Infinite CPU speed = 'instant cure' for some folding apps?

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

twinbee

Infinite CPU speed = 'instant cure' for some folding apps?

Post by twinbee »

Assuming infinite CPU/RAM/HD speed, would we be able to almost instantly cure many diseases, or would further research need to be undertaken after we've perfectly simulated every protein fold we could dream of? I'm guessing the latter.

In fact, are there any 'instant' cures/applications if CPU speed were no barrier?
AZBrandon

Re: Infinite CPU speed = 'instant cure' for some folding apps?

Post by AZBrandon »

I don't think that's how it works. I'm no scientist, but I thought the description of the folding project was to understand first how the diseases happen. Then, once they know how it happens you could start research on a cure. I don't think that we'd see cures for all diseases just by knowing how it happens.
shatteredsilicon
Hardware configuration: 1x Q6600 @ 3.2GHz, 4GB DDR3-1333
1x Phenom X4 9950 @ 2.6GHz, 4GB DDR2-1066
3x GeForce 9800GX2
1x GeForce 8800GT
CentOS 5 x86-64, WINE 1.x with CUDA wrappers

Post by shatteredsilicon »

The problem is that the bottleneck of the problem shifts away from the simulation and toward understanding. In other words, the scientists become the bottleneck because data takes time to fully understand. And once that understanding is achieved, there is still the issue of synthesizing chemical compounds that prevent misfolding, and that is assuming that such a thing even exists. Not all problems have a solution - but the potential benefits make it worth trying.
1x Q6600 @ 3.2GHz, 4GB DDR3-1333
1x Phenom X4 9950 @ 2.6GHz, 4GB DDR2-1066
3x GeForce 9800GX2
1x GeForce 8800GT
CentOS 5 x86-64, WINE 1.x with CUDA wrappers
twinbee

Post by twinbee »

Many thanks for both of your replies!