AMD System Monitor

This forum contains information about 3rd party applications which may be of use to those who run the FAH client and one place where you might be able to get help when using one of those apps.

Moderator: Site Moderators

AMD System Monitor

Postby Lgringo » Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:50 pm

Recently installed a Sapphire HD5570, downloaded latest drivers, etc. from AMD. It works fine, is 4% into its first WU. Then I downloaded the AMD System Monitor:
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pa ... nitor.aspx
which installed fine as far as I can tell, but when I run it, all I get is a content-free error msg that says: "Sorry, an unexpected error has occurred. Please restart the application. Any ideas? TIA.
User avatar
Lgringo
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:02 am
Location: El Dorado

Re: AMD System Monitor

Postby mdk777 » Sun Jun 05, 2011 8:21 pm

Use the >PERFORMANCE>OVERDRIVE on the Catalyst control panel.
Will give you usage, temp, and allow you to adjust OC and Fan profiles. :mrgreen:

For entire AMD system monitor, AOD is much more robust if your system support it.

http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/ ... ments.aspx :ewink:
Transparency and Accountability, the necessary foundation of any great endeavor!
mdk777
 
Posts: 813
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:12 am

Re: AMD System Monitor

Postby Lgringo » Mon Jun 06, 2011 1:44 am

Thanks! Except for the ATI video card, my system doesn't have anything that AOD requires but I tried it anyway and got err msg "AMD Overdrive failed to start", so I'm assuming that AMD System Monitor has similar requirements, but I hadn't noticed any specs in that department. Curiously, even though I changed the fan speed from the default 40% to 100% it didn't drop the temp from 49 degrees C. (activity = 99%) which is a curiosity to me.
User avatar
Lgringo
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:02 am
Location: El Dorado

Re: AMD System Monitor

Postby mdk777 » Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:52 am

You can try MSI AFTERBURNER or RIVATUNER to double check the temps.

Most likely the HD 5570 is just not that high wattage of a card. (38-43 watts per guru3d)

The cooling solution reaches equalization at 40% fan and adding more air just doesn't change the limit of the the fins.

JMHO. ;)
mdk777
 
Posts: 813
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:12 am

Re: AMD System Monitor

Postby Athlonite » Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:30 am

If your just after checking temps and GPU usage then use GPU-z and click the sensors tab gives a pretty good reading of all temps clocks and so forth can be set to giv max/avg/min or current reading for all sensor readings
Asus M23A32MVP-Deluxe AMD Phenom II x4 940BE @ 3.41GHz
2xCorsair Dominator twin2x2048 PC8500C5D DDR2-1066MHz 5-5-5-15 CL2
2x HIS ATI Radeon HD5770Fan 1GB @ 940/1275
SilverStone RV02B-W case & ST75F-P 750W full modular PSU
Windows7 X64
Athlonite
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Napier, NZ

Re: AMD System Monitor

Postby Jesse_V » Wed Sep 28, 2011 3:51 am

I've had good experience using Piriform Speccy. I also have GPU-Z, but I notice it uses too much CPU time, so I don't like to run it. Speccy however uses very little CPU time, but also displays temperatures of CPU, GPU, and Hard Drive, along with a big list of hardware specs. Pretty good GUI; I like it a lot. http://www.piriform.com/speccy
Pen tester at Cigital/Synopsys
User avatar
Jesse_V
 
Posts: 2773
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:44 am
Location: USA

Re: AMD System Monitor

Postby AMDphreak » Mon Oct 22, 2012 10:20 pm

None of you have solutions.

This same thing happened to me, after I updated Windows (after Acer wiped my computer).

I found a solution in a Youtube video.

You just need to run a command-line command, and then the program will work right.

LODCTR /R

Type this into the command line and hit Enter. To get to the command line, hit Windows+R (key combination) and then type 'cmd' without the quotes, and hit Enter. Then, you type the command above.

I can't believe it took you guys 5 years and you never found a solution. It took me 5 minutes.
AMDphreak
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 10:06 pm

Re: AMD System Monitor

Postby 7im » Mon Oct 22, 2012 10:50 pm

What 5 years? This thread opened 15 months ago.

And other than fix the one problem, do you know what else LODCTR /R does? One shouldn't run commands blindly...

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb490926.aspx
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona


Return to 3rd party contributed software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron