What do we do with our points?

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

altcoinlover

What do we do with our points?

Post by altcoinlover »

ok, I think to have a misunderstanding about the link between FAH and the FLDC coin
which has driven me to FAH....

So, I am earning points, and so WHAT ???

What will I do with those points?

What are there value?

Supporting research for just surpporting and not getting any reward from sharing
my computer (which is my main daily work tool as I am an online entrepreneur)
is worthless.
I gave 15 years to science because I am a former scientist in Biology....
That was a way here to provide some support online... but certainly not for free ;-)

hope you will enlight me by your info to help me understand
rwh202
Hardware configuration: 8x GTX 1080
3x GTX 1080 Ti
3x GTX 1060
Various other bits and pieces

Re: What do we do with our points?

Post by rwh202 »

Points have no value. They are just there to promote inter- and intra-team competition and bragging rights, thereby increasing total science done. They are a measure of contribution and a badge of honour within the distributed computing community (but just as meaningful and financially valuable as your highest tetris score in the real world though).

Traditionally, people running FAH are pure volunteers, altruistically helping others, but a few teams used to offer prizes / rewards based on points. However, those pale into insignificance compared with the rewards from FLDC / CURE. They will hopefully bring more power to FAH than the pure volunteer approach did, yet many will still choose to volunteer and not partake in the altcoin aspect.
SteveWillis
Hardware configuration: PC 1:
Linux Mint 17.3
three gtx 1080 GPUs One on a powered header
Motherboard = [MB-AM3-AS-SB-990FXR2] qty 1 Asus Sabertooth 990FX(+59.99)
CPU = [CPU-AM3-FX-8320BR] qty 1 AMD FX 8320 Eight Core 3.5GHz(+41.99)

PC2:
Linux Mint 18
Open air case