERROR:WU00:FS00:: iostream stream error: Access is denied.


The fix in the first post works for V7.6.9, but the GPU slot was still missing...probably a separate bug according to other posts (GPU.txt missing?).

I reverted to V7.5.1 and reinstalled according to the first post in this thread and everything works fine.
Last edited by Stel2112 on Sun Apr 19, 2020 3:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Stel2112
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:25 pm

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby ateguartarix » Sun Apr 19, 2020 3:15 am

I could reproduce everything that Stel2112 mentionned (even for the GPU slot that will not appear on 7.6.9). I also quite agree that this needs a fix asap!
ateguartarix
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 3:12 am

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby PantherX » Sun Apr 19, 2020 3:21 am

Welcome to the F@H Forum ateguartarix,

Regarding the inability to add a GPU slot, I would suggest that you:
Manually download the GPUs.txt file from here: https://apps.foldingathome.org/GPUs.txt (right-click save as GPUs.txt)
Exit the client
Copy the GPUs.txt file from the Downloads folder to %AppData%\FAHClient
Reboot your system
Start up the client and ensure that you can see your GPU in the log file
Add a GPU slot from FAHControl -> Configure -> Slots tab -> Add -> GPU -> OK -> Save

Let us know if that works or not :)
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (F

Postby PantherX » Sun Apr 19, 2020 3:29 am

Stel2112 wrote:...I did a default install on Windows 10 Pro from a standard user account (the installer asks for admin rights, which I gave it). This is the log when the client is run under the standard, non-admin account...
01:08:35: Config: C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient\config.xml
...
01:08:35: CWD: C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient
...

There seems to be something different/unique about your setup. Compare your above two lines to mine:
04:59:12: Config: C:\Users\PantherX-H\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\config.xml
04:59:12: CWD: C:\Users\PantherX-H\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient

I did a fresh install on Windows 10 1909 64-bit and while I chose custom, I did not change any settings. It makes sense that your installation ran into issues because while the client is installed here:
C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient -> Restricted acces
All the downloads, uploads, processing, etc happens here:
C:\Users\PantherX-H\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient -> Normal access for the account
In your case, the upload, download, processing, etc is happening in the restricted access

Can you please start off by informing us how many user accounts you have on the system, how many of the user accounts are admin? If there's a way to reliably reproduce it, then we can raise an issue for the developer to investigate. I have a single account on my system.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

PreviousNext

Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron