Configuration issue -- Connection lost

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
hymie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2021 2:00 pm

Configuration issue -- Connection lost

Post by hymie »

Greetings.

I have two problems, and I don't know if they're related or not.

I'm running on Linux, and I just updated from 7.5.1 to 7.6.21.

Primary problem:

Every time I use FAHControl to try to change my configuration, the change does not take place. I get this error:
Connection lost
ERROR on connection to 127.0.0.1:36330: Lost connection
...and my configuration remains unchanged.

Secondary problem

Even though I just updated to 7.6.21 , when I run FAHControl and click "About", it still says
Version 7.5.1
Copyright 2010-2018
...so I'm not sure if my software is correct.

My configuration looks like this:

Code: Select all

<config>
  <!-- HTTP Server -->
  <allow v='127.0.0.1 192.168.42.0/24'/>

  <!-- Network -->
  <proxy v=':8080'/>

  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
  <command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1 192.168.42.0/24'/>
  <password v=''/>

  <!-- User Information -->
  <passkey v='redacted'/>
  <user v='hymie!'/>

  <!-- Folding Slots -->
  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
    <cpus v='2'/>
  </slot>

</config>
...and I don't see anything that is missing or incorrect.

Can somebody give me a push?
bruce
Posts: 20910
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Configuration issue -- Connection lost

Post by bruce »

About 50 lines from the top of FAHClient.log, there's a line that reads with CWD:(URL)

Your FAHClient may have two different sets of working files. (Unfortunately, that's not shown when you just post your config.)
hymie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2021 2:00 pm

Re: Configuration issue -- Connection lost

Post by hymie »

12:18:27: CWD: /home/hymie/FoldingAtHome

This is indeed the directory where my config.xml file is.

Code: Select all

*********************** Log Started 2021-04-06T12:18:27Z ***********************
12:18:27:******************************* libFAH ********************************
12:18:27:       Date: Oct 20 2020
12:18:27:       Time: 20:36:41
12:18:27:   Revision: 5ca109d295a6245e2a2f590b3d0085ad5e567aeb
12:18:27:     Branch: master
12:18:27:   Compiler: GNU 4.9.4
12:18:27:    Options: -std=c++11 -fsigned-char -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -O3
12:18:27:             -funroll-loops
12:18:27:   Platform: linux2 5.8.0-1-amd64
12:18:27:       Bits: 64
12:18:27:       Mode: Release
12:18:27:****************************** FAHClient ******************************
12:18:27:    Version: 7.6.21
12:18:27:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
12:18:27:  Copyright: 2020 foldingathome.org
12:18:27:   Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
12:18:27:       Date: Oct 20 2020
12:18:27:       Time: 20:38:59
12:18:27:   Revision: 6efbf0e138e22d3963e6a291f78dcb9c6422a278
12:18:27:     Branch: master
12:18:27:   Compiler: GNU 4.9.4
12:18:27:    Options: -std=c++11 -fsigned-char -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -O3
12:18:27:             -funroll-loops
12:18:27:   Platform: linux2 5.8.0-1-amd64
12:18:27:       Bits: 64
12:18:27:       Mode: Release
12:18:27:******************************** CBang ********************************
12:18:27:       Date: Oct 20 2020
12:18:27:       Time: 18:38:01
12:18:27:   Revision: 7e4ce85225d7eaeb775e87c31740181ca603de60
12:18:27:     Branch: master
12:18:27:   Compiler: GNU 4.9.4
12:18:27:    Options: -std=c++11 -fsigned-char -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -O3
12:18:27:             -funroll-loops -fPIC
12:18:27:   Platform: linux2 5.8.0-1-amd64
12:18:27:       Bits: 64
12:18:27:       Mode: Release
12:18:27:******************************* System ********************************
12:18:27:        CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz
12:18:27:     CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 126 Stepping 5
12:18:27:       CPUs: 8
12:18:27:     Memory: 7.46GiB
12:18:27:Free Memory: 641.29MiB
12:18:27:    Threads: POSIX_THREADS
12:18:27: OS Version: 5.11
12:18:27:Has Battery: true
12:18:27: On Battery: false
12:18:27: UTC Offset: -4
12:18:27:        PID: 7146
12:18:27:        CWD: /home/hymie/FoldingAtHome
12:18:27:         OS: Linux 5.11.6 x86_64
12:18:27:    OS Arch: AMD64
12:18:27:       GPUs: 0
12:18:27:       CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'libcuda.so':
12:18:27:             libcuda.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or
12:18:27:             directory
12:18:27:     OpenCL: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'libOpenCL.so':
12:18:27:             libOpenCL.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or
12:18:27:             directory
12:18:27:***********************************************************************
Whompithian
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 12:40 am

Re: Configuration issue -- Connection lost

Post by Whompithian »

Did you update both FAHClient and FAHControl? Newer versions of FAH have split those into separate install packages on Linux. I recommend explicitly uninstalling the old version before installing the new version, rather than trying to upgrade. Also, the new client may require that the `proxy` parameter specify the host explicitly.
hymie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2021 2:00 pm

Re: Configuration issue -- Connection lost

Post by hymie »

I did update all three -- FAHClient, FAHControl, FAHViewer. Just now, I did a complete uninstall and reinstall of all three packages, and I still have the same problems (FAHControl calls itself 7.5.1 , "Connection Lost" when I try to configure).

For the version number, I checked (what I think is) the file with the FAHControl version number /usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/fah/Version.py , and that file says

Code: Select all

version = '7.6.21'
The proxy is disabled and not in use for anything, but I did discover something. In FAHControl, I can turn on and off the proxy setting, and even though I still get the "Connection Lost" message, the configuration option is in fact changed and saved. In fact, it turns out that the only option I can't seem to change is the exact one I want to change, which is "The number of CPU threads this slot should use."

So the problem is more targeted than just "Unable to configure" , I'm apparently unable to configure this certain specific option.
bruce
Posts: 20910
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Configuration issue -- Connection lost

Post by bruce »

I generally ignore "connection lost" messages. Most of the time I don't find them useful.

Are you trying to INCREASE the number of threads or decrease the number. e.g.- are you able to decrease the number but not increase it above some maximum that's hidden from view?
hymie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2021 2:00 pm

Re: Configuration issue -- Connection lost

Post by hymie »

I cannot change the value at all. I cannot increase it or decrease it. I can open the "slot" option and change the number in the box, but as soon as I hit the "Save" button, the value reverts back to its original number.

I can change it manually by stopping FAHClient, editing the config.xml file, and restarting the FAHClient, but not with FAHControl.
bruce
Posts: 20910
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Configuration issue -- Connection lost

Post by bruce »

One possibility: The code that validates that your desired number of threads is acceptable has gone through many changes and may be blocking the value(s) you've been trying to set. What number is being used and which alternatives have you tried?
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7856
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2
Location: W. MA

Re: Configuration issue -- Connection lost

Post by Joe_H »

It has been a while since I ran a Linux install, but the CWD: location does't look to be the default installation location. Did you specify a location other than the default?

Also check to see if you have two separate installs of the client software, and if both of them are running different versions of FAHClient in the background.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
hymie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2021 2:00 pm

Re: Configuration issue -- Connection lost

Post by hymie »

OK ....

The software is installed in the default location /usr/bin .

Code: Select all

% ls -ld /usr/bin/F*
8420 -rwxrwxr-x 1 root root 8621256 Oct 20 16:39 /usr/bin/FAHClient*
   4 -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root    2438 Oct 20 16:36 /usr/bin/FAHControl*
 760 -rwxrwxr-x 1 root root  776136 Oct 20 16:39 /usr/bin/FAHCoreWrapper*
The values I am trying to enter for the CPU are variously -1 (let the software decide for itself), 1, 2, and 4.

I do not have two separate installations. I completely uninstalled 7.5.1 and installed 7.6.21
Post Reply