Page 1 of 1

Problem with FAHControl connecting to remote system

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 4:52 am
by drogue91
I am running Folding@home v7.5.1 on two Windows 10 systems. FAHControl will connect to the remote system when I have a remote desktop session to that system, but it grays out and says Updating if I log out of the remote desktop. Any ideas about what to check?

Re: Problem with FAHControl connecting to remote system

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 7:32 am
by bruce
You didn't specify Windows, but it's probably what you're running. FAH needs to stay logged on.

Microsoft recognizes that you GPU is directly associated with you ... the user that is displaying their desktop. (That's not a requirement on Linux.)

A WU that can be processed by your CPU can run as a service but the computer needs to continue to run. No progress can be made if your system is sleeping or otherwise not running. That means you'll need to disable most power saving features.

Re: Problem with FAHControl connecting to remote system

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 9:48 am
by ajm
It will work fine if your distant machine is logged in with the same Microsoft account that you use for all your kits (locally and via remote desktop).
Then you just disconnect the remote desktop when you don't use it and FAH keeps the connection active.

Re: Problem with FAHControl connecting to remote system

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 12:52 pm
by gunnarre
My experience is that Windows 10 will start folding a WU on the GPU when you're logged into remote desktop, and keep folding that WU after you disconnect, but after completing that WU it won't start a new WU until you connect again via Remote Desktop.

The way to solve this problem is to log in physically and then use something else than Remote Desktop (e.g. some kind of VNC service) to use the machine remotely. Or, stay logged in to it constantly with Remote Desktop.

Re: Problem with FAHControl connecting to remote system

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2021 1:14 am
by bruce
In support of gunnarre's comment, I've seen Microsoft's Remote Desktop do some funny things substituting different GPU drivers when it connects and disconnects. For this reason, it might not be the best tool to use.