Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty work

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby nsummy » Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:23 am

Hypocritus wrote:Looks like setting

Code: Select all
client-type
advanced

is the way to get WUs within one or two attempts (on Pascal GPUs)


This fixed it for me. Thanks!
nsummy
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 1:46 pm

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby Teknogroovin » Mon Mar 05, 2018 5:16 am

nsummy wrote:
Hypocritus wrote:Looks like setting

Code: Select all
client-type
advanced

is the way to get WUs within one or two attempts (on Pascal GPUs)


This fixed it for me. Thanks!



I'm new to this, on windows, and not sure how to get my computers up and running. Two of them have 3 hours left before they look for new units, so I'm going to assume they will go down then. One of the three that was down, looks like it switched to server 140. by its self, the other two have not. I tried to delete the program with all data and it reloaded and went back to 171. sever. I don't know where to go to try what you suggested. Or would it be better to wait until they get what ever this issue is fixed?


Never mind the other two have now found work loads.
Image

Image
Teknogroovin
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:59 pm
Location: Central, Illinois

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby Joe_H » Mon Mar 05, 2018 5:57 am

The WS has been restarted.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4174
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby adaniels » Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:01 am

Looks like that didn't solve the problem.
adaniels
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 4:05 pm

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby aoeu » Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:11 am

Similar problem here. I rebooted so I don't have the older log file or don't know how to find it but here is the current one.
Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2018-03-05T06:59:19Z ***********************
06:59:19:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
06:59:19:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
06:59:19:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
06:59:19:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
06:59:19:         Args:
06:59:19:       Config: C:/Users/aoeu/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
06:59:19:******************************** Build ********************************
06:59:19:      Version: 7.4.4
06:59:19:         Date: Mar 4 2014
06:59:19:         Time: 20:26:54
06:59:19:      SVN Rev: 4130
06:59:19:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
06:59:19:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
06:59:19:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
06:59:19:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
06:59:19:     Platform: win32 XP
06:59:19:         Bits: 32
06:59:19:         Mode: Release
06:59:19:******************************* System ********************************
06:59:19:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-7100 CPU @ 3.90GHz
06:59:19:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 9
06:59:19:         CPUs: 4
06:59:19:       Memory: 15.96GiB
06:59:19:  Free Memory: 13.87GiB
06:59:19:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
06:59:19:   OS Version: 6.2
06:59:19:  Has Battery: false
06:59:19:   On Battery: false
06:59:19:   UTC Offset: -8
06:59:19:          PID: 7296
06:59:19:          CWD: C:/Users/aoeu/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
06:59:19:           OS: Windows 10 Pro
06:59:19:      OS Arch: AMD64
06:59:19:         GPUs: 4
06:59:19:        GPU 0: UNSUPPORTED: NV3 [PCI]
06:59:19:        GPU 1: NVIDIA:7 GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463
06:59:19:        GPU 2: UNSUPPORTED: NV3 [PCI]
06:59:19:        GPU 3: NVIDIA:7 GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463
06:59:19:         CUDA: 6.1
06:59:19:  CUDA Driver: 9010
06:59:19:Win32 Service: false
06:59:19:***********************************************************************
06:59:19:<config>
06:59:19:  <!-- Network -->
06:59:19:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
06:59:19:
06:59:19:  <!-- Slot Control -->
06:59:19:  <power v='full'/>
06:59:19:
06:59:19:  <!-- User Information -->
06:59:19:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
06:59:19:  <team v='48083'/>
06:59:19:  <user v='aoeu'/>
06:59:19:
06:59:19:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
06:59:19:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
06:59:19:  <slot id='0' type='GPU'/>
06:59:19:</config>
06:59:19:Trying to access database...
06:59:19:Successfully acquired database lock
06:59:19:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463
06:59:19:Enabled folding slot 00: READY gpu:3:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463
06:59:19:WU00:FS00:Starting
06:59:19:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/aoeu/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/fahwebx.stanford.edu/cores/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 7296 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 1 -gpu-vendor nvidia
06:59:19:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 9464
06:59:19:WU00:FS00:Core PID:9488
06:59:19:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0x21 started
06:59:20:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
06:59:20:WU00:FS00:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2018-03-05T06:59:19Z ***********************
06:59:20:WU00:FS00:0x21:Project: 11713 (Run 7, Clone 70, Gen 62)
06:59:20:WU00:FS00:0x21:Unit: 0x0000004e8ca304e75a5a521ebc3dfcb8
06:59:20:WU00:FS00:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
06:59:20:WU00:FS00:0x21:Machine: 0
06:59:20:WU00:FS00:0x21:Digital signatures verified
06:59:20:WU00:FS00:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
06:59:20:WU00:FS00:0x21:Version 0.0.18
06:59:20:WU00:FS00:0x21:  Found a checkpoint file
06:59:21:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty work server assignment
06:59:21:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
06:59:22:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.157
06:59:22:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463 from 171.67.108.157
06:59:22:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080
06:59:23:WARNING:WU01:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
06:59:23:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:80
06:59:24:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to connect to 171.67.108.157:80: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.
06:59:24:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
06:59:25:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty work server assignment
06:59:25:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
06:59:25:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.157
06:59:25:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463 from 171.67.108.157
06:59:25:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080
06:59:26:WARNING:WU01:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
06:59:26:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:80
06:59:27:WU00:FS00:0x21:Completed 2750000 out of 7500000 steps (36%)
06:59:27:WU00:FS00:0x21:Temperature control disabled. Requirements: single Nvidia GPU, tmax must be < 110 and twait >= 900
06:59:28:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to connect to 171.67.108.157:80: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.
07:00:18:WU00:FS00:0x21:Completed 2775000 out of 7500000 steps (37%)
07:00:25:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
07:00:25:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty work server assignment
07:00:25:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
07:00:25:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.157
07:00:25:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463 from 171.67.108.157
07:00:25:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080
07:00:27:WARNING:WU01:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
07:00:27:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:80
07:00:28:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to connect to 171.67.108.157:80: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.
07:02:02:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
07:02:02:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty work server assignment
07:02:02:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
07:02:02:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.157
07:02:03:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463 from 171.67.108.157
07:02:03:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080
07:02:04:WARNING:WU01:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
07:02:04:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:80
07:02:05:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to connect to 171.67.108.157:80: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.
07:02:53:WU00:FS00:0x21:Completed 2850000 out of 7500000 steps (38%)
07:04:39:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
07:04:39:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty work server assignment
07:04:39:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
07:04:40:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.157
07:04:40:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463 from 171.67.108.157
07:04:40:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080
07:04:41:WARNING:WU01:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
07:04:41:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:80
07:04:42:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to connect to 171.67.108.157:80: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.
07:05:23:WU00:FS00:0x21:Completed 2925000 out of 7500000 steps (39%)
07:07:53:WU00:FS00:0x21:Completed 3000000 out of 7500000 steps (40%)
07:08:53:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
07:08:54:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty work server assignment
07:08:54:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
07:08:54:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.157
07:08:54:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463 from 171.67.108.157
07:08:54:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080
07:08:55:WARNING:WU01:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
07:08:55:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:80
07:08:56:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to connect to 171.67.108.157:80: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.

any suggestions?

aoeu
aoeu
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 9:07 pm

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby Joe_H » Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:44 am

The WS has gone down again according to the Server Status page, I will let him know. It looks like it stayed up most of an hour, so some should have received assignments then.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4174
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby Teknogroovin » Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:50 am

Just noticed two of my computers are not folding again, same issue as before. "Getting failed to connect to 171.67.108.157:80:" "No connection could be made because the target machine actively refuses it."
Teknogroovin
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:59 pm
Location: Central, Illinois

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby rwh202 » Mon Mar 05, 2018 10:59 am

Not a good time to lose 4 kW of heating! Woke up rather chilly, but client-typed advanced has got the heat back on!
rwh202
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: South Coast, UK

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby adaniels » Mon Mar 05, 2018 1:18 pm

How is it this happens so often? It's been messed up for over 12 hours now. You'd think someone would be on call in case a massive supercomputer went down. The work must not be as important as Pande Lab would have us believe. No sense of urgency whatsoever.
adaniels
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 4:05 pm

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby JiiPee » Mon Mar 05, 2018 1:28 pm

Hypocritus wrote:Looks like setting

Code: Select all
client-type
advanced

is a way to get WUs within one or two attempts (on Pascal GPUs)


This worked for my Vega 56 also, thanks.
JiiPee
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:09 pm
Location: FINLAND

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby Hypocritus » Mon Mar 05, 2018 1:42 pm

Teknogroovin wrote:Just noticed two of my computers are not folding again, same issue as before. "Getting failed to connect to 171.67.108.157:80:" "No connection could be made because the target machine actively refuses it."

adaniels wrote:How is it this happens so often? It's been messed up for over 12 hours now. You'd think someone would be on call in case a massive supercomputer went down. The work must not be as important as Pande Lab would have us believe. No sense of urgency whatsoever.


In the meantime, from FAHControl, select "Configure", navigate to the last tab "Expert" and under "Extra client options" try adding

Code: Select all
client-type
advanced

and then pausing and restarting your slot(s), a couple of times if needed over the period of about 1 minute.

JiiPee wrote:This worked for my Vega 56 also, thanks.

Nice JiiPee :D. I'll update my first post.
Hypocritus
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 2:38 am

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby Teknogroovin » Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:48 pm

Hypocritus wrote:
Teknogroovin wrote:Just noticed two of my computers are not folding again, same issue as before. "Getting failed to connect to 171.67.108.157:80:" "No connection could be made because the target machine actively refuses it."

adaniels wrote:How is it this happens so often? It's been messed up for over 12 hours now. You'd think someone would be on call in case a massive supercomputer went down. The work must not be as important as Pande Lab would have us believe. No sense of urgency whatsoever.


In the meantime, from FAHControl, select "Configure", navigate to the last tab "Expert" and under "Extra client options" try adding

Code: Select all
client-type
advanced

and then pausing and restarting your slot(s), a couple of times if needed over the period of about 1 minute.

JiiPee wrote:This worked for my Vega 56 also, thanks.

Nice JiiPee :D. I'll update my first post.



I did this and it did run a project, but when it got to 100% it stopped.

Error:WU01:FS01: Workserver connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
WU01:FS01: Connecting to 155.247.166.219:80
WARNING: WU00:FS01:Exception: Failed to send results to work server: Failed to connect to 155.247.166.219:80 A connection attempted failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.

it's in loop and that's what keeps popping up. Tried stopping and restarting Folding, didn't fix it.
Teknogroovin
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:59 pm
Location: Central, Illinois

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby JiiPee » Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:55 pm

Yeah same here. Work got done after advanced client fix but it's not getting uploaded or new WU is not getting downloaded.
JiiPee
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:09 pm
Location: FINLAND

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby Nathan_P » Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:09 pm

It may be a wider issue than just one server, my cpu folder was down when I got in from work a few minutes ago, it now has work but its an A4 wu, which is a bit of a waste on a 48 thread machine
Image
Nathan_P
 
Posts: 1405
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel islands

Re: Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:80': Empty

Postby Aurum » Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:16 pm

The client-type/advanced trick worked for a while. We may have drained that server. Now nothing uploads either.
Image Image
User avatar
Aurum
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: The Great Basin

PreviousNext

Return to Issues with a specific server

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron