Page 40 of 48

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 7:05 pm
by toTOW
harlam357 wrote:Hey guys... I've got the projects updating from the json feed and I should be able to get you a build soon... stay tuned.

Great news !

Don't forget to add try/catch in your parser everytime you assume that a field will be a double or an integer ;)

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 6:23 am
by coccola
Harlam created v0.9.5 of HFM.NET which fixes the current issues with missing, incorrect project data. It has to be tested.

Get it here: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... fBlmSG8fAs

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:59 am
by rhavern
I have installed v0.9.5 and it appears to be working as expected. :thumbs up:

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:23 am
by coccola
Every time I click on "Download Projects From Stanford" the same result is displayed:

Project: 9201 - Changed / ServerIP - 171.67.108.53 > 171.67.108.52
Project: 9201 - Changed / ServerIP - 171.67.108.52 > 171.67.108.53

In fact, on the official projects summary, there are two projects with number 9201.

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:59 am
by HayesK
from harlam357
p9201 - There are two entries for this project in the JSON summary data, with conflicting I addresses. I noticed this but I left it alone since I'm not sure what two separate project entries is supposed to mean or if it's a bug in the server reporting system on Stafford's end.

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:22 am
by bruce
Suppose the owner of p9201 is managing more work than can be accommodated on a single server. Wouldn't it make sense to distribute his project across two servers?

Assuming this is true (and it may not be) how should that be reported?

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 6:59 am
by Joe_H
As I recall, Project 9201 used to be hosted on 171.67.108.52 but was moved to 171.67.108.53 after there was a problem with the first server. 171.67.108.52 is not currently accessible as a WS , but might be up enough for the Project Summary script to connect to and get that information.

Not sure how to report it, similar lines have shown up in the Project Summary for projects no longer being actively assigned when their WS was show as online in Serverstat.

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 6:27 pm
by coccola
coccola wrote:Every time I click on "Download Projects From Stanford" the same result is displayed:

Project: 9201 - Changed / ServerIP - 171.67.108.53 > 171.67.108.52
Project: 9201 - Changed / ServerIP - 171.67.108.52 > 171.67.108.53

In fact, on the official projects summary, there are two projects with number 9201.


If possible, I'd like to have a conclusive answer about this problem (is it correct, will it be fixed...)

Thank you.

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 7:01 pm
by Joe_H
The information derived from the project summary is correct, how HFM.NET is handling it is suspect. Eventually the older WS may be taken completely offline once analysis of WU's returned there is complete. In the meantime a workaround would be to edit out the line of information from the project summary listing that is being used by HFM.NET.

Re: FAHmon problem

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 4:46 pm
by awsum140
I guess I'll live with checking the machines, manually. HFM keeps looking for a folder that just doesn't exsist on my Win7 or Win10 machines, not to mention tons of security warnings and over-rides being need to execute the program and its attempt to communicate.

Re: FAHmon problem

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:29 pm
by bruce
As long as you get HFM from the designated site, you can override the warnings. Security software tends to be ultra-conservative and refuses to accept anything it doesn't recognize. When downloading and running all Third Party apps (like HFM) you have to make your own decisions. It has been installed on a large percentage of FAH machines, and everybody using it has found it to be safe (and that has been true for many years).

Microsoft (or McAffee or Norton or whoever) makes no effort to check any software except from the top several vendors and just warns you about everything else.

Re: FAHmon problem

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:50 pm
by awsum140
I did override the security warnings, having "blind" faith, but it's still looking for USERS/[username]/ProgramData/FAHClient as a directory and that just ain't gonna happen 'cause it doesn't exsist. It's located in Programdata/FAHClient.

Re: FAHmon problem

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 7:18 pm
by bruce
The default location for the FAH data directory is USERS/[username]/ProgramData/FAHClient and apparently HFM assumes it has not been changed. Normally, that's a hidden directory but FAH's installation gives you a shortcut to it. The other way to get to the hidden directory is to change directory to %APPDATA%.

While you can configure FAH any way you choose, but I don't see a way to alter HFM to point to the directory you've chosen.

Re: FAHmon problem

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 7:50 pm
by 7im
awsum140 wrote:I did override the security warnings, having "blind" faith, but it's still looking for USERS/[username]/ProgramData/FAHClient as a directory and that just ain't gonna happen 'cause it doesn't exsist. It's located in Programdata/FAHClient.


During the FAH install, did you select "Just for me" or the "all users" option?

Re: HFM.NET - Monitoring Application for Folding@Home v6/v7

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 7:50 pm
by awsum140
I did not choose the directory, that's where the FAH client is storing its data on both of my machines. The default directory does not exist, hidden or otherwise and I made no changes to the FAH default installation on either machine. I can see the data in the path I mentioned, C:\windows\programdata\fahclient, being updated on both machines by browsing to the directories and access it via my LAN since I changed the permissions on those directories in an attempt to get things working. At this point I'll just uninstall and chalk it up to Mr. Murphy being a permanent fixture in my machines.

I occurs to me that when I installed the FAH client I installed it for "all users" since I want it running no matter who is on the machine.