FahSpy (monitoring tool)

This forum contains information about 3rd party applications which may be of use to those who run the FAH client and one place where you might be able to get help when using one of those apps.

Moderator: Site Moderators

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby RipD » Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:11 am

Nice program. A couple of problems I have found:

1. The Issued date is often incorrect, and is always incorrect on one of my PCs. I'm running 4 WUs now that FahSpy shows will not complete before the preferred deadline, when in fact they all will. For example, one WU was downloaded 2 days ago and will complete on time. FahSpy shows that the WU was downloaded 5 days ago and has already missed it's deadline. I'm using FahMon as a reference for the correct start dates.

2. Columns don't sort for me. I click on the column headers and they indicate that the sort order is changing, but it never does.
Image
RipD
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 2:34 am

Monitoring Question

Postby Mr. Scary » Thu Jul 24, 2008 9:07 pm

I'm using fahspy to monitor 2 smp's and 2 gpu's on a rig. my question is does anyone know what it means when you 'name & team#' are in red??

tx

M$
Mr. Scary
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 7:13 pm

Re: Monitoring Question

Postby Behc » Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:06 am

RipD wrote:1. The Issued date is often incorrect...

FahSpy takes the date from unitinfo.txt. Maybe in the file incorrect information? Or wrong time and date on the computer.

Mr. Scary wrote:I'm using fahspy to monitor 2 smp's and 2 gpu's on a rig. my question is does anyone know what it means when you 'name & team#' are in red??
tx
M$

Go to "Setting"--->"User,team" and write you user name and team number.
The user name and number of red once they are not identical in client.cfg and Setting.
Member of TSC! Russia team (TeamNumber 47191)

Image
Behc
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:58 am

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby PTRMAN » Sun Nov 02, 2008 2:04 pm

Just found this tool recently - very good! Thanks.

What does it mean by Assembly Optimizations Turned Off?
PTRMAN
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:43 am

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby SantaFe » Sun Nov 02, 2008 5:03 pm

I like this, however it always runs for awhile, then I get the "FAHSPY has encountered an error and has to stop" error. :(
Aren't you glad you use http://foldingforum.org! Don't you wish Everybody did? :D
User avatar
SantaFe
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: In The Freightyard.

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby Hoppycat » Mon Nov 03, 2008 5:56 am

Hi all,

I have just changed my team designation from Australia (186) to the Jmol team (44383) in the middle of doing a work unit, and i'm wondering why the user/teamname in Fahspy has turned red. I have checked my 5.03 client, and the new team number inside the client and also inside Fahspy is correctly set.

Can anyone tell me why the user/teamname is bolded and in red please.

Thanks.
Hoppycat
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 5:09 am

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby Russ_64 » Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:47 am

Great application - I work in a Windows only environment and this software works great with Windows shares. The detail provided is perfect for monitoring multiple machines and VM's.

Thanks.
ImageImage
User avatar
Russ_64
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:31 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby Behc » Mon Nov 24, 2008 11:10 am

Hoppycat wrote:Hi all,
Can anyone tell me why the user/teamname is bolded and in red please.
Thanks.

You username and team number on client.cfg and FahSpy setting it's different.
Behc
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:58 am

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby Russ_64 » Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:40 pm

I have one question: if I use FahSpy to change the config file - extraparms= and save the change it sometimes shows the changes as saved but after the client starts a new WU it goes back to the original setting again (this is only happening on 2 out of 5 configs)?
User avatar
Russ_64
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:31 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby smoking2000 » Wed Nov 26, 2008 4:07 pm

If the values written to the client.cfg are overridden by the FAH client, this means that the client.cfg content did not follow the rules, see:
http://fahwiki.net/index.php/Client.cfg
http://fahwiki.net/index.php/FAH6_Client.cfg
Editing the client.cfg

The client.cfg file is not a text file in a regular sense, it's actually a UNIX text file which the client reads as a binary as mentioned above. It should therefore also be treated as a binary file.

DO NOT manually modify the client.cfg. Make all changes using the FAH client configuration. (see -config and -configonly flags). Manual modification of any F@h client files is against the EULA. And as noted above, if you make a mistake, it can cause points for completed work to be credited to a user name other than yours.

Here is what Dick Howell, the author of qd, and Adam Beberg, the author of Cosm, had to say about the client.cfg:
Code: Select all
The client.cfg file is not really a text. It is managed by the Cosm package, which is used
by the client as an aid to machine-independence. You've got the right idea with the
newlines. The routines which handle the config file are fairly picky about the format,
expecting that it will only be manipulated by the client itself, when it is first started
or later run with the -config flag. Here is what Adam Beberg, who wrote Cosm, says about
it in the header file for the config file functions:

 The Rules:
  o These are binary files, not text. You're not supposed to have to edit them.
  o Config files contain ascii, not unicode.
  o No linefeeds (\n) in section/keys/values - those are line separators.
  o No '=' or '[' in keys, and avoid ']'.
  o Everything is case sensitive.
  o Blank lines are ignored, but added at the end of sections for humans.
  o Any improperly formatted line is discarded.
  o Comment lines don't exist, that's what documentation is for.
  o The majority of cases the config will only be read, so optimize for reading.

See also: Cosm API - Program Config File Functions
User avatar
smoking2000
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:20 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby Behc » Thu Feb 05, 2009 8:10 am

We have a problem with the site fahspy.com (cybersquatting). :evil:

Version 1.5.0 is available here: http://depositfiles.com/en/files/fwgogwfzk
Behc
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:58 am

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby paramonks » Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:20 pm

Hello

Thank you, I was wondering what was going on. :)

paramonks
paramonks
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 6:44 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby bollix47 » Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:36 am

Question:
I'm sure that a client is running, but FahSpy displays the "Stopped" status on Linux/FreeBSD/*nix.
Answer:
FahSpy detects the "Running" status of a client by looking for a file lock "FAHlog.txt". On some OSes, the files are not locked during processing, due to the way the cores are handled.
In the latest version experimental support for these systems was added.

I have two clients that show as being "stopped". The other info is correct and does update properly. The only thing that is annoying is the Total PPD does not include these "stopped" clients.

You mention "experimental support" in your Q&A. Is this automatically working in 1.5 or does it require some kind of command line switch?

The two clients in question are both GPU clients running on Linux Ubuntu 8.04. The SMP clients on the same computers do show as "running".

Thanks for this program and any help you can offer for the above "problem".
Image
bollix47
 
Posts: 3404
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby MtM » Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:54 am

Angel666 I notice you had an issue where you're breaking eula, I can help you if you want, but only with local console clients right now. I'm working on an installer/monitor/manager and can use the clients functionality to configure them through a gui, it's entirely according to eula since it does not alter client files directly. The part I am working on is better monitoring/logging of stats and improving the installer, but the part used to configure clients I know is 100% stable.

It's also already in .net ( though in vb.net idk what your used language is ).

I also have a queue.dat parsing class based on smokings wiki documentation I'm willing to share with you so you can use it for fahspy and don't have to rely on unitinfo.txt.

Pm or email me if interested, I treid to make contact directly but you don't have a site/home for fahspy that I can find.
MtM
 
Posts: 3233
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:20 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby brityank » Tue May 12, 2009 6:00 am

Behc wrote:We have a problem with the site fahspy.com (cybersquatting). :evil:

Version 1.5.0 is available here: http://depositfiles.com/en/files/fwgogwfzk

Thanks; I just dropped a note on the Tools List to get the false link removed - no sense sending others down the merry garden path. 8-)
... ... Free Republic Folders - A Tribute to Ronald Reagan ... ...
Image
User avatar
brityank
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: SE Pennsylvania

PreviousNext

Return to 3rd party contributed software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron