F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

This forum contains information about 3rd party applications which may be of use to those who run the FAH client and one place where you might be able to get help when using one of those apps.

Moderator: Site Moderators

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby treckin » Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:39 pm

Wanted to say thank you for this app, works really well.

As a tip, I would add a note in the app UI when adding clients that client hosts may require a full system restart before populating.

I didn't test, it could be only the network stack that needs restarting, but TBH a system restart is simpler.
treckin
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2020 8:51 am

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby Nirvana » Mon Mar 30, 2020 4:40 pm

Just wanted to chime in and say thank you for making this app! Are there any plans for new features or releases? I've noticed a few crashes every now and then when pausing / starting clients.
Image
Nirvana
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 5:20 pm

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby bruce » Mon Mar 30, 2020 5:15 pm

Is there a version for Android?


If not, can somebody volunteer to port it?
bruce
 
Posts: 19668
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby Joe_H » Mon Mar 30, 2020 7:27 pm

The author of this app has not checked in on the forum for a while, contacting through the info on his website may get a response.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6445
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby ChristianVirtual » Mon Mar 30, 2020 10:41 pm

bruce wrote:Is there a version for Android?


If not, can somebody volunteer to port it?


No Android ... I actually made it once until the viewer on Android with OpenGL but my lack of experience and willingness to learn Android just stopped me to finish the whole thing. Porting will not be possible as the code is really iOS specific and not really made for portability.
ImageImage
Please contribute your logs to http://ppd.fahmm.net
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1594
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:14 pm
Location: Tokyo

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby treckin » Tue Mar 31, 2020 6:51 pm

I am no expert but I would imagine there are wrappers for deploying nearly unmodified iOS/Swift projects to Android, albeit with a performance hit. Seeing as the features of your app don’t really require low latency/high performance, there may be a nearly plug and play solution, if you’re at all interested in picking it back up.

I’m a iOS user, so I would not be able to test.
treckin
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2020 8:51 am

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby Steamfire » Fri Apr 10, 2020 7:37 am

Would you please make some CLUE in the FAHMM app as to what is going on when you are trying to connect the mobile app to an FAH client?!?!? I just enter in some details in the mobile app, after trying to configure my computer client............... And then what??? Nothing happens. Did it try to connect to the computer? Did it not? Do I have control over telling it to start trying to connect???

WTF man, you make a useful piece of software and then make it nearly impossible for a new user to figure out how to get it started.
Steamfire
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 7:35 am

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby Neil-B » Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:44 pm

Steamfire wrote:Would you please make some CLUE in the FAHMM app as to what is going on when you are trying to connect the mobile app to an FAH client?!?!? I just enter in some details in the mobile app, after trying to configure my computer client............... And then what??? Nothing happens. Did it try to connect to the computer? Did it not? Do I have control over telling it to start trying to connect???

WTF man, you make a useful piece of software and then make it nearly impossible for a new user to figure out how to get it started.


You might get better responses from members of the forum if you dial back the attitude a bit? … Most tools are developed by hobbyists/enthusiasts who have made them for their own benefit (and guess what - they know how they work) and shared them with other enthusiasts who would like to use them (and who are prepared to work with the originators to adapt them to their own circumstances).

I might suggest that if you want a fully featured, gold plated experience you could code up one yourself?
1: 2x Xeon E5-2697v3@2.60GHz, 512GB DDR4 LRDIMM, SSD Raid, Win10 Ent, Quadro K420 1GB, FAH 7.6.13
2: Xeon E3-1505Mv5@2.80GHz, 32GB DDR4, NVME, Win10 Pro, Quadro M1000M 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
3: i7-960@3.20GHz, 12GB DDR3, SSD, Win10 Pro, GTX 750Ti 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1195
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby ipkh » Fri Apr 10, 2020 3:17 pm

I heartily recommend a Remote Desktop app and a hfm.net running on a Windows pc. Or just RDP to the computer running the fahclient softwate.
ipkh
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 3:03 pm

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby Nirvana » Fri Apr 10, 2020 3:39 pm

Steamfire wrote:Would you please make some CLUE in the FAHMM app as to what is going on when you are trying to connect the mobile app to an FAH client?!?!? I just enter in some details in the mobile app, after trying to configure my computer client............... And then what??? Nothing happens. Did it try to connect to the computer? Did it not? Do I have control over telling it to start trying to connect???
WTF man, you make a useful piece of software and then make it nearly impossible for a new user to figure out how to get it started.


What part are you stuck on?
idk where you're at in the process, but a few things need to be configured on the client before the app will connect.
Ensure you have remote access enabled in the settings.
•Take note of the port that's in use under Advanced Control > Configure > Connection (usually 36330)
Then under Advanced Control > Configure > Remote Access:
•Make up a password
•Ensure your local subnet AND 127.0.0.1 are entered into the "IP Address Restriction" box. i.e.
Code: Select all
192.168.0.0/24,127.0.0.1


Now enter those in the app:
•Client name - computer name, i.e. Folding-01, gaming_rig, etc.
•Hostname / IP - the IP Address or DNS name of the computer you're trying to control via the app
•Port: Enter the port you found earlier (again, usually 36330)
•Password - Enter the password you came up with earlier
•Active - Is the machine running the folding app right now? (just slide this to "yes / orange")
•Ignore pretty much everything else, unless you're using SSH keys.

Hope this helps
Nirvana
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 5:20 pm

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby PantherX » Sat Apr 11, 2020 1:41 am

ipkh wrote:I heartily recommend a Remote Desktop app and a hfm.net running on a Windows pc. Or just RDP to the computer running the fahclient softwate.

Just be careful with RDP and GPU folding since creating a RDP session to a system that's folding on the GPU will kill the GPU Slot... it's a Microsoft limitation.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6327
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby ChristianVirtual » Sat Apr 11, 2020 2:37 pm

Ok; after a longer break in folding and xcoding the app I have both up and running again ... took a while.
Good news: I still can compile the code and can try to work on some of the topics like UI, notch etc.
Bad news: I'm rather busy with my changed job

So please be a bit patient with me; but will try to make the app more sensitive on folder joining the cause in the recent time.
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1594
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:14 pm
Location: Tokyo

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby AnClar » Sat Apr 11, 2020 8:33 pm

ChristianVirtual wrote:Ok; after a longer break in folding and xcoding the app I have both up and running again ... took a while.
Good news: I still can compile the code and can try to work on some of the topics like UI, notch etc.
Bad news: I'm rather busy with my changed job

So please be a bit patient with me; but will try to make the app more sensitive on folder joining the cause in the recent time.


Thanks for your continued work on this app. I'm really finding it helpful in monitoring multiple folding systems. So I have a quick question...is the app capable of picking up a folding system on the same subnet, but a different wifi SSID? When I moved one of my systems to a repeater with a different wifi SSID on the same subnet because of a signal strength issue I can't seem to get that system to come up in the monitor app where it did before, when it was on the same wifi network. Thanks again!
AnClar
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 4:59 am

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby ChristianVirtual » Sat Apr 11, 2020 10:24 pm

AnClar wrote:
ChristianVirtual wrote:Ok; after a longer break in folding and xcoding the app I have both up and running again ... took a while.
Good news: I still can compile the code and can try to work on some of the topics like UI, notch etc.
Bad news: I'm rather busy with my changed job

So please be a bit patient with me; but will try to make the app more sensitive on folder joining the cause in the recent time.


Thanks for your continued work on this app. I'm really finding it helpful in monitoring multiple folding systems. So I have a quick question...is the app capable of picking up a folding system on the same subnet, but a different wifi SSID? When I moved one of my systems to a repeater with a different wifi SSID on the same subnet because of a signal strength issue I can't seem to get that system to come up in the monitor app where it did before, when it was on the same wifi network. Thanks again!

That is nothing the app (or any app) could do. The app require that the respective folding clients can be reached. If you want/need multiple SSID you would need to establish the routing between both segments. Just having the same network number range will not do it. One possible way might be to cascade the WiFi router to connect the WAN slot of the second router (with different network range) to one LAN port of the first router. The second router via DCHP should pickup IP address from first router and become the connection between both segment. But that is rough and might not work and is sure beyond what I can support. Again: I’m not aware that I could even code anything to make that happen given multiple limitations in iOS.
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1594
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:14 pm
Location: Tokyo

Re: F@H Mobile Monitoring for iPad

Postby AnClar » Sat Apr 11, 2020 10:41 pm

Yeah...no worries...I'll do some work on my own network and see what I can come up with.
AnClar
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 4:59 am

Previous

Return to 3rd party contributed software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron