HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

This forum contains information about 3rd party applications which may be of use to those who run the FAH client and one place where you might be able to get help when using one of those apps.

Moderator: Site Moderators

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

Postby toTOW » Sun Jan 10, 2016 6:05 pm

harlam357 wrote:Hey guys... I've got the projects updating from the json feed and I should be able to get you a build soon... stay tuned.

Great news !

Don't forget to add try/catch in your parser everytime you assume that a field will be a double or an integer ;)
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8514
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

Postby coccola » Mon Jan 25, 2016 5:23 am

Harlam created v0.9.5 of HFM.NET which fixes the current issues with missing, incorrect project data. It has to be tested.

Get it here: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... fBlmSG8fAs
coccola
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:35 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

Postby rhavern » Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:59 am

I have installed v0.9.5 and it appears to be working as expected. :thumbs up:
Folding since 1 WU=1 point
ImageImage
User avatar
rhavern
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 8:45 am
Location: UK

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

Postby coccola » Thu Jan 28, 2016 1:23 am

Every time I click on "Download Projects From Stanford" the same result is displayed:

Project: 9201 - Changed / ServerIP - 171.67.108.53 > 171.67.108.52
Project: 9201 - Changed / ServerIP - 171.67.108.52 > 171.67.108.53

In fact, on the official projects summary, there are two projects with number 9201.
coccola
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:35 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

Postby HayesK » Thu Jan 28, 2016 3:59 am

from harlam357
p9201 - There are two entries for this project in the JSON summary data, with conflicting I addresses. I noticed this but I left it alone since I'm not sure what two separate project entries is supposed to mean or if it's a bug in the server reporting system on Stafford's end.
Image
<- 20-GPUs -> folding for OCF T32 as HayesK
User avatar
HayesK
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 4:23 pm
Location: LaPorte, Texas

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

Postby bruce » Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:22 am

Suppose the owner of p9201 is managing more work than can be accommodated on a single server. Wouldn't it make sense to distribute his project across two servers?

Assuming this is true (and it may not be) how should that be reported?
bruce
 
Posts: 21743
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

Postby Joe_H » Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:59 am

As I recall, Project 9201 used to be hosted on 171.67.108.52 but was moved to 171.67.108.53 after there was a problem with the first server. 171.67.108.52 is not currently accessible as a WS , but might be up enough for the Project Summary script to connect to and get that information.

Not sure how to report it, similar lines have shown up in the Project Summary for projects no longer being actively assigned when their WS was show as online in Serverstat.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4229
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

Postby coccola » Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:27 pm

coccola wrote:Every time I click on "Download Projects From Stanford" the same result is displayed:

Project: 9201 - Changed / ServerIP - 171.67.108.53 > 171.67.108.52
Project: 9201 - Changed / ServerIP - 171.67.108.52 > 171.67.108.53

In fact, on the official projects summary, there are two projects with number 9201.


If possible, I'd like to have a conclusive answer about this problem (is it correct, will it be fixed...)

Thank you.
coccola
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:35 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

Postby Joe_H » Mon Feb 01, 2016 6:01 pm

The information derived from the project summary is correct, how HFM.NET is handling it is suspect. Eventually the older WS may be taken completely offline once analysis of WU's returned there is complete. In the meantime a workaround would be to edit out the line of information from the project summary listing that is being used by HFM.NET.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4229
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: FAHmon problem

Postby awsum140 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 3:46 pm

I guess I'll live with checking the machines, manually. HFM keeps looking for a folder that just doesn't exsist on my Win7 or Win10 machines, not to mention tons of security warnings and over-rides being need to execute the program and its attempt to communicate.
Image
awsum140
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 11:38 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: FAHmon problem

Postby bruce » Tue Feb 02, 2016 5:29 pm

As long as you get HFM from the designated site, you can override the warnings. Security software tends to be ultra-conservative and refuses to accept anything it doesn't recognize. When downloading and running all Third Party apps (like HFM) you have to make your own decisions. It has been installed on a large percentage of FAH machines, and everybody using it has found it to be safe (and that has been true for many years).

Microsoft (or McAffee or Norton or whoever) makes no effort to check any software except from the top several vendors and just warns you about everything else.
bruce
 
Posts: 21743
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FAHmon problem

Postby awsum140 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 5:50 pm

I did override the security warnings, having "blind" faith, but it's still looking for USERS/[username]/ProgramData/FAHClient as a directory and that just ain't gonna happen 'cause it doesn't exsist. It's located in Programdata/FAHClient.
awsum140
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 11:38 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: FAHmon problem

Postby bruce » Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:18 pm

The default location for the FAH data directory is USERS/[username]/ProgramData/FAHClient and apparently HFM assumes it has not been changed. Normally, that's a hidden directory but FAH's installation gives you a shortcut to it. The other way to get to the hidden directory is to change directory to %APPDATA%.

While you can configure FAH any way you choose, but I don't see a way to alter HFM to point to the directory you've chosen.
bruce
 
Posts: 21743
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FAHmon problem

Postby 7im » Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:50 pm

awsum140 wrote:I did override the security warnings, having "blind" faith, but it's still looking for USERS/[username]/ProgramData/FAHClient as a directory and that just ain't gonna happen 'cause it doesn't exsist. It's located in Programdata/FAHClient.


During the FAH install, did you select "Just for me" or the "all users" option?
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

Postby awsum140 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:50 pm

I did not choose the directory, that's where the FAH client is storing its data on both of my machines. The default directory does not exist, hidden or otherwise and I made no changes to the FAH default installation on either machine. I can see the data in the path I mentioned, C:\windows\programdata\fahclient, being updated on both machines by browsing to the directories and access it via my LAN since I changed the permissions on those directories in an attempt to get things working. At this point I'll just uninstall and chalk it up to Mr. Murphy being a permanent fixture in my machines.

I occurs to me that when I installed the FAH client I installed it for "all users" since I want it running no matter who is on the machine.
Last edited by awsum140 on Tue Feb 02, 2016 7:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
awsum140
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 11:38 pm
Location: New Jersey

PreviousNext

Return to 3rd party contributed software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron