Upload stuck at 100% | 140.163.4.241

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: Upload stuck at 100% | 140.163.4.241

Postby foldinghomealone2 » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:22 am

Vodafone is is one of the major internet providers. In my experience it offers reliable services.
I made tests when the upload hung and it offered max download and upload bandwith.
foldinghomealone2
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: Upload stuck at 100% | 140.163.4.241

Postby Joe_H » Wed Feb 12, 2020 2:37 pm

From where you are to where the test site for use speeds is important. But your connection is going from Europe to the US, and once in the US there are routers that get congested, and both of the servers you were attempting to connect to are in large urban areas. Add heavy loads on the servers themselves, and your connection to them will be slow at times, and possibly interrupted if packet ACK's are dropped often enough.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4654
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Upload stuck at 100% | 140.163.4.241

Postby bruce » Wed Feb 12, 2020 2:57 pm

The real bug is that whatever condition is causing the slow-down is not being detected by either the the client on your system or the server on the other end ... including the "hang" No error is recognized and no message is issued so no error recovery is undertaken. If the error had been recognized, something could have been done to correct it. Moreover, I expect that there's no record in either your client or in the server that was contacted that anything untoward happened.
bruce
 
Posts: 23046
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Upload stuck at 100% | 140.163.4.241

Postby foldinghomealone2 » Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:07 pm

Bruce, I totally agree.

I think it would be easy to implement a routine to detect hanging uploads in the client.
Like: In the logs you can see the time stamps for the upload progress (let's call it 'upload update'). It's easy to calculate the average upload speed and to estimate the necessary time for the next 'upload update'. If this time is exceeded (let's say) 5 times then the upload should be redirected to a new server.

I know that resources for client developement are limited, though.
foldinghomealone2
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: Upload stuck at 100% | 140.163.4.241

Postby bruce » Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:31 pm

Those updates seem to happen on a regular schedule most of the time although the amount of data transferred changes. I've been thinking of dividing data by time to calculate a speed but I don't think that's the best way to do it because my ISP connection is different than yours. You're suggesting that the client should

From your first log, no error is detected in ether stream because each update is ~6 seconds
21:43:47:WU01:FS01:Upload 1.08%
21:43:53:WU01:FS01:Upload 1.80%
21:43:59:WU01:FS01:Upload 3.74%
21:44:05:WU01:FS01:Upload 5.75%
21:44:11:WU01:FS01:Upload 7.47%
21:44:17:WU01:FS01:Upload 9.41%
21:44:23:WU01:FS01:Upload 10.49%
------
21:43:47:WU02:FS01:Upload 6.81%
21:43:53:WU02:FS01:Upload 11.92%
21:43:59:WU02:FS01:Upload 23.84%
21:44:05:WU02:FS01:Upload 45.41%
21:44:11:WU02:FS01:Upload 64.71%
21:44:17:WU02:FS01:Upload 89.12%
21:44:23:WU02:FS01:Upload 97.63%

but second log shows an error because it simply stops.
22:33:39:WU01:FS01:Upload 93.99%
22:33:45:WU01:FS01:Upload 94.93%
22:33:51:WU01:FS01:Upload 95.86%
22:33:57:WU01:FS01:Upload 96.58%
22:34:03:WU01:FS01:Upload 97.59%
22:34:09:WU01:FS01:Upload 98.23%
22:34:15:WU01:FS01:Upload 99.24%
(but missing any more updates at or after 22:34:21)

After a suitable timeout of TBD, the client should abort the upload and redirect it to a different server. Right?
And the percent changes (or an equivalent in KiB) should be ignored. Right?

And after a reboot, you show it completing as
22:48:30:WU01:FS01:Upload 97.37%
22:48:36:WU01:FS01:Upload 98.09%
22:48:42:WU01:FS01:Upload 98.81%
22:48:48:WU01:FS01:Upload 99.74%
22:48:51:WU01:FS01:Upload complete
22:48:52:WU01:FS01:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
bruce
 
Posts: 23046
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Upload stuck at 100% | 140.163.4.241

Postby bruce » Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:42 pm

In another of your examples, you show
21:50:05:WU01:FS01:Upload 94.35%
21:50:11:WU01:FS01:Upload 95.14%
21:50:17:WU01:FS01:Upload 96.80%
22:22:37:ERROR:Receive error: 10054: Eine vorhandene Verbindung wurde vom Remotehost geschlossen.

In this case, what happened after the error was reported? Did the client restart the upload without your intervention or was this another case that needs the same change?

I think the key here is that the client detected the error and in the previous example, it did not detect the error.
bruce
 
Posts: 23046
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Upload stuck at 100% | 140.163.4.241

Postby foldinghomealone2 » Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:48 pm

After 21:50:17 there was no progress anymore and I restarted the PC at 22:22:37 manually.
I guess this caused the log entry.

I agree, after a certain timeout " the client should abort the upload and redirect it to a different server".
foldinghomealone2
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:40 pm

Previous

Return to Issues with a specific server

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron