[Solved] Wrong description or confused client?

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

[Solved] Wrong description or confused client?

Postby Penetal » Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:14 am

This WU (or group as I have seen it at least 2 times now) says it is for CPU usage, but I have only ever seen it run on my GPU.

Is the description just wrong, am I missunderstanding what it says, or is my client confused as to what the slot is?

Project: 11763

The project:
Projects 11759-11764

Cause: covid

CORONAVIRUS PROJECT

Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19 causing virus) protease - potential drug target

These are high-priority **CPU** projects to simulate the main protease of the COVID-19. At the time of release, this is the latest news report:


I had to remove all URLs
Last edited by Penetal on Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Penetal
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:05 am

Re: Wrong description or confused client?

Postby bollix47 » Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:01 am

Welcome to the folding@home support forum.

Thank you for your report. These are indeed GPU projects.

I suspect it was a typo and have informed the project leader.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3533
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Wrong description or confused client?

Postby Penetal » Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:19 am

Thanks
Penetal
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:05 am

Re: [Solved] Wrong description or confused client?

Postby bruce » Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:40 am

I've caught myself making that same typing error and the spell-checker doesn't catch it.
bruce
 
Posts: 23736
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

WU 11761

Postby Zelphium » Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:33 pm

Running on my GPU at present is the aforementioned work unit. The description is:

Project 11761
CORONAVIRUS PROJECT
Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19 causing virus) protease - potential drug target
These are high-priority **CPU** projects to simulate the main protease of the COVID-19.


Is this really a CPU project? I assume the description thing is out of date and someone's converted it to run on GPU. Good work if that's the case!

However, I'd hate to think that this valuable work is SUPPOSED to be run on CPU and a configuration error will invalidate the results. Can anyone suggest if there's a problem, please?
Zelphium
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:23 pm

Re: [Solved] Wrong description or confused client?

Postby Joe_H » Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:58 pm

I merged post with existing topic, answer as above.

It probably was a typo, and the error carried over a group of projects added at the same time through copy/paste.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5651
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: [Solved] Wrong description or confused client?

Postby Zelphium » Sat Mar 28, 2020 12:11 pm

Thanks, Joe. Much appreciated!
Zelphium
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:23 pm


Return to Issues with a specific WU

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron