Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby iceman1992 » Thu Apr 09, 2020 2:15 pm

Yeah now if I see the client try to download from that server I quit immediately to get assigned to a different server
iceman1992
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 6:16 pm

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby Scraig » Thu Apr 09, 2020 4:05 pm

A look at https://apps.foldingathome.org/serverstats shows in the line "IP 140.163.4.231" in the columns "Warnings = 1" and "Has CS = No".
If you move the cursor over it, "Collection server not connected" and "Failed: fah4.eastus.cloudapp.azure.com" are displayed.
The problem has existed since yesterday. Why is there no response from the admins. Is anyone working to solve the problem? We all want to help defeat this virus. Please give us any feedback.
Scraig
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 9:58 am

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby The_Heretic » Thu Apr 09, 2020 4:37 pm

Glad I looked here first, having the same issue as others with this server accepting the W.U.

Code: Select all
13:52:46:WU02:FS01:Sending unit results: id:02 state:SEND error:NO_ERROR project:11751 run:0 clone:9202 gen:10 core:0x22 unit:0x000000188ca304e75e6bbd20c2f82712
13:52:47:WU02:FS01:Uploading 14.66MiB to 140.163.4.231
13:52:47:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.231:8080
13:53:08:WARNING:WU02:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
13:53:08:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.231:80
13:53:16:WU00:FS01:0x22:Completed 80000 out of 1000000 steps (8%)
13:53:29:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Exception: Failed to send results to work server: Failed to connect to 140.163.4.231:80: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.
The_Heretic
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 4:21 pm

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby bruce » Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:09 pm

I've tried to contact that server's administrator and have not reached him. The server appears to be DOWN but it's not listed as such as far as the network knows.
bruce
 
Posts: 20571
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby Ronso20 » Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:40 pm

Hello,

I have same problem, but they are temple servers.

Code: Select all
17:27:40:WU01:FS00:Uploading 8.24MiB to 155.247.164.213
17:27:40:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 155.247.164.213:8080
17:28:00:WU01:FS00:Upload 1.52%
17:28:00:WARNING:WU01:FS00:Exception: Failed to send results to work server: Transfer failed
17:28:00:WU01:FS00:Trying to send results to collection server
17:28:00:WU01:FS00:Uploading 8.24MiB to 155.247.166.219
17:28:00:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 155.247.166.219:8080
17:28:17:WU01:FS00:Upload 1.52%
17:28:36:WU03:FS00:0xa7:Completed 250000 out of 500000 steps (50%)
17:28:44:WU01:FS00:Upload 3.03%
17:28:44:ERROR:WU01:FS00:Exception: Transfer failed
17:29:17:WU01:FS00:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:NO_ERROR project:14371 run:485 clone:2 gen:6 core:0xa7 unit:0x000000089bf7a4d55e84aff2135e563b
17:29:17:WU01:FS00:Uploading 8.24MiB to 155.247.164.213
17:29:17:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 155.247.164.213:8080
17:29:26:WU01:FS00:Upload 1.52%
17:29:32:WU01:FS00:Upload 2.27%
17:29:33:WU03:FS00:0xa7:Completed 255000 out of 500000 steps (51%)
17:30:10:WU01:FS00:Upload 3.03%
17:30:30:WU03:FS00:0xa7:Completed 260000 out of 500000 steps (52%)
17:30:34:WU01:FS00:Upload 3.79%
17:31:18:WU01:FS00:Upload 4.55%
17:31:25:WU00:FS01:0x22:Completed 210000 out of 1000000 steps (21%)
17:31:28:WU03:FS00:0xa7:Completed 265000 out of 500000 steps (53%)
17:31:30:WU01:FS00:Upload 5.31%
17:31:36:WU01:FS00:Upload 6.07%
17:31:42:WU01:FS00:Upload 7.58%
17:32:16:WU01:FS00:Upload 9.10%
17:32:16:WARNING:WU01:FS00:Exception: Failed to send results to work server: Transfer failed
17:32:16:WU01:FS00:Trying to send results to collection server
17:32:16:WU01:FS00:Uploading 8.24MiB to 155.247.166.219


it's been doing it for 2 hours
Ronso20
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:22 pm

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby kencl » Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:47 pm

I was planning on deleting the work load after the expiration, but came home to find that 140.163... had receive it rather quickly :)

Code: Select all
16:43:58:WU01:FS01:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:NO_ERROR project:11750 run:0 clone:6206 gen:12 core:0x22 unit:0x000000198ca304e75e6bb9bad165937c
16:43:58:WU01:FS01:Uploading 14.51MiB to 140.163.4.231
16:43:58:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.231:8080
16:44:04:WU01:FS01:Upload 9.04%
16:44:10:WU01:FS01:Upload 20.24%
16:44:16:WU01:FS01:Upload 31.01%
16:44:18:WU03:FS01:0x22:Completed 450000 out of 1000000 steps (45%)
16:44:22:WU01:FS01:Upload 40.91%
16:44:28:WU01:FS01:Upload 52.11%
16:44:36:WU01:FS01:Upload 62.45%
16:44:42:WU01:FS01:Upload 69.34%
16:44:48:WU01:FS01:Upload 69.77%
16:44:55:WU01:FS01:Upload 70.20%
16:45:01:WU01:FS01:Upload 78.38%
16:45:07:WU01:FS01:Upload 87.00%
16:45:13:WU01:FS01:Upload 97.76%
16:45:17:WU01:FS01:Upload complete
16:45:17:WU01:FS01:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
16:45:17:WU01:FS01:Final credit estimate, 14915.00 points
16:45:17:WU01:FS01:Cleaning up
kencl
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:15 am

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby wiggydave10 » Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:59 pm

I can confirm as well that mine has now gone through successfully
wiggydave10
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 6:34 pm

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby bruce » Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:15 pm

The server code has been restarted. Is it working now?
bruce
 
Posts: 20571
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby The_Heretic » Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:19 pm

I see the unit has now uploaded from that box so it looks like it's working again. TY.
The_Heretic
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 4:21 pm

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby Scraig » Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:20 pm

Yes,thanks.Upload was possible now.
Scraig
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 9:58 am

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby zelthian » Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:09 am

Looks like it may be having problems again:

Code: Select all
23:02:06:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to send results to work server: Failed to connect to 140.163.4.231:80: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.
23:02:23:WU01:FS01:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:NO_ERROR project:11748 run:0 clone:5852 gen:15 core:0x22 unit:0x000000248ca304e75e6bb036c798a5cc
23:02:23:WU01:FS01:Uploading 12.57MiB to 140.163.4.231
23:02:23:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.231:8080
23:02:44:WARNING:WU01:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
23:02:44:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.231:80
23:02:44:WU01:FS01:Upload 0.50%
23:03:06:WU01:FS01:Upload 0.99%
23:03:06:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to send results to work server: Transfer failed
23:04:00:WU01:FS01:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:NO_ERROR project:11748 run:0 clone:5852 gen:15 core:0x22 unit:0x000000248ca304e75e6bb036c798a5cc
23:04:00:WU01:FS01:Uploading 12.57MiB to 140.163.4.231
23:04:00:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.231:8080
23:04:21:WARNING:WU01:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
23:04:21:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.231:80
23:04:28:WU01:FS01:Upload 0.50%
23:06:30:WU01:FS01:Upload 0.99%
23:06:30:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to send results to work server: Transfer failed
23:06:38:WU01:FS01:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:NO_ERROR project:11748 run:0 clone:5852 gen:15 core:0x22 unit:0x000000248ca304e75e6bb036c798a5cc
23:06:38:WU01:FS01:Uploading 12.57MiB to 140.163.4.231
23:06:38:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.231:8080
23:06:59:WARNING:WU01:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
23:06:59:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.231:80
23:07:20:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to send results to work server: Failed to connect to 140.163.4.231:80: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.

Father. Gamer. Biker. Geek.
zelthian
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:05 am
Location: Aurora, CO

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby GeekFantasy » Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:37 am

It looks like 140.163.4.231 is unable to receive uploads again. I currently have 7 successive failures to upload a completed WU and it is still not responding. I am hoping this will once again clear up and eventually accept the WU upload.

However, when looking at the pending upload from the Status tab of the Advanced Control app, I am watching the Estimated Credit for that WU continually decrease. I am assuming this is due to the longer time window since the upload is not going through. Are we actually being docked points due to a failed server upload? Or is that just an artifact of the F@h client using an internal timer to estimate points? In other words, when the WU is finally successfully uploaded, is there an actual completion time recorded with the results for proper point calculation? Otherwise I have already lost about 10,000 estimated points on this one WU alone, and who knows how long it will take to upload.

I'm not folding for profit, but I like the challenge of earning points. I just don't want to be docked for circumstances beyond my control. :D
Folding for free as MarkUnboxed since December 2016.
GeekFantasy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:56 pm

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby PantherX » Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:46 am

GeekFantasy wrote:...when looking at the pending upload from the Status tab of the Advanced Control app, I am watching the Estimated Credit for that WU continually decrease. I am assuming this is due to the longer time window since the upload is not going through. Are we actually being docked points due to a failed server upload? Or is that just an artifact of the F@h client using an internal timer to estimate points? In other words, when the WU is finally successfully uploaded, is there an actual completion time recorded with the results for proper point calculation? Otherwise I have already lost about 10,000 estimated points on this one WU alone, and who knows how long it will take to upload...

Unfortunately, the points are allocated from the total time a WU takes to be folded. The total time starts when the WU is downloaded from the WS (having fast download speed increases your credit marginally) until the completed WU is successfully uploaded to the WS or CS (having fast upload speed can also increase your credits marginally). The rational is that PPD is equal to Science so there's no science being done if the completed WU isn't on the F@H Server hence the decrease of points.

GeekFantasy wrote:...I like the challenge of earning points. I just don't want to be docked for circumstances beyond my control. :D

Before the sudden surge of new donors, this was a rare event. Things have gotten better slowly there and there's still room to improve so hopefully, this server issue will go away soon.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 7021
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby GeekFantasy » Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:07 am

PantherX wrote:Unfortunately, the points are allocated from the total time a WU takes to be folded. The total time starts when the WU is downloaded from the WS (having fast download speed increases your credit marginally) until the completed WU is successfully uploaded to the WS or CS (having fast upload speed can also increase your credits marginally). The rational is that PPD is equal to Science so there's no science being done if the completed WU isn't on the F@H Server hence the decrease of points.


While that's unpleasant to hear, I appreciate your description, thank you. I suppose it is against the nature of this helpful folding service to ask if we can blacklist unreliable servers, right? :lol:

PantherX wrote:Before the sudden surge of new donors, this was a rare event. Things have gotten better slowly there and there's still room to improve so hopefully, this server issue will go away soon.


Indeed, I have been folding since 2016 (admittedly with a large lull in between where I had paused my folding client) but I am happy to be back in the game and helping with continuing research. Especially now that I have a ripping fast GPU to fold with. When I first started folding I don't remember any server down time or lack of WUs, it was pretty steady back in 2016-17-18. It is heart-warming to see so many people willing to help, I hope we can keep up on the server end as time goes on.
GeekFantasy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:56 pm

Re: Can't upload to 140.163.4.231 again

Postby Kougar » Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:27 am

Started to upload, took 5 minutes to upload 0.56% before it failed. All subsequent attempts to connect have failed.

00:23:31:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to send results to work server: Failed to connect to 140.163.4.231:80: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.


Might want to add a fallover upload server or something, people in the EVGA forums have been having upload issues for the last few days.
Kougar
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 3:39 am
Location: Texas

PreviousNext

Return to Issues with a specific server

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron