Server WU issues

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Server WU issues

Postby HeadShot » Tue May 16, 2017 10:43 pm

Hi there,

I am using CPU folding on my office PC and have been folding on it for many years. For the last month or more the client keeps trying to connect between two specific WU servers with the response of "Empty work server assignment".

08:38:47:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:8080': Empty work server assignment
08:38:53:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.64.65.35:80': Empty work server assignment

I have checked the Server status page and followed the testing process to determine whether I was able to access the servers or not. Browsing to the server provides the Folding@Home logo stating it is an Assignment Server v3.6.2 and 3.6.1 respectively.
Is there a way to get the client to try different servers?

I have uninstalled and re-installed the client software, I have restarted the client multiple times still without any result.
Can someone please provide any assistance?

Thank you
HS
HeadShot
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 10:21 pm

Re: Server WU issues

Postby bruce » Wed May 17, 2017 1:18 am

Welcome to foldingforum.org, Headshot.

First a little information that you really don't need to know. The two servers that you're referencing are called Assignment Servers (AKA "AS"). They don't distribute work (that's the job of the Work Servers .. AKA "WS") but it's their job to find a WS that has work that your configuration can process. When none of the WS have suitable work, the AS issues the message "Empty WS assignment"

Your hardware and software determine how many CPU threads can be allocated to process the Work Unit. Unfortunately, if you have allocated 7 CPU threads to FAH, new WUs are no longer being issued and that's most likely the actual problem. You have a couple of options. (A) change the number of CPUs. (B) Upgrade to the beta client V7.4.16+

You most likely have a CPU that supports 8 threads. You may or may not also have a GPU that can be used to fold. If you have a GPU (which uses one CPU thread) you can move the slider from the maximum setting one step lower which will allocate CPU:6. If you do NOT have a GPU, you can more the slider one step higher and allocate all 8 CPUs.

I'm making several assumptions so if this doesn't work please post your log per the instructions below.
bruce
 
Posts: 21276
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Server WU issues

Postby HeadShot » Wed May 17, 2017 7:56 am

G'day Bruce. Thank you for your response.

Ok, assignment servers, no worries sorry about that. So I am using CPU folding as enabling GPU causes the notebook to lag. It is an office notebook so I still need to function :-)
I can try updating the client to the beta version, in fact I went looking for it on your site but maybe I was not looking in the right place as I could not locate it. Do you have a link?

My system specs from the logs are as follows:

__________________________________________________________
02:06:55: CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4810MQ CPU @ 2.80GHz
02:06:55: CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
02:06:55: CPUs: 8
75GiB
02:06:55: Memory: 15.92GiB
READS
02:06:55: Free Memory: 13.75GiB
02:06:55: Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
02:06:55: OS Version: 6.1
02:06:55: Has Battery: true
02:06:55: On Battery: false
02:06:55: UTC Offset: 10
rogramData/FAHClient
02:06:55: PID: 6064
s 7 Professional
02:06:55: CWD: C:/ProgramData/FAHClient
02:06:55: OS: Windows 7 Professional
02:06:55: OS Arch: AMD64
3 GK107 [Quadro K1100M]
02:06:55: GPUs: 1
02:06:55: GPU 0: NVIDIA:3 GK107 [Quadro K1100M]
02:06:55: CUDA: 3.0
02:06:55: CUDA Driver: 7050
__________________________________________________________

Happy to give the beta client a go and see what happens. Is there anything about it that I should be aware of before uninstalling the old version?

Cheers
HS
HeadShot
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 10:21 pm

Re: Server WU issues

Postby JimboPalmer » Wed May 17, 2017 8:15 am

https://folding.stanford.edu/beta/
Should be the current public beta.
The version I use has a minor bug, the advanced control default view is blank, If you choose Preferences and then any other User Interface, it displays better.
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Server WU issues

Postby bruce » Wed May 17, 2017 3:39 pm

Whether you fold with the K1100M or not, the maximum number of CPUs you can fold with is reduce by one, so 7 will be the default. Once the functional number is reduced to 6. your CPU should get regular assignments.

A page or so below that segment in your log you should see
Enabled folding slot 00: cpu:7
Enabled folding slot 01: gpu:0:GK107 .....


That should be cpu:6
That number can be reduced in any of three ways:
1) by manually adjusting the number in Configure + Slots + CPU ...
2) by adjusting the Folding Power slider or
3) automatically by using the beta client (with the theme bug mentioned by Jimbo),
bruce
 
Posts: 21276
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.


Return to Issues with a specific server

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron