How do I update the FAH core?

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
GPU timpster
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:57 am

How do I update the FAH core?

Post by GPU timpster »

I want this: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=28442

How do I do it? I'd LOVE to know when the checkpoints are done, it would make pausing much more efficient instead of now waiting to about .40% to pause as I used to do ~.11 then now .25% and now that will move back a few whole percent some times, so I'd like to pause right on a checkpoint.

Better yet, a "Pause at next checkpoint" would be a wonderful addition to the GUI!
bruce
Posts: 20910
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: How do I update the FAH core?

Post by bruce »

Core updates are automatic. If you're assigned a project that uses FAHCore_21, the latest version will download (unless you already have it) and the project will sta

"Pause at next checkpoint" has been suggested before, and it's on the list of suggested enhancements, but active development of FAHClient has been suspended so you probably won't see any enhancements soon.
_r2w_ben
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:11 pm

Re: How do I update the FAH core?

Post by _r2w_ben »

Checkpoints intervals differ by project. I've seen 2%, 2.5%, and 4%. This is what I do to pause shortly after a checkpoint:
1. Get the number in the ID column of the Work Queue that the slot is currently working on
2. Go to Start > FAHClient > Data Directory
3. Navigate to the work folder and open the slot with the # from step 1
4. Go to the numbered subfolder and open log.txt
5. Look for this section and note the "Checkpoint write frequency":

Code: Select all

[ Entering Main ]
  Reading core settings...
  Total number of steps: 2500000
  XTC write frequency: 50000
  Checkpoint write frequency: 50000 (2%)
  Number of frames per WU: 50
6. Go to the end of log.txt and where you see the following, a checkpoint was written:

Code: Select all

Performance since last checkpoint: 3.341067285 ns/day
7. Close log.txt and monitor progress in FAHControl until it reaches the next percent that will trigger a checkpoint
8. Pause the slot
GPU timpster
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:57 am

Re: How do I update the FAH core?

Post by GPU timpster »

_r2w_ben wrote:Checkpoints intervals differ by project. I've seen 2%, 2.5%, and 4%. This is what I do to pause shortly after a checkpoint:
1. Get the number in the ID column of the Work Queue that the slot is currently working on
2. Go to Start > FAHClient > Data Directory
3. Navigate to the work folder and open the slot with the # from step 1
4. Go to the numbered subfolder and open log.txt
5. Look for this section and note the "Checkpoint write frequency":

Code: Select all

[ Entering Main ]
  Reading core settings...
  Total number of steps: 2500000
  XTC write frequency: 50000
  Checkpoint write frequency: 50000 (2%)
  Number of frames per WU: 50
6. Go to the end of log.txt and where you see the following, a checkpoint was written:

Code: Select all

Performance since last checkpoint: 3.341067285 ns/day
7. Close log.txt and monitor progress in FAHControl until it reaches the next percent that will trigger a checkpoint
8. Pause the slot
That is some serious dedication to pausing without going backwards again, thank you, I'll give this a go!
bruce
Posts: 20910
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: How do I update the FAH core?

Post by bruce »

Here's an alternate method (GPUs only):

If the WU is just starting, don't worry about it.
If it has been running for a while, use steps 1,2,3, and the first half of 4 above.
5. Look for files viewerFrameX.json where X is: Top, 1, 2, 3, 4, ... (here "Top" means zero)
6. Subtract the times of two adjacent files and add that difference to the time of the last one in the series.
7im
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: How do I update the FAH core?

Post by 7im »

You likely have the new core already. Another nice feature the dev team added a few versions back is the core version number is diplayed in the log as the core starts running.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
bruce
Posts: 20910
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: How do I update the FAH core?

Post by bruce »

7im wrote:You likely have the new core already.
Right.

Look at the log when a new WU starts for a project that uses FahCore_21

03:07:46:WU01:FS01:Starting
03:07:46:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient ...
03:07:46:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 6928
03:07:46:WU01:FS01:Core PID:1084
03:07:46:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
03:07:46:WU01:FS01:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2016-03-25T03:07:46Z ***********************
03:07:46:WU01:FS01:0x21:Project: xxxxx (Run x, Clone x, Gen xx)
03:07:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Unit: 0x000000168ca304f156e81e3dd7fc8cc1
03:07:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
03:07:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Machine: 1
03:07:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Digital signatures verified
03:07:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
03:07:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Version 0.0.17
Post Reply