F@H for Business?

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

benji

F@H for Business?

Post by benji »

Hi :)

So I was using F@H for a while at home and stopped when I got a new computer and forgot to re-install.

Anyway, now I'm a Systems Administrator for a company with over 100 computers which I am pretty sure are not going to be using all of their processing power, all of the time.
(On a side note, I reckon it's the way this place should be going, large businesses are masses of processing power sat looking at Spreadsheets!)
So, I'm looking for a way to deploy this program to my computers with our team number etc. prefilled so that we can use our unused processing power for good.

Is anyone else here in the same position as me? How have you accomplished this? Anyone else anything to add?

Cheers!
ChristianVirtual

Re: F@H for Business?

Post by ChristianVirtual »

A serious advise at begin: make sure to have a written approval from the owner/your manager and not risking your job with potentially unwanted activities, increased energy cost and violating the EULA.
Are the computer all identical ? Do you have a regular software management / distribution setup ?
ImageImage
Please contribute your logs to http://ppd.fahmm.net
benji

Post by benji »

Sorry, should have said that this is purely an idea at present. Once I have the facts, I can then present them to management. There's no risk to my job if I'm just asking a question, right?!

No, not all of the computers are identical. Though we have software management ability yes.
ChristianVirtual

Post by ChristianVirtual »

If your management put you at risk for a reasonable question: that would be strange. They might say: NO. But thats their call and right to do.

Just try to not say: I want to use lots of our company resources "my own team"; maybe get a company team setup; multiple donors (e.g. one each department with friendly competition); communicate well what F@H is actually try to achieve.