Run CPU and GPU Clients simultaneously?

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

rich12321

Run CPU and GPU Clients simultaneously?

Post by rich12321 »

I recently upgraded my video to a X1650 Pro 512 and was wondering about running both the GPU client and the CPU client simultaneously. I'm currently running a single instance of the 5.03 Graphical client but plan to switch to one of the Betas on Tuesday after the current WU is completed to better take advantage of my (P4 HT 2.6) CPU. I'd like to run the GPU client also if possible. I'd prefer not to run either of them as a service as I use this as a gaming rig occasionally and would need to be able to shut them down peacefully to do so.

I didn't see anything addressing this elsewhere in the forums or on the wiki, (or didn't recognize it as such.) I'm very new to folding (2 months?) and would appreciate any advice on configuration, etc.

Many Thanks In Advance!
toTOW
Site Moderator

Re: Run CPU and GPU Clients simultaneously?

Post by toTOW »

Put your GPU client in a new folder ... when asked for Advanced options, say yes ... and enter a different Machine ID (your CPU client should have Machine ID 1 ... so your GPU client Machine ID must be at least 2).

Then, run both client with the -local flag added in each shortcuts.

Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.
uncle fuzzy

Post by uncle fuzzy »

You have a single core processor, so you should really be choosing between the CPU or GPU clients. Point-wise, GPU for the win. With a dual core you can run both at once.
toTOW
Site Moderator

Post by toTOW »

He has a HT processor ... I think the HT may be able to handle the communication with the GPU ;)

Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.
Ren02

Post by Ren02 »

You should try out the different combinations. Check the frame times when running only CPU client, when running only GPU client and when running both.