Configuration help, Cant get client folding

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: Configuration help, Cant get client folding

Postby Joe_H » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:31 pm

The max-packet-size is a separate parameter from the client-type setting of bigadv. It may make a difference with CPU projects if you are using the released client version 7.4.4. The definition of what the default "normal" sized WU is in MB was increased in the public-beta of 7.4.16.

As for PPD, some of the CPU projects currently available for larger numbers of cores scale up better than others. There are also some projects that have maximum core restrictions because there are insufficient atoms in the simulation to scale to a large number of cores. You will also see a difference between projects still using the older A4 core as compared to the A7 core. The A7 core is based on newer Gromacs code and will use AVX processing if available on your CPU, or SSE2 as compared to SSE used by A4.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3820
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Configuration help, Cant get client folding

Postby Ricky » Thu Mar 23, 2017 8:03 pm

Your processors are AVX and your base clock is specified as 2.3 GHz by Intel. You may be able to change a BIOS setting to get the clock up to specification.
Ricky
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 1:34 am
Location: New Mexico

Re: Configuration help, Cant get client folding

Postby Wndrdo » Sun Mar 26, 2017 10:35 am

Urbanfreestyle wrote:So i managed to install it on the server and it is running (had to attach a wifi adapter and change cpu to 27) but it's going...
estimating 43696 ppd which is a bit dissapointing


What are the difficulties with 43696 ppd?
Wndrdo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 5:09 pm

Re: Configuration help, Cant get client folding

Postby foldy » Sun Mar 26, 2017 3:07 pm

Did you get a fast avx core_a7 or a slow core_a4?
foldy
 
Posts: 913
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Configuration help, Cant get client folding

Postby bruce » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:28 pm

Right: Bigadv is no longer running, but many other projects support increasing numbers of CPUs. Part of the problem is that GROMACS (which is used to process CPU WUs) has known problems with certain numbers of CPUs. Servers are now excluding those problematic numbers, but the released client (V7.4.4) doesn't know that. The beta client (V7.4.16) will adjust itself as needed to get an assignment.

Have you resolved the security issue? That's a separate. The bottom screen shot in the first post shows problems reaching the assignment servers at http://171.64.65.35/ and http://171.67.108.45/
bruce
 
Posts: 21286
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Previous

Return to Discussions of General-FAH topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

cron