I hope this is the one

Please confine these topics to things that would be of general interest to those who are interested in FAH which don't fall into any other category.

Moderator: Site Moderators

I hope this is the one

Postby tes1900 » Thu Aug 13, 2009 10:46 am

:?: Presently F@H only uses up to about 50% of the available CPU and the rest being idle. Is there a way of setting it to use more, say 95% of the CPU when it’s available and only 5% idle?
Any ideas?
Tom
“Is life so dear or peace so sweet as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it Almighty God, I know not what course others may take, but as for me, give me liberty or give me death.”
Patrick Henry (1776)
tes1900
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 7:50 pm
Location: Gardnerville, Nevada

Re: I hope this is the one

Postby MtM » Thu Aug 13, 2009 11:05 am

What client did you install? If you used the uniprocessor client, that's only supposed to use one core. If you installed an SMP variant, you're missing a config flag ( -smp ). If you click on the Client download link at the top of the page, each client also has a faq attached which covers most basic configuration issues.
MtM
 
Posts: 3054
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:20 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: I hope this is the one

Postby John_Weatherman » Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:29 pm

Or have you got hyper-threading on the CPU? (I was surprised to see the new Atom low energy CPUs have HT)
User avatar
John_Weatherman
 
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:31 am
Location: Carrizo Plain National Monument, California

Re: I hope this is the one

Postby MtM » Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:50 pm

Good one, forgot that last time when I saw a quad with 50% cpu usage :oops:
MtM
 
Posts: 3054
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:20 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: I hope this is the one

Postby P5-133XL » Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:01 pm

tes1900 wrote::?: Presently F@H only uses up to about 50% of the available CPU and the rest being idle. Is there a way of setting it to use more, say 95% of the CPU when it’s available and only 5% idle?
Any ideas?
Tom


Need to know your hardware and the folding clients you currently use to specifically answer the question for your instance. In general, you can add as many uniprocessor clients as needed to get your processor usage as high as you want/need up to 100%. Just note that each client will need a unique machine ID number and stored in a separate folder.
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA


Return to Scientific discussions (Non-FAH)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron