Does F@H get greedy over time?

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby chrisw63 » Fri May 22, 2020 4:17 pm

I'm a pretty savvy computer type. When something goes wrong, I don't whine and yell at the PC, or call some (usually bogus) tech support. I fix it, or at least try to find out what's up myself. So when my computer started slowing down last week, I immediately brought up Task Manager and ProcExp64 to find out what was taking more processor time than it should. I should add I've been running F@H since the middle of March, so about 3 months.

FAHCore, which on "medium" usually idles around 40-50% CPU utilization on my i7-8700 and 30% GPU (GTX1080) was suddenly peaking just under 80% CPU and over 50% GPU (Each has one job assigned). Is this normal behavior? I'd hate to do it, but I cannot have my normal tasks slowing down that much, so I'd either have to run on Light all the time, giving up GPU jobs, or remove F@H altogether. I want to help out with this worthy project, but I paid for a decent amount of processor power for a reason. I don't mind having to manually slow F@H down on the rare occasion I need "all the cycles"™, but keyboard lag while typing is just ridiculous!

So, is this normal? Or can I do something to fix it?
chrisw63
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 3:17 pm

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby NRT_AntiKytherA » Fri May 22, 2020 4:37 pm

It's normal resource level usage, another option is to open the web interface and check the only fold when idle option rather than setting the client to Light. That way you get your PC resources back when you are using the machine and F@H can do what it likes when you are away from it.

In theory any program you open should get higher priority for available resources anyway as FAH has the lowest service priority by default, but in practise I have noticed some lagging of certain programs on my machines too. It is more noticeable on my Athlon 5350 system than the Ryzen 5 one.
NRT_AntiKytherA
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:50 am

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby bruce » Fri May 22, 2020 4:49 pm

What's normal is something different than what you expect.

Depending on your POWER setting in WebControl or how you configured your slots in FAHControl, one CPU thread will be assigned to move data to/from the GPU and the rest are up for grabs. FAH was originally designed to use all unused CPU resources, though you can choose a lower setting if you set POWER=Medium or some other reduced setting,

The CPU processing task (FAHCore_a7) uses a very low priority setting, so your foreground activites will demand a certain amount of processing and _a7 will immediately back off until your other task stops using those higher priority CPU resources. Personally, I see no reason not to use POWER = FULL except if fan noise bothers you. Let FAH be "greedy" because the tasks that you've assigned to those threads will get whatever resources they want off-the-top. You don't need to manually reconfigure FAH's use of the CPU.

Keyboard lag has noting to do with CPU resources and it can be a real drag. You can get keyboard lag from the GPU processing. A GPU doesn't adhere to OS priorities. It's either on or off / busy or idle. Forget the power slider and go to FAHControl. Configure you CPU slot to use N-1 threads. Configure your GPU slot to "on idle" and it will suspend FAH's GPU processing whenever you use the Mouse/Keyboard, resuming when you're not physically using the computer.
bruce
 
Posts: 19656
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby ajm » Fri May 22, 2020 4:50 pm

For the CPU, you can manually allocate the desired number of threads in Advanced Control, which you can access in the taskbar (right side, under "^"). Configure -> Slots -> CPU -> Edit -> Enter the number of threads (FAH call them CPU) in the upper part of the window, under "CPUs"-> OK -> Save.
If you chose a smaller number of threads than are presently allocated, FAH will adjust itself immediately. If you chose a higher number, it will adjust itself only for the next WU. WUs can always be crunched with less threads, but not all of them are defined to be crunched by a higher number of threads, that's why.
The CPU jobs (so called WUs) are running at the lowest priority setting, so that if you need your CPU for other applications, FAH will immediately stop and let you work. It is totally unobtrusive.

For the GPU, you can only either use it or not. And it will be close to 100%, whatever the Task Manager is showing by default. You can see the real utilization by clicking on "3D" and select "CUDA" (for Nvidia cards). This is not FAH's choice, but a technical contingency due to the GPU chip developers. For Nvidia GPUs, there also will be one CPU thread per GPU reserved for the GPU.
Also because of factors that FAH cannot control, the GPU is almost entirely devoted to its main task, which will be FAH if you run it, so that it can happen that your system becomes unresponsive at times (in fact, it's the monitor, that is your GPU, that's lagging, then, not your keyboard). If that happens and it disturbs you too much, you can just pause the GPU: Advanced Control -> right click on the GPU in the Folding Slots section -> Pause. Of course, you also can pause the whole thing (all slots at once) by clicking the Pause button. But you also can just disable the Hardware Acceleration in your browsers' settings - most of the time, it will be enough.
ajm
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 6:22 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby NRT_AntiKytherA » Fri May 22, 2020 7:58 pm

Keyboard lag has noting to do with CPU resources and it can be a real drag.


Maybe not on windows but on Ubuntu 20.04 (GNOME+Wayland) there's possibly an issue with CPU folding when other programs are running. I can certainly recreate input lag but also responsiveness of any open application is affected. My Ubuntu system is not using it's GPU component of the Athlon 5350 Quad Core (4C, 4T) APU to fold as the legacy radeon driver does not work with OpenCL. It's not shortage of RAM, it has 8GB which should be sufficient.

I DID have it folding with manjaro KDE and amdgpu which was installed with an 'experimental' support script for early GCN hardware and mesa OpenCL. It would fold in W10 too, I tried that as well but want to run hassle free Ubuntu LTS on the machine now until it dies, it will be 6 years old in a couple of months. I'm done with high maintenance rolling linux distributions or ones that need upgrading every 6 months. I don't like W10's feature update system either.
NRT_AntiKytherA
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:50 am

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby PantherX » Fri May 22, 2020 9:18 pm

Welcome to the F@H Forum chrisw63,

You do have a high-end GPU, GTX 1080 so I am surprised that you're encountering screen lag. I have a GTX 1080 Ti and haven't encountered any screen lag on a variety of applications that I run. May I ask what application specifically you're having an issue with? I am aware that when I use Adobe CC Products, there is a bit of slow-down (not screen lag) but that doesn't bother/impact me to pause folding.

Another option is to disable hardware acceleration which I have used in the past when using a medium-end GPU. Here are links to disable hardware acceleration:
Windows: https://www.thewindowsclub.com/hardware ... -windows-7
Microsoft Office: https://www.solveyourtech.com/how-to-di ... ffice-365/
Firefox: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ha ... inds-crash
Chrome: https://www.technize.net/google-chrome- ... eleration/
VLC: https://wiki.videolan.org/VLC_HowTo/Har ... eleration/
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6327
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby uyaem » Sat May 23, 2020 3:14 pm

PantherX wrote:I have a GTX 1080 Ti and haven't encountered any screen lag on a variety of applications that I run.

I've had the same, occasional input lag issue on my old PC (i7-2600K, 4 cores, 8 threads).
Keeping the GPU the same, I upgraded board, CPU and RAM, and have not encountered it since. I've also had to upgrade the NVidia drivers.
Bottom line, I don't think it's down to the GPU alone.
Image
CPU: Ryzen 9 3900X (1x21 CPUs) ~ GPU: nVidia GeForce GTX 1660 Super (Asus)
uyaem
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 8:35 pm
Location: Esslingen, Germany

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby bruce » Sat May 23, 2020 3:47 pm

There's one more possibility that we have not mentioned. (This may not apply to you.)

There have been some very large projects being assigned along with more "normal" ones. I had a situation called "thrashing" where all the programs that i had running concurrently were using far more RAM that I had in my computer, Every task would spill to virtual memory (on disk) in a round-robin fashion within the limitations of my paging file device. (I had two active GPU slots plus one CPU slot and one GPU task reported a working-set of 1.5 GB.) Ordinarily active programs can move to/from Virtual Memory without difficulty but I had just gone too far. I only noticed it because of keyboard lag since even the active components of Windows took longer than normal to page back into main RAM.

If you have a 5# bag of potatioes, you can probably manage 7# just fine, but don't try to carry 20# of potatoes all at once.
bruce
 
Posts: 19656
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby chrisw63 » Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:44 pm

Ugh.. I set CPU threads where I wanted it, looked at some other settings, and must have changed something I didn't intend to. Now I get an error dialog:
"On client "local" 127.0.0.1:36330: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
iter should be a GtkTreeIter"

Now the whole main panel of FAHControl is grayed out, and Configure has lost all it's tabs except Connection, so I can't even see the settings any more. Am I reinstalling?
chrisw63
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 3:17 pm

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby Joe_H » Thu Jun 11, 2020 3:30 pm

You may have a GPU that moved from supported to unsupported in the latest GPUs.txt file. The client automatically updates that about once a month. It appears a new bug exists in the latest version of the client and it does not handle that correctly.

Reinstalling after an Uninstall including data will fix this. A less extreme method involves carefully editing the config.xml file directly and rebooting or restarting the client.

If you want to try the second option, post the beginning section of the log file. Posts under the Welcome topic - viewtopic.php?f=61&t=26036 - give directions on how to navigate to the log file location and post it. We would just need the first 200 lines or so. In the same location is your config.xml file, could you post that after deleting your passkey from it. You may want to keep a copy of that if you choose to reinstall as a source to copy and paste your setup information from.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6442
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby chrisw63 » Thu Jun 11, 2020 5:16 pm

Sadly, the procedure to post the log file starts with clicking the Log tab on the Advanced Control. And I can't. Because it's grayed out.
https://imgur.com/a/IEQAuXS
chrisw63
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 3:17 pm

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby ajm » Thu Jun 11, 2020 5:34 pm

Just read on:

Method 2 (Windows 10, Windows 8, Windows 7)
Type %AppData%\FAHClient in Windows Explorer and hit Enter
A window will open which will contain F@H files and folders. Depending on your need, focus on:
A) log file -> This is the most recent log file
B) logs folder -> This contains the previous 16 log files
Double click on the appropriate log file to open it
Copy the contents of it
Go to the Full Editor in this Forum by clicking on; New Topic or Post Reply or Full Editor
Click the Code button
Within the code tags, paste the log
Click the Submit button to post your post. If you reach the 60,000 character limit, remove progress messages between 2% and 99% and/or split your log across multiple posts
ajm
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 6:22 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby chrisw63 » Fri Jun 12, 2020 2:16 am

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2020-06-11T11:51:08Z ***********************
11:51:08:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
11:51:08:        Website: https://foldingathome.org/
11:51:08:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
11:51:08:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
11:51:08:           Args:
11:51:08:         Config: C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\config.xml
11:51:08:******************************** Build ********************************
11:51:08:        Version: 7.5.1
11:51:08:           Date: May 11 2018
11:51:08:           Time: 13:06:32
11:51:08:     Repository: Git
11:51:08:       Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
11:51:08:         Branch: master
11:51:08:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
11:51:08:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
11:51:08:       Platform: win32 10
11:51:08:           Bits: 32
11:51:08:           Mode: Release
11:51:08:******************************* System ********************************
11:51:08:            CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz
11:51:08:         CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 10
11:51:08:           CPUs: 12
11:51:08:         Memory: 15.87GiB
11:51:08:    Free Memory: 13.53GiB
11:51:08:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
11:51:08:     OS Version: 6.2
11:51:08:    Has Battery: false
11:51:08:     On Battery: false
11:51:08:     UTC Offset: -4
11:51:08:            PID: 2884
11:51:08:            CWD: C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
11:51:08:             OS: Windows 10 Home
11:51:08:        OS Arch: AMD64
11:51:08:           GPUs: 1
11:51:08:          GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:8 GP104 [GeForce GTX 1080] 8873
11:51:08:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:10.1
11:51:08:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:432.0
11:51:08:OpenCL Device 1: Platform:1 Device:0 Bus:NA Slot:NA Compute:2.1 Driver:26.20
11:51:08:  Win32 Service: false
11:51:08:***********************************************************************
11:51:08:<config>
11:51:08:  <!-- Network -->
11:51:08:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
11:51:08:
11:51:08:  <!-- Slot Control -->
11:51:08:  <power v='light'/>
11:51:08:
11:51:08:  <!-- User Information -->
11:51:08:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
11:51:08:  <team v='223518'/>
11:51:08:  <user v='xxx'/>
11:51:08:
11:51:08:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
11:51:08:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
11:51:08:    <paused v='true'/>
11:51:08:  </slot>
11:51:08:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
11:51:08:    <paused v='true'/>
11:51:08:  </slot>
11:51:08:</config>
11:51:08:Trying to access database...
11:51:08:Successfully acquired database lock
11:51:08:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1080] 8873 (by user)
11:51:08:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:5 (by user)
13:28:58:8:127.0.0.1:New Web connection
13:29:06:FS01:Unpaused
13:29:06:FS00:Unpaused
13:29:45:Removing old file 'configs/config-20200526-003226.xml'
13:29:45:Saving configuration to config.xml
13:29:45:<config>
13:29:45:  <!-- Network -->
13:29:45:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
13:29:45:
13:29:45:  <!-- Slot Control -->
13:29:45:  <power v='MEDIUM'/>
13:29:45:
13:29:45:  <!-- User Information -->
13:29:45:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
13:29:45:  <team v='223518'/>
13:29:45:  <user v='xxx'/>
13:29:45:
13:29:45:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
13:29:45:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
13:29:45:    <idle v='true'/>
13:29:45:  </slot>
13:29:45:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
13:29:45:    <idle v='true'/>
13:29:45:  </slot>
13:29:45:</config>
13:35:57:Removing old file 'configs/config-20200526-023426.xml'
13:35:57:Saving configuration to config.xml
13:35:57:<config>
13:35:57:  <!-- Network -->
13:35:57:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
13:35:57:
13:35:57:  <!-- Slot Control -->
13:35:57:  <power v='MEDIUM'/>
13:35:57:
13:35:57:  <!-- User Information -->
13:35:57:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
13:35:57:  <team v='223518'/>
13:35:57:  <user v='xxx'/>
13:35:57:
13:35:57:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
13:35:57:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
13:35:57:    <idle v='true'/>
13:35:57:  </slot>
13:35:57:  <slot id='0' type='GPU'>
13:35:57:    <idle v='true'/>
13:35:57:  </slot>
13:35:57:</config>
13:36:52:Removing old file 'configs/config-20200526-151131.xml'
13:36:52:Saving configuration to config.xml
13:36:52:<config>
13:36:52:  <!-- Network -->
13:36:52:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
13:36:52:
13:36:52:  <!-- Slot Control -->
13:36:52:  <power v='MEDIUM'/>
13:36:52:
13:36:52:  <!-- User Information -->
13:36:52:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
13:36:52:  <team v='223518'/>
13:36:52:  <user v='xxx'/>
13:36:52:
13:36:52:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
13:36:52:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
13:36:52:    <idle v='true'/>
13:36:52:  </slot>
13:36:52:  <slot id='0' type='GPU'>
13:36:52:    <idle v='true'/>
13:36:52:  </slot>
13:36:52:</config>
13:43:11:WARNING:40:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990371&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:11:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:13:WARNING:41:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990373&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:13:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:14:WARNING:40:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990372&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:14:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:16:WARNING:41:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990374&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:16:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:17:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
13:43:17:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
13:43:17:WU00:FS01:Assigned to work server 13.82.98.119
13:43:17:WU00:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1080] 8873 from 13.82.98.119
13:43:17:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 13.82.98.119:8080
13:43:17:WU01:FS00:Assigned to work server 130.237.11.145
13:43:17:WU01:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot
13:43:17:ERROR:WU01:FS00:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:17:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
13:43:18:WARNING:45:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990381&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:18:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:18:WU01:FS00:Assigned to work server 143.89.243.111
13:43:18:WU01:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot
13:43:18:ERROR:WU01:FS00:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:19:WU00:FS01:Downloading 124.80MiB
13:43:20:WARNING:48:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990384&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:20:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:22:WARNING:48:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990385&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:22:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:23:WARNING:50:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990389&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:23:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:25:WU00:FS01:Download 18.53%
13:43:25:WARNING:51:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990391&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:25:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:26:WARNING:50:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990390&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:26:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:28:WARNING:51:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990392&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:28:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:30:WARNING:54:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990398&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:30:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:31:WU00:FS01:Download 36.26%
13:43:31:WARNING:50:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990393&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:31:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:33:WARNING:54:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990399&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:33:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:34:WARNING:55:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990400&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:34:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:36:WARNING:54:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990401&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:36:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:37:WU00:FS01:Download 53.08%
13:43:39:WARNING:58:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990406&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:39:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:41:WARNING:58:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990408&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:41:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:42:WARNING:61:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990412&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:42:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:43:WU00:FS01:Download 70.71%
13:43:44:WARNING:62:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990414&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:44:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:45:WARNING:61:127.0.0.1:500 HTTP INTERNAL SERVER ERROR /api/updates?_=1591882990413&sid=86c49e43c9d15a367ebe77014287341d: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:45:ERROR:HTTP_INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
13:43:49:WU00:FS01:Download 87.94%
13:43:53:WU00:FS01:Download complete
13:43:53:WU00:FS01:Received Unit: id:00 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:14417 run:0 clone:1640 gen:75 core:0x22 unit:0x0000007b0d5262775e84c8a4e3de1c55
13:43:53:WU00:FS01:Starting
13:43:53:WU00:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/Core_22.fah/FahCore_22.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 2884 -checkpoint 15 -gpu-vendor nvidia -opencl-platform 0 -opencl-device 0 -cuda-device 0 -gpu 0
chrisw63
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 3:17 pm

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby Joe_H » Fri Jun 12, 2020 3:15 am

Different bug than what I was thinking of as it was more recent, your system at some point downloaded a GPUs.txt file that enabled a folding slot for the iGPU on your Intel processor. Entries for some Intel iGPUs were formatted incorrectly when added, a later update to the file fixed the entries.

The log shows the client has removed the CPU folding slot and converted it to GPU:
Code: Select all
 11:51:08:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
11:51:08:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
11:51:08:    <paused v='true'/>
11:51:08:  </slot>
11:51:08:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
11:51:08:    <paused v='true'/>
11:51:08:  </slot>
11:51:08:</config>
...


13:36:52:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
13:36:52:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
13:36:52:    <idle v='true'/>
13:36:52:  </slot>
13:36:52:  <slot id='0' type='GPU'>
13:36:52:    <idle v='true'/>
13:36:52:  </slot>
13:36:52:</config>


The easiest way probably to get this fixed would be to do an uninstall along with the data and then reinstall. Keep a copy of the config.xml file for easy copying and pasting of setup information such as username, team and passkey.

You might be able to fix this by removing the current GPUs.txt file from the same directory as the log files, and editing the config.xml file in the location, then rebooting. This is a bit more involved. The lines to remove would be:
Code: Select all
  <slot id='0' type='GPU'>
    <idle v='true'/>
  </slot>


The client should download a copy of the current GPUs.txt file, you will need to add the CPU slot back manually.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6442
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Does F@H get greedy over time?

Postby chrisw63 » Fri Jun 12, 2020 4:19 am

Thanks for the help.. I'll do the reinstall just to be safe. Is the GPU thing what caused the tabs to disappear on the FAHControl window? That's a very odd thing - kinda removes the only way to fix it without editing stuff manually.
chrisw63
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 3:17 pm

Next

Return to V7.5.1 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron