Folding@Home Client Control Android App

This forum contains information about 3rd party applications which may be of use to those who run the FAH client and one place where you might be able to get help when using one of those apps.

Moderator: Site Moderators

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby gs60 » Wed Nov 11, 2020 11:57 pm

I think it may be that the new version has tightened up the timeouts used for tcp/ip events. I've heard it caused issues with the netbsd tc/ip stack.
gs60
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2020 1:33 pm

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby WatsOnTV » Wed Nov 11, 2020 11:57 pm

Ok thanks for the tip!
WatsOnTV
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 1:29 pm

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby ajgringo619 » Tue Nov 17, 2020 5:51 am

Just tried the app this evening. Can't get past the grey box, unfortunately. Does it seem to matter if there's a password on the connection? I've tried it with/without, no change. The search always finds my PC, so I know that the initial connection is being made. But I'm not seeing anything in reference to the connection in the logs (should there be something?).
Mint 20 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-54-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
GTX 1070 w/8GB RAM [Folding]
GTX 1050Ti w/4GB RAM [Nvidia v455.38]
ajgringo619
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:14 am

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby WatsOnTV » Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:17 am

Did you by any chance remove the first slot (ID 00) from the client? My app incorrectly assumes there will always be a slot 00.
WatsOnTV
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 1:29 pm

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby ajgringo619 » Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:26 am

WatsOnTV wrote:Did you by any chance remove the first slot (ID 00) from the client? My app incorrectly assumes there will always be a slot 00.

Actually, I did. It was the CPU slot; didn't need it once I added the 2nd GPU (ran too hot anyway).
Is there a workaround? I'll be your guinea pig, if you need one.
ajgringo619
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:14 am

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby WatsOnTV » Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:36 am

I've had this issue with a few people actually! You can simple remove your GPU slot and add it again, that will change the ID to 00 :)
WatsOnTV
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 1:29 pm

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby ajgringo619 » Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:40 am

I love easy fixes - thanks a bunch!
ajgringo619
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:14 am

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby ajgringo619 » Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:50 am

Hmmm...it's almost working. Both of my GPUs are displaying, but the information is (partially) backwards. My GTX 1070 is on slot #0, the GTX 1050 on slot #1. The data is being displayed correctly, but the names of each slot have been reversed. When I did as you requested above, I deleted the 1070 (was in slot #2) and it was reconfigured as slot #0. I think I'll try removing them both in the morning and seeing what happens.

UPDATE: success! Thanks again.
ajgringo619
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:14 am

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby WatsOnTV » Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:20 am

Hi again everyone! I've just pushed an update to the play store (should be live in a few hours or so) which should address some issues some users were having (e.g. issues when CPU gets deleted, clients being deleted on search) and a cool little animation when adding a new connection.
WatsOnTV
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 1:29 pm

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby Hopfgeist » Thu Nov 26, 2020 7:24 pm

Just tried the app today, and it works nicely. Found all clients in my local network, and adding the three external ones worked really well. Thanks a lot, it is a great help in keeping track of my folding clients from the living room.

I have a couple of suggestions, if I may be so bold.

  • Can you add a totaliser, estimating total PPD for all clients?
  • Could you add additional sort criteria, e. g. ETA, PPD, ...
  • Is it possible to add a list view instead of the tiles view? Maybe with configurable columns? Name, %progress, TPF, ETA, PPD or something like that?
  • Can you add the name of the currently running core variant?

These are just humble suggestions, that I personally would like to see, but even as it is I find it very useful already. Thanks again! :D

Cheers,
HG.
Image
Sun Fire X2270 M2: 2x Xeon X5675
Hopfgeist
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:07 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby WatsOnTV » Thu Nov 26, 2020 8:18 pm

Great suggestions! I've already got plans for the total PPD and different sort functions, but I hadn't even thought of list views. Not too hard either! However, I don't think I understand your fourth suggestion. Mind elaborating?
WatsOnTV
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 1:29 pm

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby Hopfgeist » Thu Nov 26, 2020 11:38 pm

WatsOnTV wrote:Great suggestions! I've already got plans for the total PPD and different sort functions, but I hadn't even thought of list views. Not too hard either! However, I don't think I understand your fourth suggestion. Mind elaborating?

Thanks for responding so quickly. Looking forward to any developments.

The fourth point is about showing whether CPUs are running an a7 or an a8 core. E. g. FAHControl shows "FahCore: 0xa7"

I have some systems where the PPD difference is significant between those cores, and that would let me see quickly if a low PPD value is because of the "slower" core work units, or if there's something else slowing it down. But it's not hugely important, I just thought it might be easy.

Cheers,
HG.
Hopfgeist
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:07 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Folding@Home Client Control Android App

Postby WatsOnTV » Fri Nov 27, 2020 12:00 am

Ah, I understand! That's pretty easy to do. Keep an eye out for the update!

Thanks for your suggestions :)
WatsOnTV
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 1:29 pm

Previous

Return to 3rd party contributed software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron