FAHcontrol.exe does not connect to Linux FAHclient

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

FAHcontrol.exe does not connect to Linux FAHclient

Postby Gischgimmasch » Sun Sep 06, 2020 3:09 pm

Hi,

everybody needs a hobby so I decided to build my own folding rig. Initially the idea was to run three GeForce GTX 1660 Ti on one motherboard. Unfortunately it turned out to be a bit problematic to cool the third GPU sufficiently so I decided to run this setup with two GPUs only. I installed Ubuntu 20.04 and with some back and forth I got the 7.6.13 command line client running.

Since my Windows 10 workstation is where my day-to-day business happens, I've connected FAHcontrol.exe to my children's PC FAHclient.exe and tried to do the same with the Linux based client. So far no success.

I would very much appreciate some guidance on how to connect to the command line client on Ubuntu.

Thank you,

Phil
Gischgimmasch
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 2:45 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: FAHcontrol.exe does not connect to Linux FAHclient

Postby gunnarre » Sun Sep 06, 2020 8:20 pm

You need to enable remote access on the Ubuntu machine. Have you set a password and set the "Allow" address in the "IP Address Restriction" for remote access? If you don't have FAHControl on the Ubuntu machine, you can find the file /etc/fahclient/config.xml and set the password and IP addresses there.

E.g. if the IP address of your Windows workstation is 192.168.1.55, you might set something like this in the config.xml file:
Code: Select all
  <password v='MAKE AN ACTUAL PASSWORD HERE'/>
   <allow v='192.168.1.55'/>

Then restart the FAHClient on the Linux machine.
Image
gunnarre
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:23 pm
Location: Norway

Re: FAHcontrol.exe does not connect to Linux FAHclient

Postby Gischgimmasch » Tue Sep 15, 2020 3:37 pm

Thank you! the combination of "allow" and "command-allow-no-pass" worked for me. :)

<password v='test1234'/>
<allow v='192.168.178.68'/>
<command-allow-no-pass v='192.168.178.68'/>
Gischgimmasch
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 2:45 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: FAHcontrol.exe does not connect to Linux FAHclient

Postby gunnarre » Tue Sep 15, 2020 6:07 pm

command-allow-no-pass shouldn't be necessary if you have the allow and password set and have the password set in the control application. On the other hand the password doesn't add much security - as far as I know there is no "fail2ban"-like functionality in the client. So as long as the address is one which you have full control over, just using command-allow-no-pass will work too.
gunnarre
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:23 pm
Location: Norway


Return to Discussions of General-FAH topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron