Folding Power slider - Medium versus Full

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

andyxc13

Folding Power slider - Medium versus Full

Post by andyxc13 »

Hi I'm a novice folder and I'm trying to figure out how to reduce the resources my CPU (Ryzen 7 3700X) is using on these work units. There seems to be no discernable difference between the Medium setting and Full setting. On Medium, my CPU usage (as measured by Afterburner) is fluctuating between 95% and 100% and CPU power (W) between 128 and 132. The resulting CPU temps are between 81 and 85 C (with all fans at 100%). I built my own computer and just installed a new AIO, so I don't think thermal paste could be at issue but either way, the CPU usage should be much lower than 95%-100%... right? Shouldn't "Medium" result in three-quarter speed CPU folding? I have no other programs open other than Chrome and Afterburner.

Please let me know if any additional info is needed (or if I need to move my post to a different sub-forum!). Thanks!

EDIT: I should add that changing the slider to Light does seem to work as intended. CPU usage drops to 50-52%; CPU power (W) drops to 99-102j; and CPU temps fairly steady at 74-75 C. However, I'd like to fold simultaneously with my RTX 3070 so if I can figure out how to get the Medium setting to actually be about three-quarters speed, that'd be fantastic. Setting the slider back to Medium from Light returns the resources to where they are outlined in my first paragraph.
JimboPalmer

Re: Folding Power slider - Medium versus Full

Post by JimboPalmer »

Welcome to Folding@Home!

Let just say that Light, Medium, Full was designed when few few threads were in CPUs

Light Use 1/2 of the threads available (1 in a dual core)

Medium use all but one of the threads available

Full use all of the threads available

Since you have a AMD 3700x you have 16 threads available, so 15 vs 16 is not that noticeable

In the advanced Control you have much finer ability to set threads: