VMWare appliance not connecting to client - web UI works.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

VMWare appliance not connecting to client - web UI works.

Postby ECJB » Mon Apr 20, 2020 1:31 am

Telnetting into the appliance connects, but all commands are met with "ERROR: Unknown command or variable 'xxx'"

Code: Select all
Welcome to the Folding@home Client command server.
> help
ERROR: unknown command or variable 'help'
> info
ERROR: unknown command or variable 'info'
> configured
ERROR: unknown command or variable 'configured'
> exit
Connection closed by foreign host.


I sshed into the appliance and the /etc/fahclient/config.xml looks like it should work as my 10.0.0.0/24 network is in the allow list, and I can connect on port 7396 via the browser.

I tried posting my config.xml (minus the passkey) and it wouldn't let me submit the post since I'm new here.

Any suggestions?
— Eric C. Berlin MIS
ECJB Computer Services LLC.

"I am who I say that I am, which is defined by what I believe, which is how I try to act." — ECJB.
User avatar
ECJB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 4:07 am
Location: Egg Harbor Township, NJ

Re: VMWare appliance not connecting to client - web UI works

Postby skillk01 » Mon Apr 20, 2020 2:57 pm

Hi Eric,
Did you set a password when you deployed the appliance, try removing the password set in FAH Advanced Control/FAH Control client and see if it connects. It will also use port 36330 to connect to the appliance in FAH Control which is different to the default web client port.
skillk01
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 7:52 am

Re: VMWare appliance not connecting to client - web UI works

Postby ECJB » Mon Apr 20, 2020 11:11 pm

The FAHClient does not connect to the appliance (as mentioned above). I had removed the connect password when it did work, but it no longer connects. The FAH instance in VMWare is running. I can SSH into the appliance, and can view the web page, but as above, telnet does not work, even though it connects.

Code: Select all
root@fah [ ~ ]# cat /etc/fahclient/config.xml
<config>
  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
  <client-type v=''/>

  <!-- HTTP Server -->
  <allow v='127.0.0.1 10.0.0.0/24'/>

  <!-- Network -->
  <proxy v=':8080'/>

  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
  <command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1 10.0.0.0/24'/>
  <password v=''/>

  <!-- Slot Control -->
  <power v='full'/>

  <!-- User Information -->
  <passkey v='--CENSORED--'/>
  <team v='223518'/>
  <user v='ECJB'/>

  <!-- Web Server -->
  <web-allow v='0.0.0.0/0'/>

  <!-- Folding Slots -->
  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
User avatar
ECJB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 4:07 am
Location: Egg Harbor Township, NJ

Re: VMWare appliance not connecting to client - web UI works

Postby skillk01 » Tue Apr 21, 2020 8:23 am

I tested telnet on my appliance which is connecting to FAH Control remotely without issue. I can connect via telnet to port 36330 and then I get the same behaviour as you with each command returning the message unknown command or variable. The fact it connects shows that the port is accessible though so the appliance is functioning.

My config file is similar to yours. I use a password for remote connections in FAH Control and on the appliance itself via the config file. Any changes to the config file require the service to be restarted on the appliance before they take effect. So if I remove the password in FAH Control I can still connect to the appliance remotely until the service restarts and the config file is read again. Here's my config file with sensitive information removed:
Code: Select all
cat /etc/fahclient/config.xml
<config>
  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
  <client-type v=""/>

  <!-- HTTP Server -->
  <allow v='127.0.0.1 0.0.0.0/0'/>

  <!-- Network -->
  <proxy v=':8080'/>

  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
  <password v='<password>'/>

  <!-- User Information -->
  <passkey v='<passkey>'/>
  <team v='<team>'/>
  <user v='<user>'/>

  <!-- Web Server -->
  <web-allow v='0.0.0.0/0'/>

  <!-- Folding Slots -->
  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
  </slot>
</config>
skillk01
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 7:52 am

Re: VMWare appliance not connecting to client - web UI works

Postby ECJB » Tue Apr 21, 2020 9:26 am

So does this mean that telnet to the remote FAHClient on 36330 doesn't work, only on localhost?

Nevermind. After connecting via SSH and issuing a 'reboot' now telnet works as expected and the FAHControl connects to the FAHClient.
User avatar
ECJB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 4:07 am
Location: Egg Harbor Township, NJ


Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron