What do Points Really Mean?

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

boof

What do Points Really Mean?

Post by boof »

Hi, I hope this is the right place for my question. While I know that points are a metric used to compete / compare oneself and teams to others, I am more interested in how much power I am really bringing to the table when using Folding@home. I am a PhD astrophysics student and I run physics simulations on the ComputeCanada supercluster. When my advisor and I apply for time, we must show the performance of our code and give an estimate for how many compute hours we need each term. So, is there some way to convert points to compute hours? I am sure this is both a hardware-dependent and project-dependent question, and I have extremely limited knowledge of the projects I have been running. Are all the projects using the same code base? How do projects vary in terms of hardware utilization? Does anyone know of an average for any of these things?

I assume that points are assigned to projects based on estimated compute hours, but I cannot find any information about it on the Folding@home website, on these forums, or anywhere else on the internet.

Thanks in advance!
Neil-B
Hardware configuration: 1: 2x Xeon E5-2697v3@2.60GHz, 512GB DDR4 LRDIMM, SSD Raid, Win10 Ent 20H2, Quadro K420 1GB, FAH 7.6.21
2: Xeon E3-1505Mv5@2.80GHz, 32GB DDR4, NVME, Win10 Pro 20H2, Quadro M1000M 2GB, FAH 7.6.21 (actually have two of these)
3: i7-960@3.20GHz, 12GB DDR3, SSD, Win10 Pro 20H2, GTX 750Ti 2GB, GTX 1080Ti 11GB, FAH 7.6.21

Re: What do Points Really Mean?

Post by Neil-B »

For a quick 101 just in case you haven't seen/found it ... https://foldingathome.org/support/faq/points/ ... I'll leave complex descriptions to those who know more details.