System crashes

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

System crashes

Postby Forcinghavok » Mon Nov 12, 2018 2:29 pm

The computer is doing crazy things after this update. My screen goes snowy which I have never seen before, to a black screen and the monitor is on, to restarts to complete freezes. I have not updated my ATI graphics in a while but the computer was fine on the previous version of F@H. Any idea on why it can't fold? Heat is not an issue, it's freezing here and I have the window for the computer open.
Forcinghavok
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: System crashes

Postby bruce » Mon Nov 12, 2018 5:09 pm

Which update are you talking about? Windows? Linux? OX_X? Drivers? F@H to Version 7.5.1?

How many slots are you running, and which ones? What WUs are active when the problems occur? What hardware are you running? What overclocking have you done? What diagnostics have you run?

See below:
bruce
 
Posts: 22021
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: System crashes

Postby Forcinghavok » Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:03 am

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2018-11-12T12:07:48Z ***********************
12:07:48:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
12:07:48:        Website: https://foldingathome.org/
12:07:48:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
12:07:48:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
12:07:48:           Args:
12:07:48:         Config: C:\Users\erik\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\config.xml
12:07:48:******************************** Build ********************************
12:07:48:        Version: 7.5.1
12:07:48:           Date: May 11 2018
12:07:48:           Time: 13:06:32
12:07:48:     Repository: Git
12:07:48:       Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
12:07:48:         Branch: master
12:07:48:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
12:07:48:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
12:07:48:       Platform: win32 10
12:07:48:           Bits: 32
12:07:48:           Mode: Release
12:07:48:******************************* System ********************************
12:07:48:            CPU: AMD FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor
12:07:48:         CPU ID: AuthenticAMD Family 21 Model 2 Stepping 0
12:07:48:           CPUs: 8
12:07:48:         Memory: 15.90GiB
12:07:48:    Free Memory: 13.87GiB
12:07:48:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
12:07:48:     OS Version: 6.1
12:07:48:    Has Battery: false
12:07:48:     On Battery: false
12:07:48:     UTC Offset: -5
12:07:48:            PID: 2848
12:07:48:            CWD: C:\Users\erik\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
12:07:48:             OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
12:07:48:        OS Arch: AMD64
12:07:48:           GPUs: 1
12:07:48:          GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 AMD:5 Ellesmere XT [Radeon RX
12:07:48:                 470/480/570/580]
12:07:48:           CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'nvcuda.dll': The
12:07:48:                 specified module could not be found.
12:07:48:
12:07:48:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:2580.6
12:07:48:  Win32 Service: false
12:07:48:***********************************************************************
12:07:48:<config>
12:07:48:  <!-- Folding Core -->
12:07:48:  <checkpoint v='3'/>
12:07:48:
12:07:48:  <!-- Network -->
12:07:48:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
12:07:48:
12:07:48:  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
12:07:48:  <password v='*********'/>
12:07:48:
12:07:48:  <!-- Slot Control -->
12:07:48:  <pause-on-battery v='false'/>
12:07:48:  <power v='full'/>
12:07:48:
12:07:48:  <!-- User Information -->
12:07:48:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
12:07:48:  <team v='2092'/>
12:07:48:  <user v='forcinghavok'/>
12:07:48:
12:07:48:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
12:07:48:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
12:07:48:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
12:07:48:    <cpus v='6'/>
12:07:48:  </slot>
12:07:48:</config>
12:07:48:Trying to access database...
12:07:48:Successfully acquired database lock
12:07:48:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:0:Ellesmere XT [Radeon RX 470/480/570/580]
12:07:48:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:6
12:07:57:ERROR:Exception: Failed to register systray icon: This operation returned because the timeout period expired.
12:07:57:WU00:FS01:Starting
12:07:57:WU00:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\erik\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 2848 -checkpoint 3 -gpu-vendor amd -opencl-platform 0 -opencl-device 0 -gpu 0
12:07:58:WU00:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 5044
12:08:00:WU00:FS01:Core PID:5104
12:08:00:WU00:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
12:08:01:WU02:FS00:Starting
12:08:01:WU02:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\erik\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 2848 -checkpoint 3 -np 6
12:08:01:WU02:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 5112
12:08:02:WU02:FS00:Core PID:336
12:08:02:WU02:FS00:FahCore 0xa4 started
12:08:02:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:02:WU02:FS00:0xa4:
12:08:02:WU02:FS00:0xa4:*------------------------------*
12:08:02:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Folding@Home Gromacs GB Core
12:08:02:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
12:08:02:WU02:FS00:0xa4:
12:08:02:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Preparing to commence simulation
12:08:02:WU02:FS00:0xa4:- Ensuring status. Please wait.
12:08:02:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:03:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:03:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:03:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:04:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:04:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:04:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:04:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:04:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:05:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:05:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
12:08:12:WU02:FS00:0xa4:- Looking at optimizations...
12:08:12:WU02:FS00:0xa4:- Working with standard loops on this execution.
12:08:12:WU02:FS00:0xa4:- Previous termination of core was improper.
12:08:12:WU02:FS00:0xa4:- Files status OK
12:08:12:WU02:FS00:0xa4:- Expanded 825602 -> 1401332 (decompressed 169.7 percent)
12:08:12:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=825602 data_size=1401332, decompressed_data_size=1401332 diff=0
12:08:12:WU02:FS00:0xa4:- Digital signature verified
12:08:13:WU02:FS00:0xa4:
12:08:13:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Project: 9033 (Run 748, Clone 2, Gen 2211)
12:08:13:WU02:FS00:0xa4:
12:08:13:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Entering M.D.
12:08:14:WU00:FS01:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2018-11-12T12:08:14Z ***********************
12:08:14:WU00:FS01:0x21:Project: 11718 (Run 0, Clone 1283, Gen 182)
12:08:14:WU00:FS01:0x21:Unit: 0x000000e98ca304e75b898ffa46504a9a
12:08:14:WU00:FS01:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
12:08:14:WU00:FS01:0x21:Machine: 1
12:08:14:WU00:FS01:0x21:Digital signatures verified
12:08:14:WU00:FS01:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
12:08:14:WU00:FS01:0x21:Version 0.0.18
12:08:14:WU00:FS01:0x21:  Found a checkpoint file
12:08:19:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Using Gromacs checkpoints
12:08:19:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Mapping NT from 6 to 6
12:08:22:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Resuming from checkpoint
12:08:22:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Verified 02/wudata_01.log
12:08:22:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Verified 02/wudata_01.trr
12:08:22:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Verified 02/wudata_01.xtc
12:08:22:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Verified 02/wudata_01.edr
12:08:22:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Completed 204655 out of 250000 steps  (81%)


this should give you an idea of what is going on! let me know if you need another one.

what does this mean?
Code: Select all
04:29:43:WARNING:WU01:FS00:FahCore returned an unknown error code which probably indicates that it crashed
04:29:43:WARNING:WU01:FS00:FahCore returned: UNKNOWN_ENUM (-1073741783 = 0xc0000029)
Forcinghavok
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: System crashes

Postby bruce » Tue Nov 13, 2018 4:25 am

0xc0000029 is a Microsoft error code, not a FAH error code. It indicates your operating system has detected a corruption. (Another common description of the problem is that your hardware is unstable.)

I can only guess what it might be, but the most common occurrences seem to be related to overclocking or overheating causing a hardware failure. I suspect that the only connection with FAH is that it's a very demanding program which is running at the time the memory returned an invalid address.

FAH has the reputation of being a superb detector of overclocking -- putting loads on the system that exceed those of the common stability benchmarking programs.
bruce
 
Posts: 22021
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: System crashes

Postby foldy » Tue Nov 13, 2018 4:16 pm

FS00 is the CPU slot - so try to disable CPU folding and only fold on GPU to see if that is the reason.
foldy
 
Posts: 1316
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: System crashes

Postby Forcinghavok » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:55 am

Code: Select all
12:07:57:ERROR:Exception: Failed to register systray icon: This operation returned because the timeout period expired.


What do you think about the F@H not loading the system tray? Happens often.

I think the dust in the computer might need to be cleaned out, and so that could be an issue?!?!!? But like I said before, it didn't start crashing till the new update.

Thanks for the input.
Forcinghavok
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: System crashes

Postby bruce » Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:27 pm

The Windows 7 desktop creates Systray and supposedly opens some programs with Icons there. FAH presents one Icon to be loaded there. Development has complained that Microsoft keeps changing how those icons are started. I don't have any current information except your error message (which may be related). Windows 8/10 doesn't really run the systray as they are built NOT to run the desktop.
bruce
 
Posts: 22021
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: System crashes

Postby foldy » Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:26 am

@toTOW has the same systray issue in Windows 7.
foldy
 
Posts: 1316
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: System crashes

Postby Forcinghavok » Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:04 pm

My whole point to this is I didn't have any problems until I upgraded to the new version. Can I use the old version?
Forcinghavok
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: System crashes

Postby Forcinghavok » Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:29 am

Code: Select all
01:16:08:WU00:FS01:0x21:Completed 0 out of 5000000 steps (0%)
01:16:08:WU00:FS01:0x21:Temperature control disabled. Requirements: single Nvidia GPU, tmax must be < 110 and twait >= 900
01:16:12:WU02:FS01:Upload 91.80%
01:16:14:WU02:FS01:Upload complete
01:16:14:WU02:FS01:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)


Hey I am just curious are the temp controls disabled for AMD users? Why are there no temp controls for AMD graphics cards?
Forcinghavok
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: System crashes

Postby bruce » Sat Nov 17, 2018 6:59 am

Forcinghavok wrote:Hey I am just curious are the temp controls disabled for AMD users? Why are there no temp controls for AMD graphics cards?

IMHO, the whole concept of trying to control temperature of a GPU by turning FAH's software off and on is a bad concept which should have been removed from the code.

GPU drivers can manage temperature much more effectively; drivers can control the fan speed proportionally and regulate power and clock frequency if that's appropriate. FAH can only suspend its own processing in a start/stop fashion which creates unnecessarily large temperature variations (and, of course, can't control other processes which may also contribute heat).

I don't think anybody actually uses that capability.
bruce
 
Posts: 22021
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: System crashes

Postby bruce » Sat Nov 17, 2018 6:59 am

Forcinghavok wrote:My whole point to this is I didn't have any problems until I upgraded to the new version. Can I use the old version?


As I asked earlier:
bruce wrote:Which update are you talking about? Windows? Linux? OX_X? Drivers? F@H Version 7.XX?
bruce
 
Posts: 22021
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: System crashes

Postby Forcinghavok » Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:26 pm

Hey Bruce, sorry I thought you had my machine info. Windows 7 and I think the last version was 7.14 or something like that. Is it possible to install the last version of the software?

Code: Select all
21:57:06:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Preparing to commence simulation
21:57:06:WU01:FS00:0xa4:- Looking at optimizations...
21:57:06:WU01:FS00:0xa4:- Files status OK
21:57:06:WU01:FS00:0xa4:- Expanded 825225 -> 1401332 (decompressed 169.8 percent)
21:57:06:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=825225 data_size=1401332, decompressed_data_size=1401332 diff=0
21:57:06:WU01:FS00:0xa4:- Digital signature verified
21:57:06:WU01:FS00:0xa4:
21:57:06:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Project: 9033 (Run 95, Clone 2, Gen 2069)
21:57:06:WU01:FS00:0xa4:
21:57:06:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Assembly optimizations on if available.
21:57:06:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Entering M.D.
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:06:WARNING:FS01:Size of positions 5845 does not match topology 5844
21:57:11:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Using Gromacs checkpoints
21:57:11:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Mapping NT from 6 to 6


I was also wondering what this warning means, size of positions doesn't match topology?
Forcinghavok
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: System crashes

Postby JimboPalmer » Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:36 pm

He sure refuses to tell us what he updated.

"Size of positions 5845 does not match topology" is a spurious warning during GPU folding, the developers admit it is not useful.
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: System crashes

Postby Forcinghavok » Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:13 pm

Jimbo, I am not refusing to tell you. I said in my last post that I have windows 7 and I would like to go back to the older version of the f@hsoftware, which is like 7.14 or something. I don't exactly remember what the old version is. I updated f@h to its current version, which seems to be problematic. Is there any way I can download the older version of f@h?
Forcinghavok
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 4:46 pm

Next

Return to Discussions of General-FAH topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron