qd update broken?

This forum contains information about 3rd party applications which may be of use to those who run the FAH client and one place where you might be able to get help when using one of those apps.

Moderator: Site Moderators

Post Reply
parkut
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:33 am
Hardware configuration: Running exclusively Linux headless blades. All are dedicated crunching machines.
Location: SE Michigan, USA

qd update broken?

Post by parkut »

I find QD-TOOLS to be very useful, on my linux systems, it extracts
all sorts of useful information about work units. There was an update
today, downloaded and now it's reporting an error.

./qd: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by ./qd)

My CentOS systems are updated to the most recently released patches
The installed glib is ver 2.5

Can this be easily fixed?
smoking2000
Posts: 471
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:20 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: qd update broken?

Post by smoking2000 »

You can recompile qd, source and Makefile are provided in the tarball, unpack it and run make from inside the unpacked directory. Or compile qd manually:

Code: Select all

gcc -Wall -s -lm -O2 -DSYSTYPE=0 -o qd source/qd/qd.c
The configure script (automatically run by make) contains bashisms, so if /bin/sh is a link to dash link recent Debian & Ubuntu releases you need to change the shebang to #!/bin/bash

The bashisms have been fixed in qd-tools v2.6.7, and I've recompiled the qd binaries. The Linux binary is now compiled on Debian Squeeze, so compiles against eglibc 2.11.2, this one may work for you now too.
parkut
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:33 am
Hardware configuration: Running exclusively Linux headless blades. All are dedicated crunching machines.
Location: SE Michigan, USA

Re: qd update broken?

Post by parkut »

THANKS! I will save the information for the next time I need it. You are a life saver!

# retrieve latest qd.c

rm -f qd.c

wget http://linuxminded.xs4all.nl/software/q ... ce/qd/qd.c

# then recompile

gcc -Wall -s -lm -O2 -DSYSTYPE=0 -o qd qd.c
smoking2000
Posts: 471
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:20 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: qd update broken?

Post by smoking2000 »

You can skip the rm if you let wget overwrite the file :)

Code: Select all

wget http://linuxminded.xs4all.nl/software/qd-tools/source/qd/qd.c -O qd.c
And if you prefer to use IPv6, you can replace linuxminded.xs4all.nl with linuxminded.nl which also has an AAAA record in the DNS. :eugeek:
Ivoshiee
Site Moderator
Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:05 am
Location: Estonia

Re: qd update broken?

Post by Ivoshiee »

smoking2000 wrote:And if you prefer to use IPv6, you can replace linuxminded.xs4all.nl with linuxminded.nl which also has an AAAA record in the DNS. :eugeek:
Nice. I just recently got an IPv6 tunnel with a subnet up and running.
smoking2000
Posts: 471
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:20 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: qd update broken?

Post by smoking2000 »

I've found out that compiling qd with -D_GNU_SOURCE allows the binary build on Debian Squeeze to run on CentOS 5 too.

So I've updated the qd update script to use this, and packaged it all up in the second release of qd-tools today: v2.6.8
Post Reply