Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby primesuspect » Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:35 pm

Hello!

I recently built a new system based on an AMD Ryzen 7 1800X CPU. While GPU folding is working just fine, I cannot get any work units for my CPU. Is this CPU recognized/supported by the client yet? Is there a flag I can set to force a WU download?

Thank you!

primesuspect / Team 93
primesuspect
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:32 pm

Re: Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby JimboPalmer » Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:29 pm

While the first one hundred lines of your log have a configuration that would improve our guesses immensely, I will guess blind.

The software tends to 'hate' large prime numbers of CPUs (7, 11, 13, 17, etc. and multiples of these primes, 14,21,22,26,etc. very frequently they will refuse to fold if you have that many CPUs. When you have a GPU, your number of CPUs is decremented by one.

So choose a non-prime number of CPUs, say 6, and see if that folds. then you can try other, more ideal numbers of CPUs (my guess is that your configuration shows 14 and 12 will be ideal but I am not well versed in the1800X. a copy of your configuration log will help)

EDIT: Bruce's signature line shows how to post the log.
Last edited by JimboPalmer on Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby ChristianVirtual » Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:30 pm

Welcome to the form primesuspect

Can you show us your first 150lines of log file so we can see the config ?
The prime suspect of the issue is the core count. Ryzen has 8 core = 16 threads. You might have one or two GPUs which reduce those threads to 14 or 15 which are multiple of primes not working well. One quick mitigation here would be to install the beta version 7.4.16 as it will align with the assignment server on a matching WU (with lesser thread requirements).
ImageImage
Please contribute your logs to http://ppd.fahmm.net
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: 日本 東京

Re: Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby bruce » Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:05 am

Those first 100 lines would also tell us which client version you're running. The public beta version contains a fix that probably resolves your issue. JimboPalmer's statements provide a reasonable way to adjust your settings to achieve a similar result with the released version.
bruce
 
Posts: 21416
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby foldinghomealone » Mon Mar 06, 2017 5:55 pm

And please post results how many PPD a 1800X can reach. We're all very interested
foldinghomealone
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:07 pm

Re: Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby mr_raider » Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:30 pm

I'm running a 1700x. With 14 I wasn't getting any WUs. I set it to 12 for now. How o I get the a7 units?
mr_raider
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:21 pm

Re: Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby JimboPalmer » Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:37 pm

Mr Raider

You might have noticed that we asked in vain for the OP to show us his system by posting the first 100 lines of his log. As you read your own question, you may notice that once again we would need to know how your system is configured.

Bruce's signature is a link to how to obtain the system portion of the log.

I await you configuration!

Jimbo
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby bruce » Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:57 pm

The use of 14 CPUs has been disallowed (it produces a high error rate). If you upgrade to the v7.4.16 beta client, it will automatically adjust your setting to one which will get a valid assignments. For 99% of the cases, manually reducing 14 to 12 accomplishes the same thing so what you've done is fine.

One very important part of the system portion of your log tells us which client version you're running. It also tells us other factors that affect assignments such as your OS and the characteristics of your hardware.
bruce
 
Posts: 21416
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby mr_raider » Fri Apr 14, 2017 1:16 pm

JimboPalmer wrote:Mr Raider

You might have noticed that we asked in vain for the OP to show us his system by posting the first 100 lines of his log. As you read your own question, you may notice that once again we would need to know how your system is configured.

Bruce's signature is a link to how to obtain the system portion of the log.

I await you configuration!

Jimbo


Bruce doesn't have a signature.

Code: Select all
08:32:24:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:8080
08:32:24:WU01:FS00:Assigned to work server 128.252.203.4
08:32:24:WU01:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: RUNNING cpu:12 from 128.252.203.4
08:32:24:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 128.252.203.4:8080
08:32:25:WU01:FS00:Downloading 7.48MiB
08:32:28:WU01:FS00:Download complete
08:32:28:WU01:FS00:Received Unit: id:01 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:13801 run:0 clone:760 gen:46 core:0xa7 unit:0x0000003680fccb04587e94902c4d26dd
08:33:34:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 200000 out of 200000 steps (100%)
08:33:35:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Saving result file ../logfile_01.txt
08:33:35:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Saving result file frame91.trr
08:33:37:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Saving result file md.log
08:33:37:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Saving result file science.log
08:33:37:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Folding@home Core Shutdown: FINISHED_UNIT
08:33:38:WU00:FS00:FahCore returned: FINISHED_UNIT (100 = 0x64)
08:33:38:WU00:FS00:Sending unit results: id:00 state:SEND error:NO_ERROR project:13126 run:60 clone:2 gen:91 core:0xa7 unit:0x00000067ab436c655898c9adef2f778a
08:33:38:WU00:FS00:Uploading 15.53MiB to 171.67.108.101
08:33:38:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.101:8080
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:Starting
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:Running FahCore: /usr/bin/FAHCoreWrapper /var/lib/fahclient/cores/fahwebx.stanford.edu/cores/Linux/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7 -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 2671 -checkpoint 15 -np 12
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 14943
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:Core PID:14947
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:FahCore 0xa7 started
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:*********************** Log Started 2017-04-14T08:33:38Z ***********************
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:************************** Gromacs Folding@home Core ***************************
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Type: 0xa7
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Core: Gromacs
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:  Copyright: (c) 2009-2016 Stanford University
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Args: -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 14943 -checkpoint 15 -np
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:             12
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     Config: <none>
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:************************************ Build *************************************
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    Version: 0.0.11
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Sep 20 2016
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 06:40:11
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7: Repository: Git
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: 957bd90e68d95ddcf1594dc15ff6c64cc4555146
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: GNU 4.8.5
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    Options: -std=gnu++98 -O3 -funroll-loops -ffast-math -mfpmath=sse
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:             -fno-unsafe-math-optimizations -msse2
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: linux2 4.6.0-1-amd64
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       SIMD: avx_256
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:************************************ System ************************************
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:        CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1700X Eight-Core Processor
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     CPU ID: AuthenticAMD Family 23 Model 1 Stepping 1
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       CPUs: 16
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     Memory: 15.66GiB
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Free Memory: 6.18GiB
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    Threads: POSIX_THREADS
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7: OS Version: 4.8
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Has Battery: false
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7: On Battery: false
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7: UTC Offset: -4
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:        PID: 14947
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:        CWD: /var/lib/fahclient/work
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:         OS: Linux 4.8.0-46-generic x86_64
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    OS Arch: AMD64
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:********************************************************************************
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Project: 13801 (Run 0, Clone 760, Gen 46)
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Unit: 0x0000003680fccb04587e94902c4d26dd
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Reading tar file core.xml
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Reading tar file frame46.tpr
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Digital signatures verified
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Calling: mdrun -s frame46.tpr -o frame46.trr -x frame46.xtc -cpt 15 -nt 12
08:33:38:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Steps: first=11500000 total=250000
08:33:40:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Completed 1 out of 250000 steps (0%)
08:33:44:WU00:FS00:Upload 49.91%
08:33:51:WU00:FS00:Upload complete
08:33:51:WU00:FS00:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
08:33:51:WU00:FS00:Final credit estimate, 6333.00 points
08:33:51:WU00:FS00:Cleaning up
08:37:02:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Completed 2500 out of 250000 steps (1%)
mr_raider
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:21 pm

Re: Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby bruce » Fri Apr 14, 2017 1:51 pm

mr_raider wrote:Bruce doesn't have a signature.

Bruce DOES have a signature ... in his first post on this page. (Our forum software does not repeat signatures on every post on a given page.) See this post
bruce
 
Posts: 21416
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby JimboPalmer » Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:29 pm

You have 16 logical CPUs, and a GPU , which will lower that count by one. 12 is very possibly the 'best' number of CPUs to set in F@H if 15 fails to find Wus.

The x86 SIMD instructions were not so much planned as happened. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Streaming_SIMD_Extensions

The latest version seems to be AVX2, which the Ryzen supports, but at a slow speed.

A7 offers 3 speed ups

1) it runs a newer version of the software, allowing algorithmic improvements.
2) it assumes a newer version of SIMD instructions, (SSE2?) allowing hardware improvements,
3) optionally it allows use of the new AVX2 insrtuctions in Intels since Haswell and AMD since Ryzen. However AMD choose to implement AVX2 in a slow way, and it is possible that F@H finds the SSE2 instructions faster on AMD.

There are no flags to set, if F@H deems your rig acceptable then random WUs are a7. (there can be OS support issues and CPU feature issues, so some rigs won't get a7)

I would assume all new projects will be a7, but that existing projects may take years to finish.
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby mr_raider » Mon Apr 17, 2017 2:31 am

Looks like I'm getting units with 15 cores set also. How many cores does the GPU client need? 1 thread or one physical core (1 core = 2 threads)?
mr_raider
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:21 pm

Re: Work unit availability for AMD Ryzen 7 1800X

Postby ChristianVirtual » Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:56 am

1 thread for 1 GPU
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: 日本 東京


Return to Discussions of General-FAH topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron