FahSpy (monitoring tool)

This forum contains information about 3rd party applications which may be of use to those who run the FAH client and one place where you might be able to get help when using one of those apps.

Moderator: Site Moderators

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby gigagiggles » Sat Feb 06, 2010 5:28 am

Two smp clients on separate pc's downloaded last night reported predicted finish of yesterday morning. After midnight, both FahSpys corrected the predictions and the bonus calculations were implemented.
gigagiggles
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 10:07 am

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby shdbcamping » Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:34 am

ChelseaOilman wrote:
shdbcamping wrote:Does this calculate the A3's yet?

Your answer is a couple posts back in this thread. :wink:
viewtopic.php?p=125962#p125962

THNX :oops: ,

I don't have as much time as I used to to follow whole threads.
Sean
shdbcamping
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 7:57 am

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby globalist » Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:17 pm

Hi, i just ran FahSpy for the first time, added my win smp2 client folder, but it says Stopped... also I can see the FAHlog.txt it is parsing is from the 26th of February!

These are the last few lines:

[23:02:32] Working on queue slot 05 [February 26 23:02:32 UTC]
[23:02:32] + Working ...
[23:02:37] CoreStatus = 74 (116)
[23:02:37] The core could not find the work files specified. Removing from queue
[23:02:37] Deleting current work unit & continuing...
[23:02:41] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[23:02:41] Cleaning up work directory
[23:02:41] + Attempting to get work packet
[23:02:41] Passkey found
[23:02:41] - Connecting to assignment server
[23:02:42] - Successful: assigned to (130.237.232.140).
[23:02:42] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[23:02:42] Loaded queue successfully.

Folding@Home Client Shutdown at user request.

Folding@Home Client Shutdown.





Now apparently this is the wrong fahlog file and I have no idea where Fahspy dug it up. I then deleted fahlog.txt from c:\Program Files (x86)\Folding@Home Windows SMP Client V1.01\ just to make sure but it didn't make any difference.

Can you advise what's going on here? Many thanks!
globalist
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:56 pm

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby nyerf » Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:02 am

Check to make sure that's the folder that your client is running out of, I always move mine to something simple like C:\FAH\SMP because I have at least 3 clients on each of my machines and it keeps it organized. But just move all of the files from the folder in program files over to a new directory and launch your client from there and point FAHSpy to it and you should be good
Image
Image
nyerf
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:22 am

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby Fe[R]gity » Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:59 pm

We have a feature with new version of FahCore_15.exe and FahSpy.
New core writes to FAHlog.txt following strings:
Code: Select all
[05:01:24] Completed 74% ( 36999999 steps out of 50000000)
[05:02:15] Completed 75% ( 37499999 steps out of 50000000)
[05:03:06] Completed 76% ( 37999999 steps out of 50000000)
[05:03:57] Completed 77% ( 38499999 steps out of 50000000)
[05:04:49] Completed 78% ( 38999999 steps out of 50000000)
[05:05:40] Completed 79% ( 39499999 steps out of 50000000)
[05:06:31] Completed 80% ( 39999999 steps out of 50000000)
There wasn't ( 37999999 steps out of 50000000) earlier and FahSpy can't recognize log :(

If this feature will stay permanent for some days (if friedrim will not compile another version in short time) I'll contact to fahspy's author.
He is busy guy who doesn't fold now, so we need really important (like bonus system was) reason to disturb him :ewink:

I'll inform you if any changes happen
Then you'll see, tears won't wash this away
Memories of the years that started the pain.
Fe[R]gity
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:22 pm
Location: Russia. MPC Team.

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby Tobit » Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:29 pm

Fe[R]gity wrote:If this feature will stay permanent for some days (if friedrim will not compile another version in short time) I'll contact to fahspy's author.
He is busy guy who doesn't fold now, so we need really important (like bonus system was) reason to disturb him :ewink:

I was just talking with friedrim about this actually and, although the stepping will be staying permanently in the core, I've convinced him to change the format so it is the same as the CPU cores output. This will, therefore, fix this issue with FahSpy since it has no issues at all with the CPU output. It will be included in the next release of the core but not sure when that will be.
User avatar
Tobit
 
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 2:35 pm
Location: Manchester, NH USA

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby new08 » Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:09 am

Has anyone noticed the update data coming in wrong on FSpy? Project 11289 is coming in - should be 10200.
See top columns/ r.h. box Clone shows up rightly as 0-9105-0 on both boxes!
Image
It has corrected once to 10200 and shown >100ppd ,which is right- but by some means has now slipped back to its old ways and coming ip with 15ppd. This almost had me shutting down work initially as so poor a result- till I got the right update for a time.
Maybe it won't affect the allocation of points , or more important- the validity of the work result.
Other units have also been flagged up over a few days in error on this job.
Not sure if this is a FSpy problem -or trouble back at the servers.
Image
User avatar
new08
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:02 pm
Location: England

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby Fe[R]gity » Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:12 pm

FahSpy sometimes shows wrong info, when the current project doesn't exist in http://fah-web.stanford.edu/psummaryC.html

Check this thread for information about p10200
Fe[R]gity
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:22 pm
Location: Russia. MPC Team.

Re: FahSpy (monitoring tool)

Postby bruce » Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:03 pm

new08 wrote:Maybe it won't affect the allocation of points , or more important- the validity of the work result.
Other units have also been flagged up over a few days in error on this job.
Not sure if this is a FSpy problem -or trouble back at the servers.
The allocation of points will not be affected nor will the validity of the results. I think you've forgotten that you're looking at a monitoring program. It does not change the data that FAH uploads to it's servers. It makes a prediction about how many points you'll get (you might call it an "educated guess") but the servers are going to assign you the same points whether FahSpy is running or not ... and whether FahSpy makes an accurate prediction or an inaccurate one.
bruce
 
Posts: 21342
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Previous

Return to 3rd party contributed software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron