Help with removing FAH software

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Help with removing FAH software

Postby Rgnar » Thu Aug 20, 2020 7:26 am

Good morning, i am trying to remove the FAH software from a computer here at work. Before anyone starts flipping out about the cause i know what it is and appreciate it, but the computer i am tying to remove it from is controlling a CNC piece of equipment and is slowing the machines production down as well as crashing the software that needs to run on it. So any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

James
Our new article about 10 best color schemes for websites in 2021 - https://merehead.com/blog/10-website-co ... -for-2021/
Rgnar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 6:57 am
Location: Frankfurt

Re: Help with removing FAH software

Postby gunnarre » Thu Aug 20, 2020 1:17 pm

The user who installed it should have written permission from the owner to install it, so they might be banned from the project if they didn't. Or perhaps you were just using it while the CNC equipment was shut down for the shutdown.

If it is a Windows machine, just run the Uninstall program. More info here: https://foldingathome.org/support/faq/i ... uninstall/
Image
gunnarre
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:23 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Help with removing FAH software

Postby bruce » Fri Aug 21, 2020 6:03 pm

Do CNC controllers run Windows?
bruce
 
Posts: 20019
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Help with removing FAH software

Postby jrweiss » Fri Aug 21, 2020 7:14 pm

FINISH the current WU if possible, shut down the app, and either run the uninstall.exe or delete the client and data folders.
Ryzen 7 3700X; MSI GTX 1050ti, 451.48 driver
i7-4770K; MSI GTX 1050ti, 451.48 driver
User avatar
jrweiss
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 7:56 am
Location: @Home

Re: Help with removing FAH software

Postby Joe_H » Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:16 pm

bruce wrote:Do CNC controllers run Windows?


Some do. Though I have heard of ones still currently running but based on Win 2000 or XP still.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6613
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA


Return to Discussions of General-FAH topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron