140.163.4.232 / Assignment server issue

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

140.163.4.232 / Assignment server issue

Postby QuintLeo » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:37 am

Assignment server keeps sending one of my slots to 140.163.4.232 - which then errors out "server did not assign work unit".

The Server status page shows 140.163.4.232 HAS NO UNITS AVAILABLE.

Why is the assignment server sending me to a work unit server that is empty?

Happened several times in a row before the assignment server FINALLY sent me to a work unit server that actually had work units.

Appx. 0410-0430 Pacific time 2 August 2017
QuintLeo
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2017 5:43 am

Re: 140.163.4.232 / Assignment server issue

Postby Joe_H » Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:52 pm

Please post your log showing your configuration and a failed WU assignment. Too little information here to figure anything out.

The column for WUs available on the http://fah-web.stanford.edu/pybeta/serverstat.html page is not being updated with actual numbers from active WS's. If you look down that column you will see a number there only for inactive servers, all the active servers show a "0"

As for this particular WS being empty, it is not. Moderators have been given access to an updated status page currently being setup, it shows 600+ WU's available. There may be another problem with this WS, but information from your log is required to begin to figure out what that is.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3813
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: 140.163.4.232 / Assignment server issue

Postby ComputerGenie » Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:46 pm

Same issue here.

Joe_H wrote:Please post your log showing your configuration ...

From my Windows 7 box:
Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2017-07-30T15:43:28Z ***********************
15:43:28:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
15:43:28:        Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
15:43:28:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2016 Stanford University
15:43:28:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
15:43:28:           Args:
15:43:28:         Config: C:\Users\ComputerGenie\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\config.xml
15:43:28:******************************** Build ********************************
15:43:28:        Version: 7.4.16
15:43:28:           Date: Jan 6 2017
15:43:28:           Time: 00:25:14
15:43:28:     Repository: Git
15:43:28:       Revision: a9e9e27dc2ee6ff01398c439677bc27f6cb74032
15:43:28:         Branch: master
15:43:28:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
15:43:28:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox -arch:SSE /MT
15:43:28:       Platform: win32 10
15:43:28:           Bits: 32
15:43:28:           Mode: Release
15:43:28:******************************* System ********************************
15:43:28:            CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
15:43:28:         CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 94 Stepping 3
15:43:28:           CPUs: 8
15:43:28:         Memory: 63.94GiB
15:43:28:    Free Memory: 60.10GiB
15:43:28:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
15:43:28:     OS Version: 6.1
15:43:28:    Has Battery: false
15:43:28:     On Battery: false
15:43:28:     UTC Offset: -5
15:43:28:            PID: 4536
15:43:28:            CWD: C:\Users\ComputerGenie\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
15:43:28:             OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
15:43:28:        OS Arch: AMD64
15:43:28:           GPUs: 3
15:43:28:          GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
15:43:28:          GPU 1: Bus:2 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
15:43:28:          GPU 2: Bus:3 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
15:43:28:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:9.0
15:43:28:  CUDA Device 1: Platform:0 Device:1 Bus:2 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:9.0
15:43:28:  CUDA Device 2: Platform:0 Device:2 Bus:3 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:9.0
15:43:28:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:384.94
15:43:28:OpenCL Device 1: Platform:0 Device:1 Bus:2 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:384.94
15:43:28:OpenCL Device 2: Platform:0 Device:2 Bus:3 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:384.94
15:43:28:  Win32 Service: false
15:43:28:***********************************************************************
15:43:28:<config>
15:43:28:  <!-- Folding Core -->
15:43:28:  <checkpoint v='30'/>
15:43:28:
15:43:28:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
15:43:28:  <cause v='CANCER'/>
15:43:28:
15:43:28:  <!-- Network -->
15:43:28:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
15:43:28:
15:43:28:  <!-- Slot Control -->
15:43:28:  <pause-on-battery v='false'/>
15:43:28:  <pause-on-start v='true'/>
15:43:28:  <power v='full'/>
15:43:28:
15:43:28:  <!-- User Information -->
15:43:28:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
15:43:28:  <team v='********************************'/>
15:43:28:  <user v='********************************'/>
15:43:28:
15:43:28:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
15:43:28:  <slot id='0' type='GPU'>
15:43:28:    <next-unit-percentage v='100'/>
15:43:28:  </slot>
15:43:28:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
15:43:28:    <next-unit-percentage v='100'/>
15:43:28:  </slot>
15:43:28:  <slot id='2' type='GPU'>
15:43:28:    <next-unit-percentage v='100'/>
15:43:28:  </slot>
15:43:28:</config>
15:43:28:Trying to access database...
15:43:28:Successfully acquired database lock

Joe_H wrote:... and a failed WU assignment

Code: Select all
14:41:03:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
14:41:03:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
14:41:04:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
14:41:04:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
14:41:04:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Server did not assign work unit

....
Code: Select all
04:04:21:WU00:FS02:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
04:04:21:WU00:FS02:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
04:04:22:WU00:FS02:Requesting new work unit for slot 02: READY gpu:2:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
04:04:22:WU00:FS02:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
04:04:22:ERROR:WU00:FS02:Exception: Server did not assign work unit

...
Code: Select all
12:59:37:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
12:59:38:WU01:FS00:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
12:59:38:WU01:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
12:59:38:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
12:59:39:ERROR:WU01:FS00:Exception: Server did not assign work unit

....
Code: Select all
10:31:49:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
10:31:50:WU02:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
10:31:50:WU02:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
10:31:50:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
10:31:50:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Server did not assign work unit
User avatar
ComputerGenie
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:06 am

Re: 140.163.4.232 / Assignment server issue

Postby ComputerGenie » Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:03 pm

Code: Select all
13:39:19:WU03:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
13:39:20:WU03:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
13:39:20:WU03:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
13:39:20:WU03:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
13:39:20:ERROR:WU03:FS01:Exception: Server did not assign work unit

...
Code: Select all
15:16:05:WU02:FS02:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
15:16:06:WU02:FS02:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
15:16:06:WU02:FS02:Requesting new work unit for slot 02: READY gpu:2:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
15:16:06:WU02:FS02:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
15:16:06:ERROR:WU02:FS02:Exception: Server did not assign work unit

...
Code: Select all
17:52:27:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
17:52:27:WU01:FS00:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
17:52:27:WU01:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
17:52:27:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
17:52:28:ERROR:WU01:FS00:Exception: Server did not assign work unit
User avatar
ComputerGenie
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:06 am

Re: 140.163.4.232 / Assignment server issue

Postby ComputerGenie » Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:39 pm

Code: Select all
21:26:22:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
21:26:22:WU02:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
21:26:22:WU02:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
21:26:22:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
21:26:23:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Server did not assign work unit


For the record, it does work some of the time...
Code: Select all
21:39:49:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
21:39:49:WU01:FS00:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
21:39:49:WU01:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
21:39:49:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
21:39:50:WU01:FS00:Downloading 34.65MiB
21:39:56:WU01:FS00:Download 16.05%
21:40:02:WU01:FS00:Download 34.63%
21:40:08:WU01:FS00:Download 53.39%
21:40:14:WU01:FS00:Download 72.50%
21:40:20:WU01:FS00:Download 91.62%
21:40:22:WU01:FS00:Download complete

...
Code: Select all
21:44:04:WU02:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
21:44:04:WU02:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
21:44:04:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
21:44:04:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Server did not assign work unit
21:45:45:WU01:FS00:0x21:Completed 150000 out of 5000000 steps (3%)
21:45:52:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
21:45:53:WU02:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
21:45:53:WU02:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
21:45:53:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
21:45:54:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Server did not assign work unit
21:45:55:WU00:FS02:0x21:Completed 4500000 out of 5000000 steps (90%)
21:46:01:WARNING:FS02:Size of positions 4474 does not match topology 2793
21:47:30:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
21:47:31:WU02:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
21:47:31:WU02:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
21:47:31:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
21:47:31:WU01:FS00:0x21:Completed 200000 out of 5000000 steps (4%)
21:47:31:ERROR:WU02:FS01:Exception: Server did not assign work unit
User avatar
ComputerGenie
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:06 am

Re: 140.163.4.232 / Assignment server issue

Postby bollix47 » Fri Aug 04, 2017 10:01 pm

Try changing your cause preference from CANCER to ANY just to see if the problem goes away ... the last time I saw a lot of those messages it appeared to have something to do with the server side implementation of the cause preference and a setting that the project leader can change ... I'll let the PL know about your posts.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3397
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: 140.163.4.232 / Assignment server issue

Postby ComputerGenie » Fri Aug 04, 2017 10:08 pm

bollix47 wrote:Try changing your cause preference from CANCER to ANY just to see if the problem goes away ....

No dice:
Code: Select all
22:07:48:FS02:Unpaused
22:07:49:WU03:FS02:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
22:07:50:WU03:FS02:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.232
22:07:50:WU03:FS02:Requesting new work unit for slot 02: READY gpu:2:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 from 140.163.4.232
22:07:50:WU03:FS02:Connecting to 140.163.4.232:8080
22:07:50:WU00:FS02:Upload 65.79%
22:07:50:ERROR:WU03:FS02:Exception: Server did not assign work unit
User avatar
ComputerGenie
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:06 am

Re: 140.163.4.232 / Assignment server issue

Postby JohnChodera » Fri Aug 04, 2017 10:41 pm

We're looking into this. It seems like there might be an Assignment Server bug which was detecting that there *are* WUs available, but only for ADVANCED and not full FAH.
I've rolled those projects forward to full FAH as well so that the available WUs will be sent out if more donors are directed to that WS.
Please let us know if this problem persists!
User avatar
JohnChodera
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: 140.163.4.232 / Assignment server issue

Postby QuintLeo » Thu Aug 17, 2017 4:17 pm

As all of my clients are set to ADVANCED, that was not the issue - or the issue is that ADVANCED isn't getting handled right somewhere in the assignment server code.
QuintLeo
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2017 5:43 am


Return to Issues with a specific server

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron