Return faulty, any more info?

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Return faulty, any more info?

Postby ProDigit » Tue Jan 08, 2019 2:14 am

I'm not home right now, where my server runs.
But I just noticed a faulty run on my GPU (probably the GT 1030).

Is there any more information available on why the run returned faulty?
I'm thinking it probably is throttling right now from overclocking.
But it appears a lot more people have returned this WU faulty.


https://apps.foldingathome.org/wu?p=141 ... e=0&gen=37
ProDigit
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:23 pm

Re: Return faulty, any more info?

Postby bruce » Tue Jan 08, 2019 2:34 am

Occasionally, an unstable WU is issued by the server. (FAH does not pre-test the WUs ... they depend on you to do that.) If a WU fails, it is reissued.

If the next assignment of that WU is successfully completed, FAH assumes that the first machine was unstable. If the reissued WUs also fail, the WU is taken out of circulation. (See the words "Bad WU" on this forum.)
bruce
 
Posts: 21871
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Return faulty, any more info?

Postby ProDigit » Tue Jan 08, 2019 2:37 am

thanks. I'll check my home PC for instability. The cards were running stable, but there's a possibility one of them somehow failed over time anyway.
ProDigit
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:23 pm

Re: Return faulty, any more info?

Postby bruce » Tue Jan 08, 2019 2:57 am

The same WU failed on four machines. All four are NOT unstable, so the logical conclusion is that this is a bad WU and there's nothing wrong with your machine.

P14126 R24 C0 G37 will be ... or has already been withdrawn from circulation.
bruce
 
Posts: 21871
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Return faulty, any more info?

Postby Joe_H » Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:20 am

The 5th result showed a successful run of this WU.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4277
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Return faulty, any more info?

Postby bruce » Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:30 am

Strange.

When you get home, please recover the segment of your log showing the messages from the execution of that WU and post them here.
bruce
 
Posts: 21871
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Return faulty, any more info?

Postby ProDigit » Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:22 am

Unless there's a way to retrieve the log?
My system ran fine, however there could have been an error, I just don't know how to retrieve the log, after the program closed.
ProDigit
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:23 pm

Re: Return faulty, any more info?

Postby Joe_H » Tue Jan 08, 2019 2:41 pm

The link in bruce's sig provides information on locating and posting the log files. By default the client keeps the current one and up to 16 prior log files.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4277
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Return faulty, any more info?

Postby Joe_H » Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:07 pm

The next couple generations of this WU have also been completed successfully. Looking at all the users who have had failures on this WU, they all have a number of failed WU's in their records recently. Most likely explanation is that this project utilizes some GPU resource just a bit more intensely than other projects, and the WU failed due to excessive overclocking. Your run went the farthest of the failures, so try dialing back your overclock a bit more.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4277
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Return faulty, any more info?

Postby ProDigit » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:53 pm

Yes, this morning one of my cards failed.
I realized it's the overclocking mechanism.
Occasionally there's a minor blip (once every x amount of minutes) of CPU throttling.
Most of the time the WUs go through.
But I dialed it down a few Mhz from there.
When gaming, at best it would give a small glitch, but nothing serious.
But I guess for Folding it's a different story.
Even at overclocking rates well below a peak 'stable' overclock (like 50% below) my GTX 1060 still errored.
So I removed the overclock, and run the cards stock now.
Never had any issues running stock.
PPDs dropped drastically though.
ProDigit
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:23 pm


Return to Issues with a specific WU

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron