A (Crazy?) Idea For Getting FAH To A Million Participants

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Alan C. Lawhon

A (Crazy?) Idea For Getting FAH To A Million Participants

Post by Alan C. Lawhon »

This is not well developed or well thought out - it's just something that occurred to me in a flash ...

The Problem: Despite FAH being "the world's largest distributed computing project" (according to Wikipedia), it irks me that we seem to be stuck in the 160-170 thousand donor/volunteer range. This is good, but it is also frustrating as it seems we could do much better with regard to attracting new volunteers and new donors.

As Dr. Pande has noted in this video: https://folding.stanford.edu/home/video ... ls-of-fah/ there are a billion computers in the world. (I'm not good at math, but I think that's a thousand million ...) Thus far, we collectively have been unable to attract even one-tenth of one percent of that one billion number. Around the 53:00 minute mark of the above presentation, Dr. Pande notes a major "exa-flop simulation project" involving the p53 tumor suppressor protein. The only thing holding back this grand simulation is the lack of computing power - in other words the insufficient number of volunteer donors. I have tried to persuade friends and associates to join FAH, but with limited success. I'm sure many of you have also tried to persuade your friends and acquaintances to donate their unused computer cycles. For whatever reasons, we're collectively having trouble getting anywhere close to that magical one-million donor threshold. So, what to do?

It appears that many [potential] donors - who could be participating - are simply not motivated (or not interested) in protein folding and FAH. So the question is: How do we get people interested? I have a "crazy" idea - but it's an idea that might just work ...