FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

This forum contains information about 3rd party applications which may be of use to those who run the FAH client and one place where you might be able to get help when using one of those apps.

Moderator: Site Moderators

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby k1wi » Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:47 am

Personally, I'd never even notice if it did or did not save where I put the windows, I rarely close the thing :P
Image
k1wi
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:48 pm

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby Sduibek » Wed Nov 18, 2009 3:46 pm

.
Last edited by Sduibek on Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Sduibek
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:49 pm

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby Tynat » Thu Nov 19, 2009 5:33 am

Well that could have been put into a code box. ;)

Anyway, here FahMon saves the window size, location and "Work Unit Information" panel width. What it doesn't save by default is the size of the new columns that were recently added. I can spread them apart and the next time FahMon opens all the new columns are completely collapsed. BTW, most of the new column information is redundant and can be found in the "Work Unit Information" panel.

The trick to getting the columns to save is that they have to be activated and not just spread apart. You could say that there is a bug which doesn't hide a column when the column is inactivated (unchecked). So, to save the columns you have to right-click on any column, and then "activate" it, then spread it apart. Or spread it apart and then "activate" it. Either way, the next time you open FahMon, the columns should all be saved.
All clients stopped due to Stanford's upcoming September 2011 decision
User avatar
Tynat
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:37 am

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby Tynat » Thu Nov 19, 2009 5:51 am

Sduibek wrote:Also there's an asterisk next to the PPD listing for my GPU client what does that mean?

Read this here.
User avatar
Tynat
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:37 am

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby toTOW » Thu Nov 19, 2009 11:44 am

uncle_fungus, it's time to update Fahmon to include this new psummary column : viewtopic.php?f=16&t=12204 ... and to include the "BigAdv" bonus formula in the PPD computation.
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 5651
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby SKeptical_Thinker » Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:46 pm

Fahmon isn't tracking client properly. My setup is:
Code: Select all
Ubuntu 9.10 running in a VMware virtual machine
Host is Windows XP-32
Using VMware's player 3.0
Working directory accessed via samba

The symptom is that fahmon tracks the progress of the WU but not the FAHlog file. The status box stays yellow.

Here is what I see in the FAHlog:
Code: Select all
[14:56:32] Working on Unit 02 [November 18 14:56:32]
[14:56:32] + Working ...
[14:56:32] - Calling './mpiexec -np 4 -host 127.0.0.1 ./FahCore_a2.exe -dir work/ -suffix 02 -checkpoint 15 -verbose -lifeline 1785 -version 602'

[14:56:33]
[14:56:33] *------------------------------*
[14:56:33] Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
[14:56:33] Version 2.10 (Sun Aug 30 03:43:28 CEST 2009)
[14:56:33]
[14:56:33] Preparing to commence simulation
[14:56:33] - Ensuring status. Please wait.
[14:56:42] - Looking at optimizations...
[14:56:42] - Working with standard loops on this execution.
[14:56:42] - Files status OK
[14:56:53] - Expanded 4924168 -> 24360573 (decompressed 494.7 percent)
[14:57:00] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=4924168 data_size=24360573, decompressed_data_size=24360573 diff=0
[14:57:01] - Digital signature verified
[14:57:01]
[14:57:01] Project: 2662 (Run 2, Clone 170, Gen 51)
[14:57:01]
[14:57:01] Entering M.D.
[14:57:07] Using Gromacs checkpoints
Here is what is actually in the log file:
Code: Select all
[12:49:39] + Working ...
[12:49:39] - Calling './mpiexec -np 4 -host 127.0.0.1 ./FahCore_a2.exe -dir
work/ -suffix 03 -checkpoint 15 -verbose -lifeline 6184 -version 602'

[12:49:39]
[12:49:39] *------------------------------*
[12:49:39] Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
[12:49:39] Version 2.10 (Sun Aug 30 03:43:28 CEST 2009)
[12:49:39]
[12:49:39] Preparing to commence simulation
[12:49:39] - Ensuring status. Please wait.
[12:49:40] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=4835374
data_size=23979129, decompressed_data_size=23979129 diff=0
[12:49:41] - Digital signature verified
[12:49:41]
[12:49:41] Project: 2669 (Run 15, Clone 74, Gen 110)
[12:49:41]
[12:49:41] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[12:49:41] Entering M.D.
[12:49:47] Using Gromacs checkpoints
[12:49:51]
[12:49:51] Entering M.D.
[12:49:57] Using Gromacs checkpoints
NNODES=4, MYRANK=0, HOSTNAME=mlm-desktop-HOME
NNODES=4, MYRANK=3, HOSTNAME=mlm-desktop-HOME
NNODES=4, MYRANK=2, HOSTNAME=mlm-desktop-HOME
NNODES=4, MYRANK=1, HOSTNAME=mlm-desktop-HOME
NODEID=2 argc=23
NODEID=3 argc=23
NODEID=0 argc=23
Reading file work/wudata_03.tpr, VERSION 3.3.99_development_20070618
(single precision)
NODEID=1 argc=23
Note: tpx file_version 48, software version 68

Reading checkpoint file work/wudata_03.cpt generated: Thu Nov 19 07:39:44
2009


NOTE: The tpr file used for this simulation is in an old format, for less
memory usage and possibly more performance create a new tpr file with an up
to date version of grompp

Making 1D domain decomposition 1 x 1 x 4
starting mdrun '22869 system'
27750000 steps,  55500.0 ps (continuing from step 27603090,  55206.2 ps).
[12:50:04] Resuming from checkpoint
[12:50:04] Verified work/wudata_03.log
[12:50:05] Verified work/wudata_03.trr
[12:50:05] Verified work/wudata_03.xtc
[12:50:05] Verified work/wudata_03.edr
[12:50:07] Completed 103090 out of 250000 steps  (41%)
[13:07:26] Completed 105000 out of 250000 steps  (42%)
[13:27:28] Completed 107500 out of 250000 steps  (43%)
[13:47:40] Completed 110000 out of 250000 steps  (44%)
[14:08:03] Completed 112500 out of 250000 steps  (45%)
[14:27:58] Completed 115000 out of 250000 steps  (46%)
[14:48:32] Completed 117500 out of 250000 steps  (47%)
[15:08:13] Completed 120000 out of 250000 steps  (48%)

I have uninstalled and reinstalled fahmon with and without retaining the existing data and clients.

Edit: I have noticed that it isn't updating the PPD, but it is updated the ETA and % complete.

Another edit: As of this morning the program is behaving correctly, again. I hate it when software gets sick, but at least it's better now.
Image
SKeptical_Thinker
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:02 am

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby metal03326 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:45 am

Does anyone know the default location of the report file created on crash? I didn't remembered it and I can't submit it to the site. I'm using XP.
User avatar
metal03326
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 1:36 pm
Location: Vratsa, Bulgaria.

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby uncle_fungus » Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:48 am

It should be in your temp folder (I'm on Linux at the moment so I can't remember exactly where this is except that its somewhere under %APPDATA%)
User avatar
uncle_fungus
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:37 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby metal03326 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm

Found it - Local Settings\Temp. Thanks!
User avatar
metal03326
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 1:36 pm
Location: Vratsa, Bulgaria.

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby bruce » Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:12 pm

metal03326 wrote:Does anyone know the default location of the report file created on crash? I didn't remembered it and I can't submit it to the site. I'm using XP.


The full report is nice, but you can get the essentials from the Event Viewer (in Admin Tools in Control Panel) even if the report is no longer available.
bruce
 
Posts: 20019
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby metal03326 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:39 pm

I sent the full report, but I'll have in mind what you said when I loose my report. I doubt it'll be soon, after all I'm using FahMon for a long time and this is the first crash I had. 10x anyway.
User avatar
metal03326
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 1:36 pm
Location: Vratsa, Bulgaria.

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby Sduibek » Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:28 pm

.
Last edited by Sduibek on Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Sduibek
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:49 pm

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby rickoic » Sat Dec 12, 2009 7:44 pm

Perhaps this has been asked and answered before, but I haven't been able to find it, so point me to the post or please give me a clue.

I am running notfred's on different computers and trying to monitor them with fahmon. Trouble is that each notfred uses the same address \\fold-xxxx\c\etc\folding\1

Is there any way of changing the xxxx to a different address?

Tks
Rick
I'm folding because Dec 2005 I had radical prostate surgery.
Lost brother to spinal cancer, brother-in-law to prostate cancer.
Several 1st cousins lost and a few who have survived.
rickoic
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 5:49 pm
Location: Mississippi near Memphis, Tn

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby toTOW » Sat Dec 12, 2009 10:17 pm

Ask notfred, this is set up in his distribution ...
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 5651
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

Postby Viper666 » Sun Dec 13, 2009 7:56 am

Uncle any plan to add some bigadv bonus guessing to FAHmon?
ImageImage
Powered by AMD and Open SUSe 11.2 ----The New servers have nothing to do with fixing the stats problem !
User avatar
Viper666
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:57 pm

PreviousNext

Return to 3rd party contributed software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron