FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h clients)

This forum contains information about 3rd party applications which may be of use to those who run the FAH client and one place where you might be able to get help when using one of those apps.

Moderator: Site Moderators

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby uncle_fungus » Sat Nov 13, 2010 5:22 pm

On the system tab.
User avatar
uncle_fungus
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby toTOW » Sat Nov 13, 2010 5:26 pm

I checked the box and set it to +1, but it doesn't seem to help ...
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8469
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby uncle_fungus » Sat Nov 13, 2010 5:28 pm

Does the message log show anything helpful? (you may have to turn "log error messages only" off on the advanced preferences tab).
User avatar
uncle_fungus
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby toTOW » Sat Nov 13, 2010 5:31 pm

Nothing really interesting (the upload to my FTP file and the inability to load one file from the machine I monitor with apache).
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8469
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby PantherX » Sat Nov 13, 2010 5:47 pm

Well, I restarted my system and FahMon gave me a very interesting "PPD" on one of my networked system:
Image
Well, after few minutes, everything returned back to normal.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Chrome Folding App (Beta) Ӂ Troubleshooting "Bad WUs" Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby toTOW » Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:49 pm

Here's a new fact : since two days, Fahmon is overestimating my frame time on my two GPU2 clients. I get twice the real time per frame, hence half the usual PPD ... :(
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8469
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby PantherX » Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:32 am

Well, mine is underestimating the PPD on my GPU3 Client (GTX 260) and it is showing the Client to be paused even though it is running: (happened after the upgrade to 2.3.99.4)
Image
On this GPU Project, I get ~8K PPD. I use the last 3 frames to calculate the PPD.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby More_Fiber » Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:59 am

Like PantherX, I'm also getting strage PPD on a networked machine.
The machine is running both the SMP and the GPU3 clients.
The problem only occurs on the GPU client, and only on that machine.
Unlike PatherX, the bad PPD calculation doesn't seem to go away.

That GPU is currently working on P5746 (384 pts) at 2 minutes per 1% and is showing 110,592 PPD.
More_Fiber
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:48 pm

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby PantherX » Thu Nov 18, 2010 5:06 am

FYI, the bad PPD doesn't go away for me :( It is like that no matter what I do. Sometimes, i also get 0 PPD on certain Projects and this is only for GPU Client. The Classic and SMP2 are fine :) The ~8K PPD is from HFM.NET which I also use.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby PantherX » Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:44 pm

I guess that now the SMP2 Client is going nuts. All I did was a simple system restart and now this is what it is showing:
Image

EDIT -> The above image is before my Client finished 1 Frame. Now my Client has finished 1 Frame and this is what it shows:
Image
I have set it to calculate to the last 3 frames. I really hope that for a week, I have the above PPD, that would be awesome 8-) :lol:

UPDATE -> After the 2nd Frame, the PPD Calculation is back to normal for the SMP2 Client :) However, the issue with the GPU Client is still there :(
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby bruce » Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:17 pm

When you get a strange PPD like that, gather all of the information. Post the log showing the last three frames (if that's the method you're using) and calculate the PPD manually. What do you get. (Be sure to refresh the client so that you're sure the log information is the same as what HFM is using.)
bruce
 
Posts: 21599
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby More_Fiber » Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:37 pm

This is what I show with the GPU2 client:
Project: 5739 (Run 3, Clone 561, Gen 1) pts=511
PPD=220,752 ETA=2 Min
Last 3 frames is selected.

Time Completed Min/% Frames/Day PPD
21:57:31 35%
22:01:29 36% 3.97 363.03 1855
22:05:46 37% 4.28 336.19 1718
22:10:28 38% 4.70 306.38 1566
22:15:16 39% 4.80 300.00 1533

Machine is networked.
Running WIN/XP.
Client 6.23 (service)
Core 11 version 1.24

Code: Select all
[21:57:31] Completed 35%
[22:01:29] Completed 36%
[22:05:46] Completed 37%
[22:10:28] Completed 38%
[22:15:16] Completed 39%
[22:20:01] Completed 40%
[22:24:50] Completed 41%
[22:29:34] Completed 42%
[22:34:27] Completed 43%
More_Fiber
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:48 pm

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby PantherX » Fri Nov 19, 2010 12:24 am

I think that I have found the issue, it is the FahMon benchmark:
Code: Select all
 Min. Time / Frame : 25s  - 926952.56 ppd
 Avg. Time / Frame : 2mn 34s  - 60629.84 ppd
 Cur. Time / Frame : 23mn 47s  - 2149.47 ppd
 R3F. Time / Frame : 23mn 47s  - 2149.47 ppd
 Eff. Time / Frame : 24mn 24s  - 2068.50 ppd

Since the Average time is incorrect, it messes up the initial calculation (when 0 Frames are done) but when it gets data for 1 Frame, it goes back to normal. Does anyone know how to "reset" the benchmarks i.e. can I delete a particular file and FahMon will rebuild the benchmark database?

EDIT -> This is for SMP2 Client. I don't know why the GPU Clients are messed up PPD.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby uncle_fungus » Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:08 am

You can delete %APPDATA%\FahMon\benchmarks.xml and that will completely wipe the database. Alternatively you can open the xml file and delete the offending entry if you wish.

I'll take a look at this later to see what causing the PPD craziness.
User avatar
uncle_fungus
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: FahMon (multi-platform app to monitor various F@h client

Postby toTOW » Fri Nov 19, 2010 8:00 pm

I tried to deleted that file, and it's worse ... the clients are still showing as Inactive, but now, the PPD stays at 0 and no new data is entered to the benchmarks database :(

For me, it's also GPU clients, but I'm also seeing this on a local GPU client ...
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8469
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

PreviousNext

Return to 3rd party contributed software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron